Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bel air maryland

Overtly clean, BUT WAY too much fabric softener

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel friendly enough..appeared quite clean.. However, the amount of fabric softener in the bedding had me sitting in my car during the night. I used my own pillow the 2nd night, but it still interfered with my breathing.. I checked out -- owners ok with my early departure after a bit of hesitation about 24 hour notice..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean 1950's style motel. Small bath but adorable

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Wonderful quaint motel on Rt1. We enjoyed wine and looked over Rt1 to the harbor. Very clean and the staff was wonderful
4 out of 5
by Donna

Enjoyed night here.

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean, pleasant location.
4 out of 5
by Edward

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Checked in after 9pm. Sign on the office door, welcoming me, telling me key was in the door, which it was! Only complaint, no iron in room, called to ask for one to be left, as I was out before office opened and returned after office was closed, and unfort, no iron. Otherwise, clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
This motel is small (only 14 rooms) but clean and comfortable. The owner is very friendly and helpful. It was really cold outside during the staying. But the room felt so warm and welcome whenever we enter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Very Pleasant

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Very clean, reasonably priced, no-frills mom and pop motel. Good location for exploring Maine and the town of Belfast is charming. I'm thinking about going back to Maine this summer and I'll be happy to stay at The Gull again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
Older motel . room was big yet the bathroom was tiny. Basic new comforts we have come to enjoy.
5 out of 5
by Gary

Recomended

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome place to stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

A nice family run motel

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
We were on a bicycling trip and this was a nice, convenient place to stay. The only drawback was a mile+ walk to any restaurants (we had enough bike riding for one day!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

A Perfect Stay

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
The Gull Motel is very well maintained. The landscaping was neat and the paved parking area was clean and in very good condition. The room was in excellent condition, clean and showed no signs of wear (for example, there were no marks or stains on the walls, carpets or furniture). The room was large and contained a small refrigerator/freezer, microwave, and had an air conditioner. The room had a table and two chairs inside as well as outside. The staff was pleasant. there was a k-cup coffee maker in the office and packaged muffins available. The bathroom was fine although the sink was small - I used a facecloth to avoid splashing onto the floor. Overall, I was quite pleased with my stay.