Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Generally good except for the food

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Clean, nice and helpful staff
Cons: Dump the americanized food menu and hire a good local chef. Let him do his job and run the kitchen properly.
Location: It's a nice 15-20 minute bike ride to get into town. The water taxi is cheap, but not very frequent. Golf carts also available for rent.
Staff was generally friendly and helpful, particularly: -Housecleaning -Onsite masseuse -Concierge Had multiple incorrect orders from both Room Service and their breakfast cafe. Food quality that we did receive was generally only 'OK'. Not what I would have expected from a Luxury resort. We did have a few noisy evenings with some drunk guests that wanted to use the pool late at night, (past the posted closing hours), but generally the front desk was responsive in dealing with them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Lovely modern resort and great staff

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Beautiful rooms, grounds and pools. Staff was generally friendly with few exceptions. Water around the swim up bar is heated.
Cons: Music choice described above.
Location: The resort had a dock and outfitter on location which made it easy to do all sorts of water activities.
I stayed at Coco Beach on a vacation with my father. We had an ocean view suite and they put us on the first level when I expressed concern about my father getting up the stairs. It was a tremendous spot just step from the pool. The room was very nice and well-appointed with AC and a full kitchen. It had a nice private patio. Where we could have our morning coffee. I was concerned that it was too far from town but it wasn't a problem. There were a number of resorts nearby with restaurants and Captain Morgan's even has a casino. It was a reasonable drive into town with our golf cart. My only criticism was that on our first night we went to the poolside bar for dinner and they had some club music booming. I was afraid that we'd gotten ourselves into some terrible Hard Rock type resort. They did turn the music down when I asked and most of the music I heard the rest of the trip was Carribean resort appropriate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wonderful Hotel, great vacation with kids

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location, great staff, very peaceful and comfortable. Best pools around! Delicious drinks from poolside bar.
Cons: More variety in the restaurant menu. I think my picky eater son ate grilled cheese for 5 meals in a row!
We had such a wonderful time staying at Cocoa Beach Resort. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The pool area was perfect for our kids (and us). They loved the big rock that you could climb all over and slide through. We loved the great poolside service, swim-up bar and happy hours specials. The hotel restaurant was good and there were at least 3-5 other options you could walk to nearby to eat out. The resort also offered bikes (free) so we took those out to ride around a couple times, which was fun. Our favorite thing was renting a golf cart (easy to rent by the hour just outside hotel lobby) to ride into town. We also did a really fun tour one day - boat ride to town then a small plane to the mainland, then visits to Mayan ruins, cave tubing, zip lining. It was a super-fun day and probably the highlight of our trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by DirGuestSer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad that your entire family enjoyed staying with us. We have taken your comments to heart regarding the restaurant menu and are working on changes that will be a bit more friendly to children. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great resort hotel for the whole family.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Setting and access to town. Bikes and kayaks available.
Cons: Need to set aside a pool area for adults only.
Very nice facilities but can be busy. Hot tub very crowded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by DirGuestSer , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have an adults-only pool, with the swim-up pool bar in the middle. We hope to host you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Absolutely beautiful!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: Our room smelled like cigarette smoke.
Wonderful experience!! Beautiful rooms and views!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good and Bad

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: It was nice but it was over price .
Cons: Should of put in a elevator
Location: The area could use some TLC , ,Most importance the Island need have a general clean up week to made it last long.
I found the price was high for what you got. I found the bar area open up later in the morning when most place open at 7:00 AM The bartender were not that's friendly like other place next door .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis

Convenient location beautiful setting

Posted Nov 24, 2016
If Internet is important this is not your best option. Newer and nice facility but son had several bites on his body. Suggest checking guest bedroom for bed bugs. Not sure but something caused it and worth checking to eliminate this possibility
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by DirGuestSer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are truly sorry to read that your son experienced bug bites during your Belize trip. We take this very seriously and always do a thorough investigation. What is more likely, as we found no evidence in the room, is that the bites occurred from sand flies. also known as "no-see-ums." They are very small, hence the nickname, and occur throughout Belize and indeed, many beach destinations. We are also sorry to know that you experienced connectivity issues. We work closely with our provider to ensure that the best service possible is available to our guests. Belize as a nation only recently obtained the technology necessary for 4G service and as such internet services are behind what most North American travelers are used to. We will continue to embrace all innovations that are available in our country to increase our connectivity. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best resort in the area!

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Beautiful grounds. Best pools - there are two, one with water slide and the other a shallow pool with a hot tub and volley net.
Location: Coco Beach is located on the north end of Ambergris Caye, and is a water taxi or golf cart ride from the main San Pedro town (for a fee).
We stayed at Coco Beach for 8 days in early November and had an amazing time. The resort is the best in the area. There is an onsite cafe for breakfast and lunch, and a restaurant for upscale dinner. You can also order food from the pool area which has a separate menu. Travel into town for other food offerings can be made via water taxi for a fee, golf cart for a fee, or you can bicycle into town at no charge. Traveling to and from town can get pricey, but there you can find excellent local food and great shopping. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The resort has its own dock, which made excursions easy. There are limited swimming beaches in Belize because of the naturally occurring sea grass beds that are important to their ecosystem. We swam in the pools which were beautiful and fun. Loved the swim up bar and the water slide. We went on two separate excursions from Tuff E Nuff Tours which as an office right on the dock. The first tour was snorkeling at Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark Ray Alley and a visit to Caye Caulker, and the other to the Mayan ruins of Xunantunich, ziplining, and cavetubing at Barton Creek Cave. The water quality in the ocean was excellent, and the Barton Creek River cavetubing had the clearest water I've ever seen. I fell in love with the beauty and people of Belize, and I will definitely be making a return trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Best vacation ever!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of the staff. Big shout out to our main bartender Dion.
Cons: I don't see how they could improved anything.
Location: The location is about 3 miles from the town of San Pedro but it was still very easy to get to town and back by either boat taxi or golf cart.
Coco Beach Resort exceeded all expectations, and expectations were high. The room, facilities and the grounds were immaculately clean. It seemed as though there wasn't a grain of sand out of place. Our room was perfect with a Caribbean décor, a great view and the maid service was the best. The hotel staff is outstanding. Friendly, personable and helpful at all times. The food at the restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. Several meals were consumed at the pool bar and it too was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great location and view

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The location was just far enough from town that it was easy to get to but wasn't too close so you felt secluded
Cons: Nothing
Location: Going into town by golf cart was a blast. Traveling around was great.
The room we had was huge and comfortable. Only issue was getting the correct temp for water in the shower but that took just a few minutes to figure out.