Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
This is a very nice resort. I went with my two daughters for lobster fest 2016. It's a 10 minute drive to the village and the front desk called the taxi for us. It's 5 minutes from the airstrip and the hotel provided a free shuttle to and from. We had an ocean front room. The beach was so private. The restaurant serves delicious authentic food. I'm ready to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Forest, CA

Great hotel close to Placencia.

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Room, staff.
Location: Placencia, Rumfish restaurant was great.
Great staff and great rooms, recently upgraded. Nice pool and nice bar and restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from panama

Excellent hotel.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
This is a great hotel. The staff Are excellent. The room is very nice and a good bathroom. Our only problem was noise from neighboring Americam/Canadian guests in other rooms/suites. The beach is small but well kept. The restaurant is good except the emphasis is on fish and I font eat fish so a few more other options would be good. I wound definitely recommend this hotel. The pool is wonderful and very well maintained for Central America. If ever we are back on Belize this would be where I would stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: proximity to beach, pool, staff. Love Sweet Mama's next door at Roberts.
Cons: Rooms vary in condition. Our A/C didn't work and took two days to fix. This should have been fixed prior to arrival.
Location: Isolated/secluded. Inconvenient and costly transport to town. Cabs are sporadic in off season. Golf carts are expensive and should be minimal cost.
overall good. felt a bit trapped w/distance from town and tourist pricing on golf carts and food. housekeeping staff was awesome. offseason so very quiet. we were very disappointed that our room air conditioning was broken when we arrived and we had to stay in a lesser room 2 nights to get it fixed. It was the weekend and I understand that but, the room was empty and should have been fixed before we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Superb people at the hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
We left our stress behind as we enjoyed the beauty of Placencia, pampered by the wonderful staff who met our every need.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver

Bugs bugs and more bugs! Also known as sand fleas!

Posted May 5, 2015
I spent three days sailing and camping on beaches with few bites and only Mosquitos at that. Then spend the money on a nice room but it was ridden with sand fleas. I counted over 80 on my person after sleeping the first night there and they were blistered!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Excellent rooms, great view

Posted Mar 31, 2015
We had a great room with a beatiful view. We stayed only one night after returning from a sailing trip. The restaurant is very good. The beach is fairly eroded, and the pool is small. However the room is very comfortable and overall very pleasent. Recommended for a shor stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Rooms were great, nice ocean view, good staff, you can even drink the water. I was told that is more pure than in Alaska.. Restaurant has good food. Golf carts available to ride into town. Wish we had more time to spend in Placencia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Conveniently located near Moorings

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The staff were very personable and helpful.
Cons: I was disappointed in the beach, very sea-weedy.
Location: Lots to do...dine at many restaurants nearby, take a bike hike, go to Placencia, have a gelato at Tutti Fruiti there, go on a variety of tours
Staff were very accommodating. Bicycles were available for the easy four mike ride into Placencia, or going the opposite direction to Maya Beach. The pool was lovely and we enjoyed the tours from the resort, one to the Monkey River to see the howlers and another to the Mayan ruins and the cocoa farm. The Moorings was right across the street, easy to access for our catamaran tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Hang out and be lulled by waves 24 hrs

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: everything but the beach
Cons: some work on the beach and definitely doing something with seaweed during the time it gets all over
Location: several restaraunts
Great place, great staff, beach is quite eroded and does not look like pictures in the least. Sea grass or seaweed was all over but everyone said this was just a couple of weeks per year when the winds blew a certain way--unfortunately it was like this all week not just at Laru Beya but really all over the peninsula. Some of the hotels at least moved it out of the way, removed it for the day, etc., but this one did not. Because the sea was so choppy, it was difficult to see through the water--snorkeling etc. could not be done unless you took a rough ride out to the cayes.Several very good excursions are offered and we took advantage of. With a golf cart it is easy to get around the entire peninsula. The pool, staff, restaurant, suite, were all fabulous!