Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Cons: On site restaurants were not very vegetarian friendly but they were able to accommodate meals for the most part
Great staff, very accommodating. Clean rooms. Kayaking, paddleboarding readily accessible. Great snorkeling experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Dir. Guest Services , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, accommodations and complimentary amenities were highlights for you. Please again accept our apology regarding your dining experiences. Dietary restrictions can be accommodated with notice- if you are staying at the resort, simply let us know during check-in and you won’t need to worry about it for the rest of your vacation. There are many vegetarian selections on all of our menus and our staff are knowledgeable and trained to accommodate all dietary concerns. Again, we are sorry that your experience was out of the norm and we hope that on future visits you have a more positive dining experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Rooms were nice & clean, attention to detail, nicest pool on the island, good food, friendly hotel staff, and golf carts available on site to rent.
Cons: Bar staff
Location: It is a little ways outside of San Pedro, but that adds some seclusion with still being able to take a short golf cart ride into town (or water taxi)
From start to finish (with the exception of one hiccup) our experience at Coco Beach was fantastic! As the group trip organizer I was in communication with multiple staff members prior to arrival to arrange a few things (proximity of rooms, welcome arrangement for birthday girl, transportation to resort, etc) and everything was handled with the utmost efficiency and professionalism. Heidi & Stephanie at the Sandy Point office took care of flights/water taxis from San Pedro & Belize City, concierge took care of not only room welcome for birthday girl but rum drinks for the whole group set up in the lobby before our arrival, and Byron at the front desk is top notch all around! We did have an issue with the pool bar staff the first night where an order was taken wrong & then proceeded to force that person to pay for and take what they didn't order. It made the rest of the trip uncomfortable at the bar / pool area and the amount paid (without tip) would have been covered 10xs over (+ excessive tipping) during the 8 days of our stay had it been handled correctly. This is part of the restaurant management and not a reflection of the resort....but the bartenders need some training in service. Otherwise, I can't say enough good things about this resort and their staff!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Wonderful staff and accomodations

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff was AMAZING! They made you feel like family.
Cons: Nothing, this was one of the best resort experiences I've ever had
Location: Location was perfect. Everything was accessible either by water taxi or golf cart.
The staff at Coco Beach were extremely friendly and accommodating. They made you feel like family and were extremely attentive. From the bar staff, the concierge, housekeeping and the pool staff, they were engaging, remembered our names, and made sure we were well taken care of. The best hotel staff I've encountered at any resort I've stayed. I also give high marks for the food. Every meal we had at the resort was wonderful. Fresh ingredients and you could taste the love in every plate. This was one of the best vacation experiences I've ever had. I will definitely return to Coco Beach again in the future and will recommend it to anyone traveling to Belize.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Absolutely Beautiful

Posted Aug 5, 2016
This was the most beautiful,clean resort. I enjoyed the stay and the staff was magnificent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, NC

Very well maintained hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
My husband and I celebrated our 11 year anniversary in Belize. We chose to stay at CoCo Beach Resort. I'm so happy we did bc from the moment we arrived to Ambergris Caye, we felt welcomed! The staff were so friendly & eager to assist with any accommodations from room comfort to excursions. On our next visit to Belize, we will definitely return to CoCo Beach. It was a perfect vacation!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Not up to Luxury Resort Standards

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The pool wait staff was very nice.
Cons: A resort of this size needs ice buckets, a generator, an emergency plan and effective communication.
Our stay a Coco Beach was extremely disappointing and thankfully Expedia helped us transfer to another resort where we enjoyed ourselves comfortably and safely with running water and power. Upon arrival we were greeted pleasantly and felt welcome. We went to our room and requested ice. Someone showed up with a white drawstring garbage bag filled with ice and then shoved it into the mini fridge/freezer. For a resort rated 4 stars, we thought for sure it should arrive in an ice bucket. Holiday inns have ice buckets... The pools look amazing at first and the wait staff was friendly, however, the water level was really low and the water seemed pretty cloudy. We asked one of the maintenance workers about it and they said they weren't sure why, but knew that something was broken. We soon learned that Coco Beach Resort does not have a generator for when the power goes out. When the power goes out, it also means that there is no running water because of the way things are set up. The power on the entire island went out at around 9 pm. We were on our way back to the resort and we saw other resorts go dark and then about 45 seconds later everything turned back on. We figured it was just a quick power outage as that seemed to happen often at Coca Beach. When we arrived at Coco Beach 5 mins later, the power was not on. There were no lights anywhere. They offered to take us to our room on the 2nd floor with a flashlight. Since we still still had a little power on one of
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The staff is so friendly and nice ! The hotel property is beautiful and well maintained .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston,ma

Horrible staff great looking hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Looks nice and the pool was great!
Cons: Age of the staff was all mid 20's and seemed very unprofessional. You can tell that
Location: Tuff e Nuff adventures was the highlight of our trip. We went on several trips with them and had a great time!
We stayed for five days. It was a group of my fiancé and myself. During our stay we had items stolen from our patio by the staff who worked there. i.e. flip flops, shirts. When I complained to the front desk they didn't seem to care so I had to call the American office. After I called the American office they "Magically" showed up in a lost in found that apparently existed outside of the only one that I was told about. Mind you they smelt horrible like someone has been wearing them. Which means they were stolen by staff. Several staff members showed up drunk during our stay and made several sexually suggestive comments to my fiancé which made her very uncomfortable. I was not told of this until after we left. It is apparent that they cater to larger groups. After speaking to others who stayed at the resort, if you party is smaller 2-3 people then you will not get any attention and they will not deal with you in the same manner or respect as larger groups who in theory have more money to spend at the resort. I booked this resort because I was told it was a luxury safe resort and that is a lie. Save your money and go to captain morgans which is much cheaper but has been around longer and treat you better. Disclaimer: I have been to Belize 3 times in the past 5 years. This was the first time at this resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Off Season=No crowds!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Facilities were clean and well maintained, service was friendly and helpful
Cons: dining options--the resort should provide free transport to/from San Pedro You need to rent a golf cart or take a water taxi $5 US
Location: The location is north of San Pedro in a more secluded/private area away from San Pedro. We found a food truck park on the west side by riding bikes.
I was worried about traveling to Belize in the off season/rainy season. We spent 5 days and it only rained for 20 minutes 2 of the 5 days. It was hot but breezy weather and there were absolutely no crowds anywhere which made it such a nice getaway. The pool view hotel room had a living area/couch and a great walk in tile shower. Our first floor room had a balcony that led right to the pool which was fabulous--with very few guests it felt like our own personal pool. We quickly learned that Belize is not a typical 'beach' location which I was aware of but did not fully understand until I arrived. There is a beach you can walk on and sit on but due to the seagrass, you can not just wade into the water. The resort does a good job of making you feel like you are on the beach by having sand covering the walk ways around the property. Diving off piers or snorkeling or scuba is the best way to experience the Caribbean Sea from Belize. You need to take a water taxi, golf cart or bicycle to get to restaurants/shopping in San Pedro. The dining is limited--breakfast and lunch were fine but dinner was overpriced and not great. We opted for more traditional restaurants in town instead. Everyone that works here was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. There was some misinformation given to us at checkout about our ferry time that made our trip extra long and also about traveling with liquor through customs so my advice is to verify that information on your own
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The word "Resort" should be taken lightly

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The property is beautiful. There is no denying that. There were a few disappointments some preventable, some not. You should know: *Travel by Tropic Air to get there. It's efficient & will save you a choppy boat ride. We took Tropic Air, others took the boat and weren't thrilled. *The beaches are unswimmable. They will direct you to a place that is about 100ft to the left of the hotel. It is still essentially unswimmable. They will offer you a place in town to swim-- it is the size of a 2bdrm NYC apartment. Don't waste your time. *All of the outlets were loose in our room. ALL of them. Other guests said the same *My phone didn't work. Informed the staff. They never fixed it. *To be expected, but the electricity went out quite a bit while we were there. *The staff were mostly great. Food is delicious. Options are few. *You will need to rent a golf cart to get around town to go grocery shopping for your room. Do it at least one day to get at least breakfast for each morning to save money. *The pools are great. The slide and rock cliff is a hit, but the larger pool's water is murky *This one is simple and odd- There is no directory telling you about restaurants or activities in town. The tourism isn't built up yet which can be good or bad depending on what you are looking for. *Took my kids 10 and 3-- other than that slide, not especially kid friendly. *There is no fitness center. Spa service is on the beach or in your room. I can see the appeal for others. Not me