Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Russel from Utah

Excellent all around hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Clean, friendly, fun, great location
Cons: Maybe a pen in the room
Location: We did several tours that was offered, liked all of them. very close to the village for shopping and additional eating opportunities
Loved all of it, staff friendly and hard working, food great, tours and services cant be beat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Colorado

Excellent hotel and great staff.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: service
Location: Lots of great bars and night entertainment. Great fishing and diving.
This hotel is one of the nicer hotels that I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jaime

Relaxation at its best

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: A nice boutique resort with great food.
Highly recommend Chabil Mar not only because of the customer service and accommodations but because you can truly relax here. Amazing view, food, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Bay Area, CA

Beautiful setting, private and super-comfy!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Quiet, pools were sparkling with i scent of chlorine, the dock was wonderful, great beach, fab staff...
Cons: The wi-fi access and speed is the only thing I can think of, though the staff will make sure you can connect!
Location: Snorkeling, scuba, inland excursions to Mayan ruins, village restaurants, bird watching, etc...
So this isn;t really a hotel, its a group of 5 buildings, all built on the same plan made of 'villas' that are each actually owned by different individuals, but the 'standards' are required in each villa. There's only like 18 or so villas so it feels very private and calm, though we did go during the 'off season' so it might be more crowded in high season. There are two beautiful pools, which are luscious! so if kids are in one, you can go in the other one. There are real complete kitchens, but be forewarned, there isn't a single condiment, not even salt and pepper in the cupboards (you can borrow these from the kitchen if needed anyway:-) All in all we had an absolutely wonderful time there. The accommodations are really very high-end, especially in comparison with the real world of Belize: each room air conditioning, cable TV and large TV in living room with DVD player and a large library, food or drinks delivered to any place on the property, king size bed, free bikes to ride into the village, etc... On top of all of that the staff is fabulous! We needed internet connectivity, (this by the way is spotty and slow throughout), and they brought a router to our room and made sure we were hooked up the very next morning! It really is as nice as it looks if not even a little better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr. S. Wilson from San Francisco Bay area

Tranquil, lush property, joyous experience.

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The strong commitment to guest satisfaction on all levels.
By far the most beautiful property we have found in Belize. Our expectations were high, based on the many rave reviews we read before this trip, and in all respects our expectations were exceeded. We found the same lush, inviting property, tranquil ambience, spacious, well-equipped villas, amazing service. Special mention must be made about the stunning food we ordered from the kitchen - every meal was perfectly cooked, the flavors divine. The staff knew and used our names, providing attentive but not intrusive stellar service. And despite a disclaimer about possible interruptions in wireless service, we had strong, continuous connections throughout our stay. Most highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Resort

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff!!
Loved every minute at this resort! Counting the days until we can return! So beautiful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ted from texas

Chabil Mar

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Cons: Didn't really know how far this hotel is from Belize City, is another plane ride on small plane or 3 hr car ride.
Location: Placencia is small, rustic, few excellent restuarants to eat at, very close to hotel Went on Monkey River tour into jungle, snorkeling, zip-lining.
What a wonderful place! The staff was very attentive, the grounds beautiful and imaculate. Everyone knew our name, and always asked what they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. Very empty this time of year, almost had the place to ourselves. Great, secluded, quiet and relaxing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deb from Calgary, AB, Canada

Beautiful!

Posted May 8, 2013
Pros: The gardens were absolutely lovely. The suite we stayed in was clean and comfortable. I really appreciated having a washer and drier.
Cons: Golf carts available for guests to get into Placencia (about 2 km away), would be ideal. Chabil Mar did provide hourly transportation (evenings).
Location: The location is very good - private and quiet and fairly close to Placencia as well as the airport. The beach is beautiful.
Chabil Mar was incredibly beautiful. The rooms were lovely and the grounds spectacular! I would stay there again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A lovely, quiet spot

Posted Apr 25, 2013
Very beautiful spot with superb staff but also very quiet. If that's what you're looking for, it's perfect.