Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Incredible Location!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
My husband and I were blown away by the view when we arrived at Gaia. What a gorgeous spot! Great food, great staff, we wish we had planned on an extra night here as we only stayed two nights. We loved hiking to Big Rock and we followed the river back to the lodge which was challenging but a great adventure. Swimming at the base of the falls was lovely! We biked up to Blancaneaux (owned by Francis Ford Coppola) and had a drink which was also a fun little adventure. Very remote and very beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alameda, CA

Wow - still can't believe a place like this exists

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: We took a trip to the Caracol Maya Ruin. A bit of a drive, but very worth it.
What a perfect get-a-way. The Riverlodge is a group of separate luxury huts and one large building for the restaurant/bar/lobby/reception. Everything was top notch from the greeting we received upon arriving, to the on-site meals, the room, and of course, the incredible setting and facilities down by the river. They have done an incredible job making the facilities and our stay perfect. I told them when I left - DO NOT CHANGE A THING. There is nothing to improve upon. In Mayan terms I figure this is what meant when they were talking about 13 levels of heaven. This was somewhere near the 13th!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent lodge in a beautiful location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, remote location and relaxed atmosphere. Staff was attentive, polite and friendly.
Cons: Maybe more lighting in the lodge area. It was difficult to read menus, etc., in dim lighting.
Location: Be ready for vigorous activities. Most activities are physically challenging.
Excellent attention to details. Everything was taken care of, from luggage portage to providing towels for water activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Secluded ecolodge in the middle of the forest

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The staff is phenomenal, they go out of their way to learn your names and personalize your experience. The location is quiet, secluded, and beautiful.
Location: I highly recommend the ATM tour. It's an all day spelunking excursion to a wet Mayan Cave where you'll swim and climb to see ancient Mayan sacrifices
I had high expectations from the phenomenal reviews here and Gaia exceeded all of them. It's the perfect place to go if you're looking to unplug, get a little adventure, experience the real Belize, but not "sacrifice" on all the comforts and luxuries you want out of a vacation. "Glamping" comes to mind. The negative reviews on this site are few are far between, but if you're anything like me, have a tendency to perseverate on them. After having spent 5 nights at Gaia, I wanted to address them. They have only 1 menu, but after 5 nights there were still several meals that my husband and I didn't get to try. Because it's a secluded location, you'll end up eating all your meals on site. But I found the prices to be very reasonable. Granted I live in Manhattan, but there's no way I could have that quality of dining experience and fresh taste for those kinds of prices back home. Yes, it's a 2.5 hr bumpy car ride from the airport. But as long as you're expecting it, it's nothing. Plus, you get to see the country, so think of it as part of the experience. And yes, there is only wifi in the main lodge, no TVs on site. But if you traveled all the way out to the Belizean jungle and want to Netflix in your hotel room all day, you probably need to rethink your vacationing methods. The wifi in the lodge is plenty fast to check emails, text, all the basics to stay connected with the world back home. You'll definitely want to do some excursions if staying for more than a couple nights
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The mother earth!

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
great services, good tours, wonderful environment,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting, comfortable bungalows

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful, remote, friendly and luxurious place to stay in the forest and overlooking a lovely river where there is a place to chill out, and swim. The staff were great - helpful and welcoming. The food was very tasty. Just about the nicest place we've ever stayed in, and we have travelled a lot. If you arrive with your own vehicle just be prepared however for a very rough track, so take a sturdy 4x4. Same if you want to visit the nearby caves or ruins, although the hotel can arrange transport and guides. We did everything on our own, but most guests enjoyed relaxing and taking the hotel excursion.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Right above beautiful waterfalls

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, the waterfalls are beautiful and you can hear them from your fluffy white bed at night. Very romantic. No wifi, cell phone service, or air conditioning in your rooms. However you don't need it anyways. The staff is fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Montreal

Gaia Riverlodge Beauty

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Love this place. A little far but very peaceful. Needed more signs to direct us to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Bob from Florida

Awesome

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to get away from the every day grind. Back to clean breathing, AWESOME staff, love the way our hut/ room is laid out, great grounds to relax sitting on the deck watching water falls.
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Chicago

Would return to Belize for Gaia's amazing service!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 3 nights and we were very impressed with everything. The staff welcomed us with Maya rum punches and kindly explained all the amenities and things we could do there during our stay. They took our luggage to our room and from there it was the best service. They brought us food and drinks to the waterfalls below, which is about 300 stairs down from the lodging, where we could enjoy a full day relaxing at the waterfalls swimming and hanging in the hammocks they provide. The entire setup was perfect. We went to Caracol one morning and asked them to pack us a lunch. We were very impressed as the lunch they packed was amazing - plenty of food and all very well prepared. They made our stay in Belize so memorable for our honeymoon that we would go back at least to stay with them.