Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Really friendly place. Great pool and pool bar

Posted May 21, 2016
Loved or stay in this super friendly and relaxed place. The staff are great, especially Emir, the pool bartender, who is really engaging and friendly. The resort is a little dated compared to some othersin the address, but it was really quiet and cosy...no people walking right passed your deck chair like you'd experience in some of the others. We often had the whole pool to ourselves, maybe with one or two other couples. We made friends with a few great people. ..the pool bar is a very social aspect, so it's a good balance of private time alone, and 4-5pm Happy Hour at the pool! Room for improvement with staff communication regarding what activities and water sorts and tours are available. ...a guest hand book woukd have been helpful, although it didn't really matter as we learned about things from other guests. Overall, great resort and the Secret Beach is amazing, so be sure to check it out!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Belizean Shores Resort. We regularly make improvements based on the feedback that we receive from our guests and will take efforts to improve in the areas that you identified in your comments.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

nice hotel close to the beach and san pedro

Posted May 11, 2016
Location: good location
only negative during my stay was the wifi at the pool and room was not acceptable / TV was snowy other than that hotel was very good
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to provide excellence in all areas and will continue our efforts based on the feedback that you provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Beautiful beach front

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: spacious, clean, and I loved the smell of the soap bars.
Cons: Probably some paint outside the units would make it look nicer.
Location: great if u want something quieter but a bit far from town and u need a golf cart. A designated driver is a must cause water taxi closes at 10pm
The Hotel was more than adequate and the staff was attentive. I only ate once at the restaurant and it was breakfast but really loved it and would have done it more had I known. The room is quite spacious, the WIFI was better than I thought it would be and was glad to have any at all. I did not use the pool but is huge, there is a great pier with a slide with a covered deck and seats, so it is good for hanging out. There is also a huge tube (inflatable) in the water so you can lay and be rocked by the sea and you can fit about 5 people. I was told that they were in low season so the Hotel and the town were a bit quiet; however I think that nightlife starts at 11:00pm anyway. We used the golf carts which can be expensive if you add 4 or 5 days, especially because you have to pay a toll to cross a bridge that takes you to the hotel. so if you are going on a budget then it is best to stay close to the town. There is plenty of restaurants to choose from and they range in prices. There was construction next door but I literally did not hear a thing and they don't work at night so I slept great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review. We are pleased to know that we met all of your expectations and that your getaway was a success. We did take note of your mention of areas in which we may improve as we continually strive to provide the best service and experience that we can.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, worth the money.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
We had a great time. The staff was very nice and always helpful. The room was big, the bed was fairly comfortable. The pool is nice and the restaurant outstanding. We'd return in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything from our staff, to the accommodation to the pool met your expectations. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

An amazing stay on Ambergris Caye Island

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Rooms impeccable, resort had everything you need to relax and play on the island. Swim up bar in the pool proved to be dangerous.
Cons: Help the guests on how to live on Belizean time:) We only needed more time!
Location: Tuff E Nuff Tours is right on the pier. I'm a rookie diver, but had six amazing dives while staying at Belizean Shores. Food was spot on throughout
Belizean Shores Resort is perfect for the island of Ambergris Caye. When you arrive to the resort aboard the complimentary water taxi, you're immediately blown away by the beauty of the resort. The upkeep the resort maintains is impeccable, from the colors, to the sand, to the pool and every room caries their own individual charm. And the people are solely concerned about your stay and how they could make it better. Transportation to and from town (water taxi and golf cart), water toys, snorkeling right off the point, the pool, and the other tenants became friends from the minute we arrived. - We will be back Belizean Shores.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We've found that the best way to get on "Belize time" is to return again and again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Nice facilities, pool. The "room" is basically an apartment, so you don't have to go out for every meal.
Cons: Get a new outfit to organize day trips.
Location: Right on the water; snorkeling, kayaking, swimming, diving, etc.
Great place ten minute boat ride north of San Pedro by water taxi. Friendly staff, great pool, right on the beach. OK restaurant--the food is fine but selection is limited. The only problem is with the group responsible for organizing day trips, TuffENuff. I found them indifferent and unhelpful, and ended up booking my own snorkeling trip with another outfit in San Pedro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are pleased to know that your accommodations and the complimentary activities that are offered right on sight were highlights for you. We strive to partner with the best providers to ensure your enjoyment of all tours and activites that you take part in. We are truly sorry that your expectations were not met in this area.
5 out of 5
by Paige

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel, on the beach, complimentary kayaks

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Very clean, the rooms are amazing and have plenty of space even for large groups. The kitchenettes are also very nice and can help save money on food.
Cons: The bar staff are slow and don't seem very interested in making sure you get your drinks in a timely manner. Maids are friendly, but other staff arent
Location: Complimentary Kayaks and rentable equipment for snorkeling. Can buy excursions (fishing, diving), jet skis, catamarans. San Pedro has nightclubs, bars
Very pleased with the hotel, pool, and other amenities. The staff could have been friendlier, and have been at other resorts I've been to in the Carribean region; the pool bar staff are particularly slow at getting drinks, closing out tabs, etc, and spend more time cleaning/updating tabs/doing something other than making drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 29, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location and room configuration were highlights for you. We are dishearted to know that our staff did not live up to your expectations and that you found the pool bar service lacking. We take the satisfaction of our guests seriously and pride ourselves in our friendliness and care.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Sweet time in paradise!

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Great experience! The front desk and other Staff were superb, especially Chef Santiago, Naysa, and the staff in the restaurant who went out of their way for a last minute reception for our small destination wedding! Only complaint was low tolerance from certain older guests on any noise after 8 pm. Not really a place for young adults "having fun" on vacation. Made us paranoid about talking too loud on balcony. Very peaceful and quiet atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 29, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Congratulations again! It was an honor to be a part of your big day and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for choosing Belizean Shores Resort!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, In

Belizean Shores Resort, a home away from home

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: most everything. our first room was nice, but we rotated the bed which helped the sinking feeling due to previous uses. The 2nd room bed was comfortab
Cons: Rotate mattresses, have owners keep more artwork and personal touches out while keeping any theft down
Location: excellent, see above.
We arrived via boat to Belizean Shores with a welcoming rum punch from Rhoda the General manager. Rhoda is excellent and takes the time to know your first name. The first 4 nights were in 5A, very nice 1 bdrm but Rhoda accomodated our request to move up closer to the ocean to 3C which was excellent. We highly recommend to rent a bike and pedal only 3.5-4 miles in town, the road is paved and it is a beautiful cultural ride especially once you bike the town of San Pedro. We did rent a golf cart for 1 day but the road north of the Belizean Shores Resort is very bumpy and a trial to drive. Use of the complimentary kayaks are quite an asset as you can paddle in 5-10 in and connect to a buouy to snorkel some of the reef just in front of the resort. Fresh 5 gallon water containers in every room. Nice patio to sit out on and watch the waves. Pool is beautiful with happy hour of bar open every night at 4-5pm. Quiet resort, just the perfect distance from town, Tuff E nuff tour company right in front and very reputable safe excursions. highly recommend the Ho Chan and Shark ray alley, personalized, safe and amazing. The people are very kind and you will feel comfortable to get out and explore, which is something we have not always felt when traveling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 29, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
We enjoyed reading your review, thank you for taking the time to share it with us here. Rhoda enjoyed your shout out and was happy to do all she could to ensure that you enjoyed your stay with us.