Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
The staff is excellent, the room We stayed in was very small and the mattress was uncomfortable an very old but the bedding was nice and clean. The continental breakfast is similar to all the food we had, lacking in flavor and choice but edible. They should buy a new toaster:). The outside of the hotel is very well maintained and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, VA

Very clean hotel away from hustle and bustle.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: It was located away from hustle and bustle and was quiet. The sound of the waves lapping the beach was very soothing. The breakfast was nice.
Cons: A longer happy hour.
Location: The hotel was close enough to shopping, but far away enough to be quiet.
Had an enjoyable stay. The hotel was very clean and had security which made us feel safe. It was within walking distance of San Pedro and bicycles were provided for use by guests. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bar and hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Not to many people.
Location: location was close to many restaurants
We had a nice and relaxing stay. Tours were easy to sign up for at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver, BC,Canada

Quiet boutique hotel right on the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Location: Dive shops, snorkelling tours will pick you up from the wharf in front . The Baker, groceries, restaurants are walking distance.
This small (17 rooms) hotel is just far enough away from San Pedro to be quiet and yet we walked to restaurants and to pick up groceries. You can borrow a bike or rent a golf cart to drive the 10 min to town (we did both and they are great options depending on your needs) We stayed almost 3 weeks with kitchenette; every room has a beautiful ocean view, but spring for the upper floors with balcony if you like to sit outside with your coffee or wine. Not that you can't do that from the pool deck, but it's not as private. A light continental breakfast is included which filled the gap. The staff is so friendly and it's kept very clean. Great restaurants are available in any price point, be sure to ask the girls at the bar, they have a list and will make reservations for you. We swam off the wharf out front but the pool was great to have too. Don't worry too much about the seagrass problem...we didn't let it spoil our trip.... Staff organized a private tour for us to the mainland, we flew to Belize City municipal airport (which is a cheaper flight) and a guide picked us up in an air conditioned SUV for a nice day visiting the Belize Zoo (got licked by a jaguar called Junior) Howler Monkey Sanctuary and Altun Ha ruins. What a day! You can have private snorkelling tours also if you don't want to go with the big groups. We used Ecologic Divers for our diving experience and they seemed professional , 4 people to a dive master which was great. We would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing hotel on the beach.

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Lovely staff! Great location with the beach, pool and bar. Made for a very relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun time at Mata Rocks

Posted Dec 23, 2015
We had a great time at Mata Rocks. The staff is nice and very helpful. The room was clean and AC cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great experience in San Pedro!

Posted Nov 30, 2015
We had a wonderful time at Mata Rocks. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and well maintained. The resort was about 20 minutes from downtown walking or 10 minutes using bikes, which Mata Rocks provides for free. There are great local cuisine options for food nearby, and it was a blast hanging around the Squirrel's Nest (the Mata Rocks pool bar) talking to guests and the staff. The hotel is right on the beach and has a dock for swimming. The staff will schedule excursions for you as well, which makes things really easy. If you're looking for something between a rental and a large resort, Mata Rocks is a great option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nor-Cal

On the beach

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Central location in San Pedro,
Cons: Have the local neighbor bring their dog inside at night so the barking would stop.
Location: This is a water sports island, if you aren't in it, you can sit and admire it.
Clean second floor room with ocean view. Quiet A/C. Golf cart and bike rental to get into town on site. We got picked up at the hotel dock by local scuba tour boat, and visited Hol Chan, to see a plethora of corrals, hundreds of bright fish, sea turtles, nurse sharks, and spotted Rays, all in about ten feet of warm water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Airdrie, Canada

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Right on the beach
Cons: the beach gets a lot of weed but staff try to keep it clean and do a pretty good job at it. Nothing the hotel can do about weeds as it is all the way
Location: The location is a bit south of the main part of town so about a 20 minute walk along the beach. Taxi ride one way is $5US so not too bad.
Really liked the hotel and staff. The hotel is small so you get to meet a lot of people. Staff are great and keep the grounds as clean as possible.Drawback was the weeds on the beach and the color of the water looked uninviting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurants were close by.
Cons: Have two employees working. One at the office and one at the bar. Shouldn't have same person doing both jobs.
Location: It was a 30 minute walk to downtown on the beach. if you walk along the street it will take around 45 minutes. Can rent a golf cart or taxi also.
The fishing trip with the guide was fun. We caught several fish and the guide cooked them for us. Water was clean and pretty out in the boat. At the hotel water was brown with a lot of stinky seaweed.