Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High wycombe

Fantastic City Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The people who made our stay so special.
Location: Titanic Museum about 15 mins from The Merchant. St. Anne's Cathedral. St. George's Church (opposite The Merchant), Billy is very friendly.
Amazing hotel, the staff are friendly and super-helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The Spa is also a fantastic place to spend a couple of hours with a sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and heated seats, would recommend The Spa Taster which includes a massage. We had rooms on the second floor, they were clean and everything provided, ironing board/iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee making etc. The breakfast was first class, loved the full Irish breakfast, the pancakes and porridge. The people of Belfast are very proud and it shows in everything they do to make your stay a truly memorable one, highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Sharmaine Meldrum, Hotel Management
Good Morning Michelle, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at The Merchant Hotel. Your comments will be shared with the team and we are delighted that you had such a memorable stay. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Merchant Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Sharmaine
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were fabulous they couldn't do enough for you, clean spacious room and wonderful food
Location: Great for sight seeing
Fantastic, it ways a gift for my sisters 60th and it was perfect she loved every minute
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA, USA

Merchant Hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Excellent stay, every was too notch, the only issue was the location of the wardrobe in our room with the amount of luggage the wife and myself travel with.Would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

An exquisite hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Excellent service, beautiful architecture, beautiful and spacious room, excellent food - everything!
Cons: Can't think of any.
Location: Central location, shopping and restaurants nearby. 15 min walk to the Titanic Museum.
An amazing experience staying at this beautiful hotel. Everything was perfect - warm welcome and quick check in, our Art Deco room was tastefully furnished, and very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom is beautiful! We have breakfast at this absolutely stunning central hall (hotel used to be the Headoffice of Ulster Bank). Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed both lunch and dinner at different restaurants in the hotel as well. Dinner at the hotel Bert Bar with jazz music one night and it was very good. The most excusite was the evening turn down service with nice chocolate and tea and coffee tray for the evening. Everything is so well put together and this is what a true luxury hotel should be. Both my husband and I travel extensively and we always choose beautiful hotel with nice characters to stay in. The Merchant Hotel sure is on the top of my list! We will definitely stay at The Merchant when we visit Belfast!
4 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OMG

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Location: The Titanic Experience was amazing. The guide on the Nomadic was so enthusiastic and made everything feel very real.
Everyone at The Merchant went above and beyond to ensure our stay was memorable, the staff were welcoming, helpful and informative The architecture, fixtures & fittings within the hotel were amazing and many photo's were taken of the exquisite chandeliers and cute cherubs. The bedroom was stunning, with two Queen sized beds and a bathroom with large walk in shower and roll top bath. But it was also the little things like, chocolates when the maid turned down the beds in the evening and she also left a card with the weather forecast for the next day, which was very useful when planning our activities for the next day. I will definitely be returning to The Merchant and will look forward to a genuine Northern Ireland welcome.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Nicest hotel experience I have ever had.

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Staying at the Merchant was an experience I will never forget. Warm and welcoming staff. The hotel is lovely and in a great location. I will stay here again the first opportunity I can do so.
5 out of 5
by David

Valet parking was super

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in an Art Deco suite which was amazing . Attention to detail was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Such a fabulous hotel. It is a little pricey but worth every bit of it. I actually think it is not as expensive as it could be, this place is one of the best I have ever stayed at. Its a little bit hard parking but if the street isn't crowded you can pull right up to the valet. There is also a paid lot about one block away. Every single employee we spoke with was absolutely nice and helpful. We felt like royalty with the service and quality of The Merchant. The inside and outside are both beautiful. Our room was also beautiful and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and luxurious. The bar had a huge book full of great cocktails and the afternoon tea was one of the best I have ever had. The hotel is also within walking distance of pretty much everything. I would love to be able to come back here again someday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels