Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, New Mexico

Quiet, Secluded Oasis in the Jungle of Belize

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: The owners built this tiny (5 bungalow) resort with an appreciation of beauty of Belize.
Cons: Internet is a little spotty, but to be frank, you don't go to Belize for the internet!
Location: The location is perfectly situated to take advantage of all the activities in the San Ignacio area of Belize.
The owners Mike and Jen were perfect hosts. They helped us plan and facilitated our daily excursions. Whether visiting the Mayan ruins, or just looking for a great place to eat in the city, they were very knowledgeable and helpful. The bar in the common area offers spectacular open views of the valley and the surrounding jungle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small resort with a personal touch

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The fact that they can run this beautiful resort on solar power and gathered water is wonderful.
Cons: The beds are passed their prime and could use new mattresses.
Location: The resort is about a 20 minutes drive from San Ignacio so you need to either have your own transportation or rely on taxis (approx $15-20 US one way
We stayed at Gumbo Limbo for four nights at the end of January. This a very small resort with only five cabins and one common gathering area. This was a plus for us. The grounds and pool are lovely, and the bar/eating area is a great spot to meet and talk with your hosts and other guests. The continental breakfast (included in the price) was more than enough, and the two dinners we had there were delicious (Mike and Jenny will ask you in the morning if you plan to be there for dinner and ask you what kind of food you like). Our cabin was clean, bright and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of this place and the gentle approach of our hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very pleased with my choice

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Rooms cleans and linen crisp...food prepared fresh daily, pool clean nothing ever sticky...great conversation with owners
Cons: put a hook or two outside to hang wet clothing
Location: It is about 2 hours from the airport and 15 minutes from the town San Ignacio. Book tours to really enjoy the culture. No beach, you are in the jungle
My boyfriend and I had never been to Belize and booked our New Years holiday in July 2015. I was very pleased that the pictures on the website were true...Jenny and Mike (owners) amazing people who really enjoy what they do. I have special eating needs ( gluten free) Jenny made sure I had a wonderful meal everytime right down to a dessert I can enjoy. She even made sure that any tours we booked she made them aware of my eating needs and they provided a meal I can eat, (Tours come with a lunch). Jenny & Mike book tours thru "Belize Nature Travel" our guides were off the charts amazing.. Kevin and Patrick.,request them!!! The grounds are well kept, only 5 free standing cabins/large rooms...rooms are clean and linens were crisp. Pool clean and relaxing. I felt so safe and comfortable. Like staying with family. When we came back from a tour, we were greeted like we were coming home...lol- I travel alot for work and I would recommend this resort..hands down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver canada

Fantastic people quiet getaway.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
mike and Jenny are great hosts. They operate a spot that truly gives you a jungle experience and they cater to your every need. They were able to book all our excursions (Tikal,ATM, transfers to and from airport) with a very reputable tour company. Food was very good and priced very fairly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Nice hotel far away from everything

Posted Feb 10, 2015
It's the place to go if you want to get away from everything. Very very quiet in the evrnings. The food was good; whereas the beds were too firm. It'd be nice to have a tv in the rooms as there is nothing else to do at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely Jungle Retreat

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Settling within the Jungle, Location from tourist points, Friendliness of team, Large Room & Bathroom, Nice Swimming pool
Cons: A slight re-decoration of the interior of the room.
Location: Remote location in jungle, but easily accessible from San Ignacio by car. recommended place to visit Caracoal, Mountain Pine Ridge, Xunantunich
The Owners Jenny & Mike and their team made you feel very welcome and where more than willing to provide advise and help booking transfer, excursions etc. Gumbo Limbo is in a fantastic location and settling, you really felt like you where out in the jungle but situated only a very short distance from the main road between San Ignacio - Belize and located just off the road that run to the mountain pine ridge (Caracoal). However I would recommend if you are hiring a car to ensure its a 4x4 as the road down to Gumbo Limbo could be challenging at certain times of the year. We travelled from Guatemala (approx. 1hr from the board) so perfect stop over for someone wanting a few nights in the mountain Pine Ridge area before heading further into Belize or from Belize to Guatemala & Tikal. The facilities at the hotel where excellent with a open plan bar, restaurant areas and a lovely pool. A continentals breakfast is offered as standard included within the price but they are willing to cook alternative breakfasts if requested at a reasonable amount. They also offer a set menu (3 courses) in the evening at a reasonable price, the menu is normally quite westernised, so perhaps not the best if you are looking to sample the local cuisine. The owner's did say that if they show as full on expedia to contact them directly as them sometimes have additional availability. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone else travelling in this area of Belize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.

Amazing experience in the jungle! We would go back

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Jen and Mike were amazing hosts! They went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay! They set up all of our tours with wonderful tour guides! Every night there was a home cooked meal and dessert. They taught us card games and took us tarantula hunting just to add to our experience there. The room was wonderful, cleaned every day, and felt very comfortable. I missed staying there the minute we left. I would 110% recommend Gumbo Limbo to anyone interested in staying in the jungle. It was beyond my expectations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J from UK

Home from home

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Quality of accommodation. Location. Warm welcome.
Cons: Tea / coffee facilities in room.
Location: Jungle heaven. Great things nearby include Caracol, Belize Zoo, MET and Big Rock falls.
Mike and Jenny provided a welcoming and comfortable environment for me and my extended family. The rooms are large, clean and well appointed. The resort is well located, just a short trip up the Pine Ridge Mountain track, however if you're planning to hire a car, make sure it's a 4 x 4. Gumbo Limbo is a great choice for jungle adventures in Belize. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gumbo Limbo Jungle Resort Review

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Setting in a beautiful area of Belize, far away from the noisy streets of the Belize western highway, clean spacious rooms, and excellent food.
Location: Recommend the ATM cave tour (Actun Tunichil Muknal). Gumbo Limbo is very close to this site.
Christine and I stayed at Gumbo Limbo just a few days ago. We had an excellent time! The hosts, Mike and Jenny were more than accommodating and very friendly. The rooms are not really cabins, but more like separate hotels in themselves! They are very spacious, and include a big main room with multiple beds, and a large bathroom too. Everything about Gumbo Limbo was a great experience. The food was also delicious (dinner ~$20USD/person), and their staff serves local favorites with expertise and are very talented!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place in Belize!!!!!!!

Posted Apr 15, 2013
My wife and I stayed at the Gumbo Limbo and were absolutely impressed. We were treated like family from the moment we arrived!!!! we would recommend this establishment to anybody!!! great place