Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Nice hotel in dead area

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was nice, WiFi didn't work, and beach boardwalk was dead. Hotel was nice and may try again in August
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Well situated hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Access, location.
Cons: Better temperature control, comfier bed.
Location: Right on seafront. Easy to walk into town for restaurants, easy to catch Tram up and down coast.
Hotel was very well sited on seafront, with easy access to the Coast Tram and parking close by. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only disappointment was that the room was somewhat hot and the bed not the most comfortable. It should be noted that there was no problems with cleanliness or noise though.
4 out of 5
by Lynn from Kirk Ella

Road trip

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
Our room was at the back and overlooked the fire-escape, which was ok as we only used it as a stopover for one night. The room itself was good and clean, and the bathroom lovely. Situated 20 yards from the seafront and near Ostend airport. Enjoyed the ride along the coast to Zeebrugge, excellent cycling area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Belgium beach

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
Nice rooms and good location. Will try tocome back Iin the summer when we can enjoy the beach more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Quite a nice hotel, not a huge room but big enough to live in for a week. Very handy for the beach and the tram. Good breakfast buffet with quite good service in a restaurant looking directly out to the seafront. Our room looked out onto the fire escapes and the backs of the surrounding buildings, but you get what you pay for and we only really used the room to sleep in.
5 out of 5
by Mr Fraser from London

more than expected

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels
Firstly from outside it didn't look much but once inside it was lovely,bit strange that we had a door that went straight out onto the street from our room,that made our children (who slept next to it) feel uneasy. But otherwise the room was very spacious, had everything you need and more. It trumped the novotel we stayed in in Paris. Breakfast was far better here too! However it was a little too pricey,think maybe more around the 100-110€ mark.
4 out of 5
by David

Ostend alternative

Posted Jun 30, 2012 on Hotels
Initially I looked for Ostend hotels but all reviews reported parking problems. Decided to stay at the Excelsior due to positive earlier reviews. Very easy to find with Satnav. 8 parking spaces outside the hotel, but these were always taken during our 2 day stay. No problem, there is a free car park 20yds away with plenty of room. Tram stop is just outside the hotel & is a quick & convenient way to get to/from Ostend or even to get to the train station for a visit to Bruges. The 'courtyard view' is a romantic misnomer. The wings of the hotel are shaped like the letter 'V' and all you are seeing is the inside of these 2 wings. Not pretty at all unlees you like fire escapes and plumbing. For a 2 day stop I didn't feel inconvenienced. The room is small but clean. TV is an old 4:3 format flatscreen. Wifi worked OK but is unsecure. Bathroom clean, modest size but shower base can be very slippery when wet. Breakfast very good. I'd be happy to stay here again. Try the Seagull restaurant - left out of hotel, on to promenade and it's on you left in about 5mins walk.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arundel

The Excelsior, Middelkerke

Posted Jan 4, 2012 on Hotels
We would recommend this hotel, very conveniently located, the tram is just by the front door. Staff very friendly and helpful, delicious breakfast, everything is served from fresh fruits to meat, eggs, cheese, different type of bread, etc We stayed in studio 3, which was very clean and comfortable just a few metres from the beach. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker were all in working order and very much appreciated, towels were changed daily, something that we did not expect being in a stidio. We certainly will go back.