Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

San Pedro Vacation

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Cons: Seagrass
Overall, great experience at Mata Rocks. The hotel was about 10 min drive to town. Great use of free bikes. Enrique was an absolute pleasure!!! The rooms look exactly as posted online. My only complaint, the seagrass and the smell. The pictures of the beach do not match what is online; HUGE let down. I understand Mata Rocks can't control nature, staff did clean up beach every morning, but I expected to atlas be able to access ocean ... unfortunately I wasn't able too. In all, I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice location, Old but clean facility

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Recommend to book any tours through the office. The rate is better and no hassle. The building was old so there were some issues during our stay but the maintenance guys are very smart and quick to take care of the problems. And those guys were working very hard all day long and very friendly. The hotel location was not too far from town but don't get too many cars and people. If walk along the beach to the town, it takes 35-40min. Small bar by the beach was the joy place to have breakfast and conversation with other guests. Only thing I wasn't pleased were the owners were there but they were totally ignored the guests and I didn't see they were talking to none of us, not even greetings. Also the local woman in the office was kinda like, "please go away~" attitude, whenever I had something to ask or needed. The manager was very nice and the person to get information you need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Staff were great. Small friendly resort well

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: ?
Location: Plenty of half day and day trips you can plan and book through the hotel.
Staff were great. Small friendly resort well designed. Room had all the essentials,was simple and clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, very quiet hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Great views if you get the ocean front suites which aren't really that much bigger than the regular rooms you just get a kitchenette in the suites. Great view from your bed! Very quiet hotel perfect for rest and sleep. No events at the hotel, you have to leave the hotel grounds to find fun or food. Exceptional staff! Sheriyln (bartender), Nelson' Manuel and Irma were all so very nice and helpful!! I would visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Loved it!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: It was very relaxing and was exactly what we were looking for in a vacation hotel.
Cons: I can't think of anyting.
Location: Boating, jet skis, kayaking, fishing, diving, snorkeling, restaurants...
The hotel, staff, bar and location were wonderful. When I return to Belize I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Small quiet hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Location, low key, clean, safe surroundings.
This was our second stay at Mata Rocks. We like the smaller size of the hotel and the convient bar on site. No restaurant but a decent one next door and Robin's Belizean BBQ across the street. They pay taxi both ways from the airport. A taxi to town for dinner is $5 US each way. Great fishing and diving in the area. Outfitters will pick you up at the Mata Rocks dock. Their beach is very small with much seaweed. Nice pool but no umbrellas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice hotel with a laid-back feel.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Small and low key. Great friendly staff. Nice bar hut where breakfast also served.
Cons: The shower was a problem - long wait for hot water and not much pressure.
Location: Pick-ups off the dock for snorkelling and other trips. Hidden Treasure restaurant nearby was excellent.
Enjoyed my stay and the very pleasant staff there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Friendly place

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Quaint. The staff was ready to help set up all excursions.
Location: The Mayan ruins tour was very good if you are interested in that type of thing. It also included a good breakfast, lunch and beverages.
I chose this hotel for three reasons based on previous reviews. #1. Price; it was a good value but not cheap. #2. Free continental breakfast; coffee, fruit and toast/rolls. This was better than nothing but great. #3. Free use of bikes; this worked out very well for my husband and myself since we are very experienced bicyclists. Because of the bikes were able to avoid renting a golf cart. The bikes are old but well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Cons: Should include more things at breakfast, some jam and cheese would be great.
A very very nice hotel, beach front, small but super comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cold State

Small,quiet beachfront hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: I liked the location. Close enough to town to walk on the beach but far enough away that it was quiet.
Cons: There was no shade to sit in outside, esp. on the beach. The only shade was at the bar where there was usually someone sitting who smoked.
Location: Dive shops nearby, brisk half hour walk to town on beach. Only water activities are by tours and expensive.
You can tell this hotel is old but very well maintained. The rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny, had to stand in shower to close the door. It was very clean and the grounds are well kept. We were in a ground floor room and the upstairs rooms may have been larger. The staff tries to be helpful and are always very nice. Pool was nice and well maintained. Not big enough for kids. The bar favors beer drinkers, mixed drinks were very expensive. (Feel that people staying with them should have been given a discount) We also got extremely bit up by mosquitoes or something, could have been the time of year. They say you can drink the water but it is horrilble. They provided a small fridge but could have used a microwave.