Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Grand Caribe exceeded our expectations in every way. I don't think a better resort exists on the island. From the friendly staff, to the food/service at Rain, to the gorgeous setting, everything was better than what you could see/learn from pictures and online reviews. Loved the swim up bar which became our post-dive hangout. The bartenders are all so attentive and fun. Our main intention was for all 4 of us (wife, me and 2 teenage boys) to get PADI certified while there and the concierge arranged everything. When asked what he thought about the resort, our 18 year old said: "It really made the whole trip special"...as if SCUBA on the reef wasn't enough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellingham ,WA

Great Hotel! Highly recommended !

Posted Mar 28, 2016
We had a lovely time. The staff was wonderful. Very welcoming and very helpful! The pool bar guys were the best! Brian, Alex and Walfredo ROCK! Ellada and Gildon in the concierge office were great ! We book several trips with them. The Maya temple , ziplining ,and cave tubing with Tuff E Nuff was AWESOME !!! Great company! Our trip to the Blue hole was fine but do not recommend the company whom took us. Our stay was fabulous . Our only complaint is that we had to leave! Thank you all for a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Great hotel. You can rent a Kayak and get to a nice snorkeling spot in10 minutes from hotel beach
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: the one bedroom water view condo we had was excellent. we ate at the Rain restaurant several times and it was very good.
Cons: they offer kayaks but guests have to pay $15/hr. You can go to the Dive bar for breakfast or lunch and use their kayaks for free. doesn't make sense
Location: location was toright outside of town. we rented bikes one day and a golf cart another to go into town - it was easy enough to get around.
We stayed for a week on January 9, 2016. Grand Caribe is a great hotel and that is maintained at a high level. The staff we communicated with were very friendly and outgoing. The food and drinks were good and we had a great time.
5 out of 5
by Maday

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, Al

Excellent Hotel and staff

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The Grand Caribe and it's staff was unbelievable. I had a two bedroom on the bottom floor and loved it. The room was clean and very comfortable. Had everything we needed and then some. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The staff at the pool bar was a blast. Food was great at the "Rain " restaurant. Rain also supplied the food for the pool area and room service. If I can make it back to San Pedro island Belize there is no other place I would stay. the Grand Caribe is far and away the best place on the island.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vermont

Belize diving trip

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Came to scuba on barrier reef. Skunked for 12 days in a row. Too rough. Not much more to to but pool. Restarants mostly so so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olean, NY

Great Place

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Layout of 2 bedroom condo and view were perfect, close to dock and several pools. Swim up bar was fun. Top of the line appliances throughout.
Cons: Room darkening shades. Improve transportation - ferry full, had to purchase extra flight so we didn't miss other flights going home adding more $.
Location: Bike rentals on beach - short walk from condo - $5/half day/$8/for the day. Rain, Elvi's, Capricorn, El Patio, Fidos-good eats, kayak/snorkel at dock.
One of the nicest resorts we have ever stayed at. Staff very helpful/courteous. Golf cart rental is fun but pricey. Snorkeling at Hol Chan and Sting Ray Alley are tops. Wish bike rentals were right at resort. Food is very expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Clean
Cons: More control over Villa owners.
Location: Fish, snorkel, dive and water sports. This is not a place for small children as there is really nothing for them to do with the exception of the pools
Although the Villa was lovely, the furniture was worn out and the beds were like sleeping on rocks. The owner of G9 dishes were chipped and the worst appointed kitchen I have ever had in a rental. The resort itself is very pricey and the drinks were terrible. I will not rent a villa again there. Place was clean though.