Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Relaxing and beautiful retreat

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Quiet and beautiful resort with the friendliest staff and best food on the island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best resort on Ambergris Caye

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Matachica was everything it was supposed to be. Great facility and grounds. Extremely friendly and courteous staff who went out of their way to make everything as hassle free as possible. Can't say enough good things about it. We'll definitely be going back there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the property was what we expected and more!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: the authenticity
Cons: na
Location: far from town
The staff was great and very accommodating . The property was better than what the website showed. They had so many details in the decor just enough but not overwhelming. the only negative was it was a long water taxi to town:(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

literally paradise

Posted Nov 21, 2015
If I could stay at this hotel everywhere I went around the world this would def be the place I would stay at! The staff is very friendly and they remember everyone by their 1st name and wear smiles all day long. The rooms are perfectly cozy. I don't know how but THE BEDS ARE HEAVEN. The food at the hotel and Belize is amazing and I definitely and have to come back to this country and this hotel. Any review you see about this hotel and how amazing it is it 100% true. I recommend this place to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Matachica Style

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
It was a wonderful resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Off the beaten path, staff super hospitable! Mambo resturant is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Remarkable! Truly a "getaway" vacation!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The relaxed, get-away-from-it-all atmosphere. And all the folks who helped make my daughter and I feel special the whole time.
Cons: A slightly more powerful air conditioner. Otherwise, they bent over backwards to line us up with whatever we asked for.
Location: Pool, bikes, boats on site. Plus a short boat ride to town. The staff arranges any type of adventure trip you want (zip lines, Mayan ruins, caves),
Everyone, and I mean everyone, was fantastic! We wanted to get away from the crowds and the lines and the towering resort communities. They treated us like we were special, from the cart waiting for us at the airport, to the boat ride to the cabins, to the margarita waiting for us when we got off the dock, to the fact that they called us by name the whole time, to arranging personalized tours, to the gourmet meals, to the genuine towel artistry of the women who made up the rooms, to the choice of music, to the hugs when we left and the cart ride to the airport again. And when I talked to the people who worked there, so many have been there for years, and the guests had returned year after year. This says a lot to me! Everyone said they enjoyed working there, and that employers were really, really good to work for. I could sense a good sense of ethics and mutual respect between the owners and the staff there, no matter what position they held. These folks deserve the highest marks available! I'd list their names, but I'm sure I'd leave someone out, and I wouldn't want to slight any of them. "Mr. Stuart"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Manachica Resort and Spa

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The staff was the best ever! I can't say enough about how welcome each of them made us feel. They remembered us by name and went above and beyond.
Cons: A/C in the bathrooms would be a huge improvement.
Location: There is nothing close to the hotel, very secluded. Must take hotel boat or water taxi on a 15/20 minute ride to town.
All casitas are close to the beach. The staff was excellent and catered to every wish. Greeted us upon arrival and departure by name with drink in hand. The rooms had plenty of cool air but the bathrooms were very hot, no A/C in the bathrooms. The food was excellent and beautifully presented and delivered to the table. Very clean large pool with plenty of lounge chairs to accommodate every guest with soft beach towels for everyone. No TV's or phones in the room, lobby had movies and a TV for anyone to use. Work out room was nice but no A/C. Spa not open every day, prior arrangements must be made. Desk personnel were very helpful in booking excursions. Beautiful hotel but rather far from town, can catch hotel boat when picking up people from the airport or take water taxi. If you want beautiful, quiet seclusion, this is your place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Secluded paradise

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Just got back from an amazing trip to Matachica and I can't wait to return. It's secluded and peaceful with everything you could want. We loved going out on the kayaks, soaking up the sun on the dock lounge beds, and taking boats into San Pedro at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Wonderful experience

Posted Jul 5, 2015
This was our first visit to Belize. The resort was beautiful, the food was excellent, and the staff was very professional and helpful. We highly recommend it.