Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Secluded ecolodge in the middle of the forest

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The staff is phenomenal, they go out of their way to learn your names and personalize your experience. The location is quiet, secluded, and beautiful.
Location: I highly recommend the ATM tour. It's an all day spelunking excursion to a wet Mayan Cave where you'll swim and climb to see ancient Mayan sacrifices
I had high expectations from the phenomenal reviews here and Gaia exceeded all of them. It's the perfect place to go if you're looking to unplug, get a little adventure, experience the real Belize, but not "sacrifice" on all the comforts and luxuries you want out of a vacation. "Glamping" comes to mind. The negative reviews on this site are few are far between, but if you're anything like me, have a tendency to perseverate on them. After having spent 5 nights at Gaia, I wanted to address them. They have only 1 menu, but after 5 nights there were still several meals that my husband and I didn't get to try. Because it's a secluded location, you'll end up eating all your meals on site. But I found the prices to be very reasonable. Granted I live in Manhattan, but there's no way I could have that quality of dining experience and fresh taste for those kinds of prices back home. Yes, it's a 2.5 hr bumpy car ride from the airport. But as long as you're expecting it, it's nothing. Plus, you get to see the country, so think of it as part of the experience. And yes, there is only wifi in the main lodge, no TVs on site. But if you traveled all the way out to the Belizean jungle and want to Netflix in your hotel room all day, you probably need to rethink your vacationing methods. The wifi in the lodge is plenty fast to check emails, text, all the basics to stay connected with the world back home. You'll definitely want to do some excursions if staying for more than a couple nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Natural beauty.

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Great experience - rent a vehicle, a little expensive but it gives more options to get around with the local.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful secluded location near waterfalls

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Nice private jungle bungalows. Wonderful helpful staff. Extremely comfortable bedding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful resort on the river.

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: It was very peaceful.
Cons: The roads around the resort need a lot of attention.
Location: The location was really nice. Their setup on the river is amazing. There are a lot of excursions from the resort. We did a couple of the Mayan ruins.
We had an all around great experience. The staff, food, and lodging were exactly as advertised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Beautiful lodging walking distance to waterfalls

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Staff (genuinely friendly, helpful and relaxed); the grounds is beautiful, extremely clean place, walking/biking distance to great water falls,
Cons: Internet connection in the rooms and better reading lighting.
Location: Biking, hiking, swimming, running, zip-lining, canoeing, caving,...
It was both extremely relaxing and advantageous. Daily extrusions with knowledgeable guides followed by very relaxing evenings at this beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Three days away from it all!

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Great staff. Specially want to mention Fransisco, our guide, and Lucy who ran the bar and the restaurant while we were there.
Location: We enjoyed the day trip to Caracol. The nature trails is good (though brief) and definitiely do Big Rock
What a great time at Gaia. We had 3 days away fom all the hussle and bussle from daily life. No internet (was actually taken out by a thunderstorm), no cellphone, no distraction. We were living with nature's clock. Gaiai River Lodge exceeded our expectations. We happend to have the place all to ourseves for most of our stay. The lodge, nestled in the jungle, close by the five sisters waterfalls is a beautiful and romantic place. The individual cabins are minimalistic, but wel maintained. The first thing we noticed was the bed wih the mosquito netting. Looks very romantic. But the rooms are nice. Everything is there. No TV, no distraction. Just open air and stunning views. No AC required, open windows all the time. Yes there are bugs, but with proper behavior: don't eat in your room etc. This is never a problem, just part of nature. The falls, the environment... Just as we imagined it. The staff was wonderful. They made us feel at home. They pointed us to the right places to visit close by (we did see coati's on the nature trails), had a blast at the falls, took the hike to the Big Rock falls and found our selves all alone with a great watering hole and beautiful scenery. We took the Caracol day trip. Fransico was a brilliant guide. His passion for the location, nature and the mayan histories made this a trip unforgettable. He explained us the activities of the leafcutter ants as well as the rules of the Mayan ball games. If you ant to get away from it all, go to Gaia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Wonderful experience of both the country and the p

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The bungalows were private and clean and the staff all friendly and courteous. We were pampered all week at this gorgeous location.
Cons: Everything was wonderful for us
Location: The hotel location is remote but the ATM tour, Xunantunich tour, Zip lining, and Macal River were all wonderful and Big Rock falls a bike ride away.
We celebrated our 10 year anniversary at Gaia and had a wonderful time. The hotel was beautiful and well run. We were pampered by the extremely courteous staff and enjoyed multiple expeditions with the knowledgeable and friendly guides. The views from the room were spectacular and private. The wildlife was abundant in the beautiful landscaping. Sitting under a cashew tree with hummingbirds flying overhead was extremely relaxing. Located on the 5 sisters waterfalls, we would enjoy a drink before dinner and take a swim in the falls after a day of adventure. Lots to do in Belize if you enjoy nature. We hiked the nature trail each morning and would then take a tour of adventure. It was a perfect getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waterfall island is amazing

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Staff were helpful best experience during our 3 weeks in Belize and Guatemala
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disconnect totally!

Posted Apr 3, 2015
A beautiful place to stay with helpful and accommodating staff. Very good restaurant (try the banana bread)! A great way to relax and escape any pressures!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Excellent Stay! Best vacation I have taken.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
This resort was the perfect balance of relaxation and adventure. If you are looking for something different from an all-inclusive, you will love this!