Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Absolute plush!!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Everything was great! Definitely felt like royalty! Hotel staff was wonderful, was eager to please, location is perfect, will definitely stay there if I am i Hotel staff was wonderful, was eager to please, location is perfect, will definitely stay there if I'm again in Belfast! And trust me my wife is very picky!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Sharmaine Dickson, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Mark, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Merchant Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards Sharmaine
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Musty smelling room

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Musty smells, bigger showers, functional bathrooms. Better breakfast ie: Irish breakfast is worst in Northern Ireland
We were very disappointed with the room and the breakfast. Although the main dining room is very nice to look at the "Irish Breakfast" was not at all up to the grade of the previous area hotels I have experienced. The negative point regarding the hotel room was the very large bathroom with a tiny non-functional shower (much smaller than a phone booth). In fact the bathroom was a joke with no functionality what so ever (towel hooks well out of reach for my wife). The room had an old musty smell that I could not get used to over the 2 day stay and the only way to use the room safe was to get down on my hands and knees. In all the management must improve the layout and make the rooms more guest friendly if they want to have value for their guests. It is not enough to just be the most costly hotel in Belfast, the Merchant should strive to be the best in quality of stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful in every way!

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Everything was perfect! We can't wait to return and spend several days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Period city centre hotel with character

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Excellent service and a very characterful hotel handy for restaurant and bar area. Concierges particularly friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Perfect hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Beautiful hotel , very much what you expect for a five star hotel , staff so nice only thing was that breakfast was disappointing only as we where looking forward to a full Irish breakfast and it wasn't ! I would return again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed the Merchant Hotel as easy access to restaurants, tours, pubs etc. The hotel restaurant "The Great Room" was also excellent. We found our room to be a bit small and absolutely no view which was surprising given the high nightly rate in comparison to other similar hotels.
5 out of 5
by Teresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jenna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jordan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Allison from Summit NJ

Great hotel and good location for foodies

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. Prefer the deco side over Victorian - not sure if it was just luck but room in deco side was much bigger than recent stay in Victorian side but still great.