Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Kumiko from Orlando, fl

Room with a view

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel situated right on the beach in Central San Pedro. Our suite was spacious, with a full (small) kitchen, living/dining room, bedroom and bathroom. The hotel has 3 floors but no elevator, so the bellman will need to carry the luggage. At departure time, make sure to call well in advance to have your bags carried down. Ditto for using the hotel golf cart to take you to the San Pedro air strip. Despite "reserving" the car the day before and reminding the front desk clerk 30 minutes before, our ride never showed up and we nearly missed our flight.
5 out of 5
by Ruth from Columbus, OH

Amazing resort!

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
After an adventurous drive in, we arrived at Hidden Valley Inn. Gorgeous setting, lovely layout with rooms in separate cabanas. Loved the pool area and hot tub. The Inn has miles of private hiking trails, including several amazing private waterfalls. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Staff is very friendly and committed to making sure you enjoy your stay. They arranged a tour to Caracol for our group of 3 with a private guide from the hotel, and even helped us arrange a tour with a different tour company for the day after we left the hotel. Highly recommended (but make sure you rent a 4 wheel drive SUV to get there!)
5 out of 5
by Mike from SF Bay Area

Fantastic Lodge with Outstanding Service!

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed July 3rd - 4 nights with no rain during rainy season. Luxury jungle lodge sits among pine & palm trees on a mountain with rain forest a walk below. Temperature’s more comfortable than lower in the valley. We choose basic room - large, nicely furnished. Fine service: 1) Greeted at doorstep, everyone addressed us by name; 2) Decorated room: towels folded into kissing swans, flower petals on bed, handmade card; 3) Kept generator on so we could take late night Jacuzzi; 4) Gave us Walkie-Talkies to hike their 90 sq. mile property & sent someone to check we were OK when we didn’t return by dark; 5) I lacked water shoes for the ATM cave so manager Wayne (co-manages with wife Britt) lent me his shoes (!); 6) Gave me anti-itch cream without asking when I was scratching, 7) Asked what we wanted for dinner (cheeseburger/me, lobster/wife), 8) Wayne & Britt’s hospitality permeate the resort: engaging, fun, and their staff share the spirit: Andy (waiter), Tito (bar), Siomara (front desk)… with 12 rooms felt like royalty. Location’s remote, few food choices , we included breakfast & dinner: excellent food! No charge to add items to continental breakfast. Dinner is 4-courses with 3 entrée choices. Unexpected delight? Hiking Butterfly Falls & Devil's Falls; we swam alone in the pools under the falls (think Tarzan movie)! If driving, rent 4WD: last 18 miles are unpaved logging road, worth the effort to get there!
5 out of 5
by Martin from Basel, Switzerland

Top location in a very nice and intressting area.

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
It is nice hidden place in a very intressting area. We enjoed the hiking an the hole Resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful remote setting

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
The property the inn sits on is amazing and we wished we had planned on a longer stay to take advantage of more of the hiking trails. The service, food, cottages all are lovely. We had our own car and while the roads into the lodge and Caracol are rough, everything was easy to find. The only negative things was there are a lot of mosquitoes on the trails so bring lots of bug spray.
5 out of 5
by Kimberley from Austin, TX

Hidden gem

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
While the road to Hidden Valley is long, and quite "adventurous", it's well worth the trip. It's a true hidden gem amidst the dense Belizean jungle, surrounded by trees, waterfalls, great hiking trails, bird watching, etc. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the hot tub under a star-filled sky with only the light of the full moon. Service staff was there when we needed them, though not overbearing. Make sure you stay there long enough to take advantage of the grounds. We mistakenly used it more as a hotel for our inland adventures (cave-tubing, ATM, ruins, etc.) but the inn itself is deserving of it's own full day or more of just wandering around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very quiet. Awesome scenery.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Very quiet and peaceful.
Cons: It's not close to any town/shopping, etc.
Location: if you want to hike wooded trails and see waterfalls, this is the place.
The road to the Inn is very bad. If driving in yourself, you need to have the appropriate vehicle. Make sure the rental company allows your vehicle to go off of paved roads. The staff was super friendly and efficient. The main building at the resort is a house that was converted and the rooms are free standing duplexes a short walk from the main building. When we arrived, we were greeted outside and given a short orientation on the resort and surrounding property. The rooms are nice. There is a phone and fireplace, but no TV or air conditioner. A ceiling fan makes sleep comfortable. The staff kept our room spotless. They also have a fireplace in each room with a stockpile of wood/kindling. This was a nice amenity as it got slightly chilly at night. There is a pool, screen porch, small lounge with reading material, bar, and dining area. 7200 acres of land to explore on foot or by vehicle. Butterfly Falls is amazing and worth the hike. You can swim in the pool at the bottom, but the water is spring fed so it’s a bit cold. You need to be in moderately good shape to go on the hikes. There are walking sticks at the entrances to most trails. I would recommend taking them as they help with all of the rocks/steps you need to navigate. The Cascade Trail is also highly recommended. It follows the river and has numerous primitive bridges across the water. Dining was very good. The chef knows what he is doing. Continental breakfast is othing special: yogurt, cereal, juice, a few piece
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serene setting but a terriblle driving conditions

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
Hidden Valley is located in the Mountain Pine Ridge. There are dozens of waterfalls on the property (all 20+mintue hike away once you drive to the trail head). I would have put the hotel near at least one of its many natural watering holes. The hikes are worth the effort. The Butterfly falls are stunning. You are very isolated here. The roads to hidden valley are treacherous and terrible. The hotel service was inconsistent, Sometimes it was amazing and other times it was disastrous. When we were checking out, we asked for help with our luggage 3 times before we decided to load it ourselves. However the bartender Tito was so nice and Tiffany was so sweet, that it was hard to give the service a bad rating. I would avoid the front desk lady Neidy. Her advice turned out to be always wrong and often misleading. For example, when I asked about the night hike, she said ".... some guests see jaguars..." We all know that would be extremely rare!!! and not something I would even mention to a patron. She also told us Caracol would be 3 hours away (one way), which is not true. etc etc The general managers Brit and Wayne were really nice. Hopefully they can breath life to the place, which was a bit drab in the evenings. This place overall was mignificant due to the serene setting and nice rooms. Most of the staff really did try very hard to show us a nice time and we enjoyed our time very much. I hope to one day return. A wonderful, unque place.
4 out of 5
by Tom Ross from Indiana

Great Inn too far away from real roads!

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels
Would never drive three hours down dirt path to hotel again.