Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Such a fabulous hotel. It is a little pricey but worth every bit of it. I actually think it is not as expensive as it could be, this place is one of the best I have ever stayed at. Its a little bit hard parking but if the street isn't crowded you can pull right up to the valet. There is also a paid lot about one block away. Every single employee we spoke with was absolutely nice and helpful. We felt like royalty with the service and quality of The Merchant. The inside and outside are both beautiful. Our room was also beautiful and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and luxurious. The bar had a huge book full of great cocktails and the afternoon tea was one of the best I have ever had. The hotel is also within walking distance of pretty much everything. I would love to be able to come back here again someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Elegant hotel- the concierge staff went out of their way to make us right at home. Hotel bars are excellent- highly recommend their Jazz club -Bert's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NI

Wonderful luxurious hotel in city centre

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Décor and friendly staff
Location: City centre, walking distance to everthing
Great stay at an exceptional hotel in great location. It is a real experience staying and eating this hotel. Food is all locally sourced and cooked to perfection!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Everything from location to facilities
Cons: Nothing I can suggest
Location: Great central location handy for shops, bus stops, city airport and tourist attractions
The Merchant was everything we hoped from a 5star hotel. We had a Victorian room which was spacious, clean and had a great bathroom. The staff were all exceptional in their welcome, nothing was too much trouble and they had knowledge of the city which they shared easily in a friendly manner. The quality of food was very good across breakfast, afternoon tea, lunch in the Cloth Ear and evening meal in Berts Jazz bar. We will stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Absolute plush!!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Everything was great! Definitely felt like royalty! Hotel staff was wonderful, was eager to please, location is perfect, will definitely stay there if I am i Hotel staff was wonderful, was eager to please, location is perfect, will definitely stay there if I'm again in Belfast! And trust me my wife is very picky!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Sharmaine Dickson, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Mark, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Merchant Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards Sharmaine
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Musty smelling room

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Musty smells, bigger showers, functional bathrooms. Better breakfast ie: Irish breakfast is worst in Northern Ireland
We were very disappointed with the room and the breakfast. Although the main dining room is very nice to look at the "Irish Breakfast" was not at all up to the grade of the previous area hotels I have experienced. The negative point regarding the hotel room was the very large bathroom with a tiny non-functional shower (much smaller than a phone booth). In fact the bathroom was a joke with no functionality what so ever (towel hooks well out of reach for my wife). The room had an old musty smell that I could not get used to over the 2 day stay and the only way to use the room safe was to get down on my hands and knees. In all the management must improve the layout and make the rooms more guest friendly if they want to have value for their guests. It is not enough to just be the most costly hotel in Belfast, the Merchant should strive to be the best in quality of stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful in every way!

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Everything was perfect! We can't wait to return and spend several days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Period city centre hotel with character

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Excellent service and a very characterful hotel handy for restaurant and bar area. Concierges particularly friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Perfect hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Beautiful hotel , very much what you expect for a five star hotel , staff so nice only thing was that breakfast was disappointing only as we where looking forward to a full Irish breakfast and it wasn't ! I would return again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NI

Dreamy!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
A lovely stay for our wedding anniversary! Room reasonable size - staff very accommodating