Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Loved it!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: It was very relaxing and was exactly what we were looking for in a vacation hotel.
Cons: I can't think of anyting.
Location: Boating, jet skis, kayaking, fishing, diving, snorkeling, restaurants...
The hotel, staff, bar and location were wonderful. When I return to Belize I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Small quiet hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Location, low key, clean, safe surroundings.
This was our second stay at Mata Rocks. We like the smaller size of the hotel and the convient bar on site. No restaurant but a decent one next door and Robin's Belizean BBQ across the street. They pay taxi both ways from the airport. A taxi to town for dinner is $5 US each way. Great fishing and diving in the area. Outfitters will pick you up at the Mata Rocks dock. Their beach is very small with much seaweed. Nice pool but no umbrellas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice hotel with a laid-back feel.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Small and low key. Great friendly staff. Nice bar hut where breakfast also served.
Cons: The shower was a problem - long wait for hot water and not much pressure.
Location: Pick-ups off the dock for snorkelling and other trips. Hidden Treasure restaurant nearby was excellent.
Enjoyed my stay and the very pleasant staff there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Friendly place

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Quaint. The staff was ready to help set up all excursions.
Location: The Mayan ruins tour was very good if you are interested in that type of thing. It also included a good breakfast, lunch and beverages.
I chose this hotel for three reasons based on previous reviews. #1. Price; it was a good value but not cheap. #2. Free continental breakfast; coffee, fruit and toast/rolls. This was better than nothing but great. #3. Free use of bikes; this worked out very well for my husband and myself since we are very experienced bicyclists. Because of the bikes were able to avoid renting a golf cart. The bikes are old but well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Cons: Should include more things at breakfast, some jam and cheese would be great.
A very very nice hotel, beach front, small but super comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cold State

Small,quiet beachfront hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: I liked the location. Close enough to town to walk on the beach but far enough away that it was quiet.
Cons: There was no shade to sit in outside, esp. on the beach. The only shade was at the bar where there was usually someone sitting who smoked.
Location: Dive shops nearby, brisk half hour walk to town on beach. Only water activities are by tours and expensive.
You can tell this hotel is old but very well maintained. The rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny, had to stand in shower to close the door. It was very clean and the grounds are well kept. We were in a ground floor room and the upstairs rooms may have been larger. The staff tries to be helpful and are always very nice. Pool was nice and well maintained. Not big enough for kids. The bar favors beer drinkers, mixed drinks were very expensive. (Feel that people staying with them should have been given a discount) We also got extremely bit up by mosquitoes or something, could have been the time of year. They say you can drink the water but it is horrilble. They provided a small fridge but could have used a microwave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macon, Georgia

Honeymoon

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Enjoyed our stay for 5 nights. Wonderful beachfront views, welcoming staff and pleasant management. They made every request and was at our beckoning call. True relaxation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel next to the beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017
This is a small, but nice resort on the beach in a quiet area south of town. Staff is very friendly and the bar serves good drinks. There is no restaraunt on the property, but there are some very close by. Many of the rooms overlook the pool and beach, and it's easy to get to know fellow travelers due to the setup. It's about a 20 min walk to downtown straight up the beach, so you can be around all the action easily. This is a few-frills resort, but has everything you need to have an enjoyable vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel, right on the beach, very clean.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location was good, it's a bit of a hike to town but the hotel provides bicycles, which was fun.
Cons: This is SO minor, but the mini-blinds in our room were broken (and looked like they had been for a long time), so it was impossible to close them.
Super-comfy beds, quiet, just what we were looking for. Great balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice little quaint beach oasis

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: The modern-look and cleanliness. The staff was extremely pleasant.
Cons: N/A
Location: A bit out of the ways, but manageable with a golf cart rental. A popular way of transportation around the island.
We chose this hotel as a alternative option after our first choice was over-booked and we had to find a new place. Although this hotel was on the other end of the small beach town, it was quite the surprise. It was very nice, very clean, directly on the waters with a wonderful beach bar and pool to accompany giving you a breath-taking view. The fact that it was on the opposite side of the town was nice, because we were able to come back to the room and have peace and quite after roaming the island all day. So it was a good enough distance from the main area and towns' bars. In this area, its a very popular activity to ride the island in a golf cart, and the price is very cheap so it made getting around the small island quick, easy all while having fun. I would definitely chose to stay here again, as a traveler, we felt most safe knowing that the hotel adds the extra sense of security by keeping a guard at the street entrance of the hotel.