Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph Canada

Good Location in Belfast

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Noted above
Cons: The breakfast could do with streaky bacon and the duck dish at dinner should be improved or eliminated. Perhaps some more Irish mealds could be served
Location: Noted above
I stayed twice at this hotel in July 2017. I was given a room upgrade to what was called the Presidential Suite both times and this was great. It had a bedroom, living room and very large bathroom. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Food was generally good. The lobby,bar and restaurant were all nice. The hotel is located on Eglantine Street just off Malone road in a residential neighbourhood that has many nice old homes. It is almost beside the National Museum and is just down the street from Queens University. The city's oldest Cemetery is also nearby and it is a 20 minute walk to the City Centre. There is lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Overall very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Good Location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Great Hotel and staff were very friendly, also in a very quiet location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel in Belfast

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff, good location to explore Belfast and Northern Ireland and good size car park
Cons: Air Con or a fan in the room, I don't know if there is fan if you asked for one? I opened the window in the bedroom and bath, to create a cross breeze
Location: Belfast is not a large city and there is reasonable price car park near the city centre, so use have access to everywhere in Belfast.
This is a great hotel, I drove up from Dublin and the Malone Lodge hotel was easy to get to from the motorway, the car park was a good size and easy to it round the back of the hotel, which is clearly sign posted. We were early for the check-in time, the staff was very helpful about leaving our suitcases, while we went to lunch. When we did checked-in the staff were very friendly and it was quick. The staff were very helpful when I needed an extra hanger for my trousers. The hotel is at a very high standard, with excellent facilities. The hotel is easy access to Belfast city centre, there are bus routes either end of the road, which will take you into the city centre. I would recommend using the buses routes on the Lisburn Road. There is a CO-OP at end of the road, Lisburn Road end and a Tesco 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There are some good restaurants within 15 minutes walk of the hotel. I would recommend La Bastille (French restaurant), a 5 minute walk from the hotel or Darcy's (traditional Irish restaurant) a 15 minute walk and you can get ambus back, if you don't fancy the walk back up the hill. I would use Malone Lodge hotel again and recommend it to family and friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Good hotel, but needs updating.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
First encounter was dismal but hotel went out of its way to make things right by moving us to another location, which was a big improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Great Hotel in Belfast

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The location was convenient walking distance to see the Book of Kells.
Cons: It would be good if the room had a fridge. Also the car park was narrow it would have been better if there weren't bins etc making it hard to maneuver
Location: The location was convenient walking distance to see Trinity College and the Book of Kells. We felt that it was in a good area with pleasant surrounds.
The hotel staff were friendly and our room was good. There was no fridge in our room which was disappointing since we like cold drinks in our room usually. The bed was comfortable. This hotel has parking which is important for us since we were driving around Ireland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfect location on tree lined street

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Great hotel. Beautiful rooms, lobby. On quiet side street but a walk to downtown. A bit pricey.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Overnight stay. Dull dated decor in apartment. In need of updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Lovely hotel. Pleasant area. Staff polite and friendly. Excellent food in restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Suzanne - Rooms Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review Carol and Rae! Hopefully see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel University Quarter

Posted May 9, 2017
Great hotel, enormous Executive room on arrival. The University Quarter is a relatively good location and easy to walk 25 mins into the centre, or hop on a bus. It is full of students - we didn't experience any problems at all, but most surrounding properties are flats or houses in multiple occupation. The The Hop on Hop Off bus stop is immediately outside the entrance which was a great bonus as you can buy a 48 hour ticket to get around the city. The staff were excellent, especially catering/breakfast team - nothing was too much trouble and they were consistently warm and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Suzanne - Rooms Manager , Hotel Management
Hi Jane - thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully see you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

2 bedroomed self catering apartment

Posted May 9, 2017
We 3 sisters arrived at the hotel and were advised the apartment was 10 minutes walk away. We were given a card with the room number and a map but no direction or instruction. We eventually found the right place but the rooms reeked of cigarette smoke. We couldn't work out the heating and were freezing. The ceilings were covered in cobwebs and the sofas were filthy and smeared with shank. A dirty used sponge was in the sink! On complaining I was told by the receptionist that he would let the manager know- but I received no apology. We were very disappointed and we had stayed here a few years ago but we would not stay again.