Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Spa prices were a little high, but wonderful treatments.
Location: So many restaurants and beaches and opportunity to take tours.
Hotel was wonderful, staff was wonderful and very helpful. The accomodations were first rate. I was there with my family of 4, and I would go back in a heart-beat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
Thanks for posting up your review. Glad to read that your family was well accommodated and welcomed here at Grand Colony. We look forward to welcoming you back. Once more thanks for the review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent place for families

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Quiet condoplex, decent beach for Belize, excellent staff, reliable wi-fi, full kitchen, comfortable beds
Location: Located South of San Pedro, close to grocery store and several good restaurants. Dive shop is next door at Banyan Bay pier (Belize Pro Divers)
Very comfortable, large condo far enough away from the noise but very convenient. I called a few days before we arrived and they had a golf cart waiting for us (it's the only way to get around the island). The restaurant is in the next complex over (maybe a 100m walk on the beach). Excellent food and decent prices. I highly recommend Belize Pro Divers which is located on the pier with the restaurant. The cart, diving, fishing guide, food was all room charged which was convenient. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There are security guards at the front gate and by the beach. This was our first trip to Belize (Ambergris Caye) and we can't wait to go back. Getting to the island is very easy. Make your flight with Tropic Air about an hour after your flight arrives and no more than two hours prior to departure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again. It's great that you took full advantage of our onsite services and amenities. Once more for the review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ms

5 star all the way

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Incredibly nice place on the beach. We had 6 guys staying in 3br, 2 bath condo, and all agreed nicest place we had seen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We genuinely work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback and recommendations! Thanks again for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Needs Work

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Grand Villas reminds me of that gorgeous someone you know who looks good when you first meet them; but then once you get to know them during a very expensive date that you are paying for, they end up having a horrible, dull personality and bad hygiene. Then you wish you would have saved your money. Gorgeous, spacious villas but missing a lot of key features you look forward to experiencing when you travel across countries to stay in a costly resort like - hospitality and a nice staff (one front desk lady was especially rude several times but her manager and co-worker with braids made up for her lack of hospitality), a good bar/restaurant (they have one small bar with one bartender who was one of the few staff members that were friendly and accommodating), and you'd expect clean showers with hot water and good water pressure (lots of mold, rust, etc in the showers/bathrooms). Perhaps some of our complaints are just the Belizean way of doing things, meaning we could have had not so stellar experiences at any hotel or resort here, because this is not the friendliest country overall and a lot of it is dirty. Small beach full of seaweed but they have a pool and kayaks available for use without an extra fee. They have complimentary bikes as well - very rusted old bikes but the security said it was because of all the salt water (even tho I saw plenty of bikes that were not rusted at other hotels). Positives: probably one of the better hotels on the beach. No bed bugs. A/C. Upgrade
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your review. We are truly sorry to hear that we didn't not meet your expectation in regards to the unit you were originally in however the manager did offer an upgrade to help remedy the issues you mentioned. Unfortunately, the entire island seems to be suffering from the Sargasso issue however we do have our staff that routinely clear our beach area on a daily basis. We are glad to hear that you did manage to take advantage of our onsite amenities. We genuinely work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback and recommendations! Thanks again for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Lovely villas, friendly staff

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Enjoyed the beautiful villas and our girls loved the creative things the maids arranged every day. The resort was the right size so it never felt crowded . We enjoyed the on site restaurant as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
On behalf of all of our staff, thanks for choosing Banyan Bay Suites, and for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation time with us, glad to hear that your children found the towel creations lovely. Thanks once more for this great review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was an amazing 4 day visit.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The staff was amazing and the hotel was awesome! We will definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
On the behalf of our staff, thank you. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

No restaurant in site.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Banyan Bay, a sister property, is about a block or two down the road and the food was fresh and delicious, but no restaurant in site. Same with little boat dock marina - located next to Banyan Bay's Pier 366 restaurant. Take the snorkel tour for $66. Easy for older folks and lots of fun for youngsters. Plenty to see. Grand Colony was much better than expected. Great balcony overlooks pool and ocean. White sandy beach. Little Tiki bar closes at 5:00 and restaurant closes at 9:00. We didn't expect daily maid service at a villa but we got it. Well deserved 5 stars. Will stay again and will recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Awesome accommodations!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Favorite things were the full kitchen and the housekeeping. The fresh flowers each day and the towel creations were something to look forward to!
Cons: The only thing I can think of is to somehow get rid of the seaweed on the beach. I'm not sure how that could happen...
Location: Location was a little away from the center of town but walkable. Quiet and safe. Despite seaweed, best beach I saw among resorts.
We had a great experience at Grand Colony. The staff were incredibly nice and super helpful - even before we got there! I emailed a few days before our arrival to ask about booking the flight from Belize City and they offered to book it for me. I particularly appreciated that. Housekeeping was awesome - the room was spotless, there were fresh flower decorations left here and there and a new towel creation (the bulldog was my fave) every day! The entire grounds were very well kept, actually. My only complaint is something only Mother Nature can rectify - too much seaweed washing up on the beach. They try to stay ahead of it but it seemed like a never ending battle. There was security at both the street side and the beach side of the resort at all times so we felt very safe and all the guards were friendly with us every time we left or came back. There are lots of little stores to stock up on essentials like water, eggs for breakfast, etc. but with all the really great restaurants, we didn't bother cooking dinner. It seemed like most people rented golf carts but we just walked. It wasn't far at all. Rudy and his guys at the dive shop on the nearby dock were great - we went snorkeling three different times and I've never seen so many reef fish and colorful coral. I would definitely come back to San Pedro and I would stay at the Grand Colony!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
On the behalf of our staff, we wish to say thanks for sharing your exceptional experience. We truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Beautiful place a little away from all the hustle and bustle but close enough to everything as well. Definitely will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your review. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Excellent villa close beach and other activities

Posted Feb 9, 2017
These villas were in spectacular condition, clean and well maintained. The staff are exceptional, they were so friendly, always there for anything we needed or wanted. We would recommended these facilities without reservation
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Grand Colony , Hotel Management
On the behalf of our staff, we very wish to say thanks for this review. We are glad to hear that your vacation at Grand Colony was a great experience. Thanks once more for sharing!