Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Location: A bit "iffy" at night, but very short walk. Just walk fast
Great little Inn within walking distance to loads of attractions. 5 minute walk to water taxi that takes you to various islands off the coast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The location was good but but you could not pay me to stay in that hotel again
Would not stay in this hotel again and would not recommend to my worst enemy
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Unfriendly owner

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Right from when we got to hotel.... we felt like we were intruders. The staff during our stay was friendly but omg the owner has this angry face almost like annoyed because we booked there! She speaks to you sarcastically and makes you feel uncomfortable. Usually when you have your business you are happy people are paying to stay in your place . We were very confused why her unfriendly and cold attitude. Maybe she doesn't like kids . We were traveling with our 15 , 11, and 19 yr old but we paid extra for them so i really didn't understand her problem. NO... I will never recommend this place . We didn't feel safe and it's a very old place. Also woke up with bug bites all over. It was a last minute change in our plans and i really regret putting my family through that .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable and unwelcome. Please accept my apologies. I am sorry if my face looked angry. So again, I'm sorry.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are kinda gross

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Dingy walls, cheap mattresses. Only outlets were in the bathroom. Building is secure and breakfast was solid. The city itself isn't good for tourists, so I'm not sure you could do much better at this price point.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for what you get

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The staff and the AC
Cons: CLEANLINESS, PRICE
While not abysmal, my experience here was WELL BELOW AVERAGE especially given the exorbitant price. The bathroom, especially the shower/tub, was exceptionally dirty...and I usually stay in hostels. The staff were great, but that was the only redeeming feature of this place. The AC worked well in the room, but the WiFi was not great. Can walk to the bus stop and downtown, but that does little to redeem the hotel (or the city).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stop over before moving on

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Ok for one night. Sheets were clean, which is personally most important. Otherwise nothing to write home about. Not the friendliest, but felt 'safe'
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
Sorry about your experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice people but needs upgrades and better cleaning

Posted Mar 9, 2017
I stayed for one night and must admit I'm having a difficult time with this review because the staff and the owner were so lovely and welcoming! But the room was just not what I was hoping for. The decor was quite dated and the duvet cover had a fresh stain on it. The bathroom hadn't been fully wiped down. Also one of the lights didn't work so the room was quite dark. On the bright side the hotel was quiet at night and the optional breakfast was very good! However at this time it's not enough to tip the scale and we've cancelled our end of trip booking and found a different hotel. The hotel itself is really cute and in a really cool old house. With some new and clean linens, working lighting and good housekeeping it would be a gem. I hope the owner reads these reviews and accepts the feedback.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria bc

Amazing hostess, convenient location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The atmosphere is a good transition from North American standards to a more local flavour. Janette is a wonderful gracious hostess and everything went smoothly.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Catskills, New York

Nice hotel near downtown

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location, look, walkability, price.
Location: See above.
The building is a pretty Victorian with an interesting history. Staff were very nice and helpful. It is about a five minute walk to the Swing Bridge, and in the other direction to Bird Island where there is a nice open air restaurant. The walk felt safe as there were security guards along the way. We enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay !

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The snorkeling was fantasti, Dru and Chris were the best ! They have a 90 year old man on the trip the time of his life.