Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: The food prices were high by Belize standards and the portions were very large. Both could be reduced proportionately, that's my only suggestion.
Location:
We highly recommend that anyone traveling to Belize should spend a few days in the Cayo District. There was so much to do and Ka'Ana was the perfect base for our adventures. It was conveniently located near the Maya Flats Air Strip and the perfect distance outside of San Ignacio. By road, it takes a while to get anywhere in Belize so its all about enjoying the journey when going on adventures here. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the pool was absolutely lovely. The staff were wonderful! Everyone was extremely personable and knew us by name as of the first night. We ate dinner at the hotel every night. The food was delicious and the options in San Ignacio (10 minutes by taxi) were mediocre at best so we happily stayed at the hotel even though it was a bit pricier. Almost every night Ka'Ana had a special event, from a Mayan buffet to a make your own cocktail night to wine and cheese. We enjoyed each of them and it was little things like this that made Ka'Ana extra special. Overall we had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return to Ka'Ana some day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Favorite place in Belize

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Literally everything... staff, room, bed, pool, resort grounds, food, drinks, tours, wi-fi
Cons: no improvements needed
Location: San Ignacio downtown is a 10 minute car ride (US$10 taxi.) 10 minutes to Xunantunich. 2 hours to Tikal. Great location for Cayo activities
Ka'ana was, by far, the highlight of our trip to Belize. Of the three places we stayed, this is the only one that we plan on returning to and the only one we were sad to leave. My boyfriend and I stayed at the resort for 3 nights and we loved every minute of it. From the moment we arrived, we felt at ease and taken care of by the staff, who are all incredibly personable and pay attention to every detail. And the resort and room are so relaxing, comfortable, and luxurious that we even decided to just take our time to enjoy everything our last morning there instead of going on another excursion and having to leave early. We went on the Xunantunich and Tikal tours arranged through the hotel. Although more expensive than booking an outside company's group tour, they were well worth it. The private tours enabled the experiences to be tailored to our pace and we learned and experienced so much more because of it. Evenings at the hotel also offered fun experiences, including writing our names in Mayan hieroglyphs and making tortillas the traditional way. I can go on and on, but there are really not enough good things I can say about this property and staff that would give it justice, so I just say, if you're going to Belize, stay at Ka'ana and do not worry about a thing!
4 out of 5
by jose from Coral gables, Florida, Usa

Belize friends adventure teip

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Super nice people and service, small nice hotel, perfect for couples and family. Basically in the middle of nowhere but good to explore Mayan ruins, river waterfalls and caves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jose, Many thanks for your kinds words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to create lasting memories. Looking forward in hosting you again in the near future. Sincerely, Team Ka'ana
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

amazing and beautiful

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: all of the above
Cons: thicker curtains for light sleepers as sunrise is very early.
Location: San Ignacio area has a lot to do. Iguana conservation project, AJAW chocolate making,two very interesting Mayan ruins, cave exploring and spelunking
All staff were friendly and accomodating. Food was excellent and substitutions were allowed. Cozy and safe feeling whild exotic and interesting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Team Ka'ana, Hotel Management
Dear Madelyn, We are truly elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the adventures you were able to experience. Looking forward in hosting you again on your next vacation to Belize. Sincerely, Team Ka'ana
5 out of 5
by Carmencita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Perfect for our honeymoon

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the staff, the sunroom with a hammock overlooking the pool in our room!
Cons: The floors in our room felt a little unclean.
Location: Tikal, ATM Caves, Cave Tubing
We stayed at Ka'Ana for our honeymoon and we couldn't have made a better choice. The grounds were so peaceful, our room was superb (included a sunroom with hammock overlooking the pool), and the staff treated us like we were the only people in the world. From the moment we set foot in Ka'Ana we were greeted by our first names and were consistently greeted that way. Our room wasn't quite ready so we were taken up to the beautiful bar for a welcome drink. In about 20 minutes we were told our room was ready and were walked over by Somara who also gave us an orientation to our room. Each night a treat was left in our fridge after we arrived back to our room from dinner. The restaurant staff always asked us how our day was and what we had planned for the next day. We would arrive to our room with a list of things to know to get ready for our next day adventure. We did not book daily excursions through the hotel but it is possible. The convenience of booking thru the hotel comes with a price of course :) We opted to do a private dining experience on our last night and the staff set up a beautiful dinner for us on the yoga deck. Hibiscus flowers and candles lined our path and we enjoyed a delicious dinner under the stars and to the sounds of crickets. It was a perfect way to end our stay! The menu is delicious. We had breakfast and dinner at Ka'Ana each day. The menu is limited but they are more than happy to let you order off the bar and lunch menu during dinner. The pool is
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from Texas

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Incredible resort! Luxury without being in a massive resort
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Suzanne, Thank you kindly for your warm words. Sincerely, Team Ka'ana
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very lovely place but...

Posted Mar 5, 2016
This is a beautiful place. The room is lovely and the night time treat is a great touch. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My only negative is that they way overcharge for the trips and driving services. They are more expensive than New York City!! I understand what it means to pay for service but getting fleeced is not ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Excellent boutique hotel near the Mayan ruins

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Staff are excellent, very friendly and professional, property is an oasis and beautifully designed with good amenities. Organized private tour
Cons: High season rates over inflated and pool is too cold
Location: Visit Tikal in Guatemala, chocolate making and other Mayan ruins, hotel has great local knowledge and will give you good advice
Wonderful quality location with very service oriented staff that was excellent. We felt very well taken care of, the rooms are well appointed and have nice authentic touches. Pros are the nice gardens, staff, amenities and the overall general quality. Cons are the very inflated rates for any nights in season (questionable if really worth double for a standard suite room) otherwise was excellent and would highly recommend this hotel.