Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wichita, United States of America

Perfect secluded get away

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Everything was perfect, from the cold frozen drink waiting at our arrival, to the quiet, secluded, air conditioned hideaway. Very peaceful and quiet. Staff was amazing and attentive. English spoken fluently. Premium linens and bath accessories. If you are looking for a lively night life atmosphere or a family with kids kind of place--this is NOT it! Perfect, quiet, peaceful place for honeymoons and anniversaries. Kayaks, paddle boards, sailboats, life vests, and snorkeling gear provided free of charge and the barrier reef was less and 1/2 mile from the beach. Beautiful coral reefs and tropical fish. We snorkeled for three days and never saw the same thing twice! Water never got over 5 ft deep and the current was mild so I felt very comfortable as a beginner snorkeler. My photos can't do the resort justice. Visit their website--their photos reflect exactly what you will find when you arrive. Exquisite!
Cons: Having to leave (ha ha!). My husband did have trouble with mosquitoes at dusk but each room was provided with bug spray that was very effective. Cruiser bikes were provided but the road behind the resort was unpaved, full of potholes and swampy but that's not the resorts fault. Stick with the provided water taxi to get to San Pedro town.
Location: Secluded location. Scuba, snorkeling, swim with the sharks, cave tubing, zip line, rain forest & ancient ruins excursions available through resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sugar Land, United States of America

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Romantic get-away, secluded from the hustle and bustle with breathtaking views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

This resort was for sure a slice of paradise!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: The privacy of the casitas, the comfort of the rooms the restaurant ... the overall island vibe you get from the moment you arrive, you feel welcome!
Cons: no complains
Location: renting a golf cart to visit the island, snorkeling, lots of water activities... shopping
The room is not jus a room is a casita, with a large family room a nice bedroom and an awesome bathroom. The staff offers the most superior service and this place is a true romantic getaway! The restaurant has an excellent menu, the food quality was outstanding and presentation out of a magazine! This place is magnificent!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Best vacation!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Awesome staff, best drinks, great food and wonderful views.
Cons: I wouldn't change anything about this place! It's perfect!
Location: Snorkeling, Diving, Golf Cart rentals etc
My husband and I were here for a week and we loved this place!!(looks better than in pictures) Beautiful views, amazing rooms with alot of character and most importantly great staff. The people there are so nice and welcoming. Amazing drinks at the bar, delicious food and overall perfection. I wouldn't change a thing about this place. Thanks to all the staff members at Matachica Resort&Spa! We will definitely come back here! You guys are rocking it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bedford, TX

40th Anniversary

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Mosquito control
Location: Shark Alley and Hol Chan snorkel trip, Snuba with Discovery tours and day trips into the city.
My husband and I didn't get to celebrate our anniversary as we planned this year due to the death of his mother the day our whole family was leaving on a Hawaii vacation. I have to say though that plan Belize was a fabulous choice. It didn't include the whole family, just us. The atmosphere, the staff, the food everything was perfect. This was our first trip to Belize and we will definitely be back. Matachica is an incredible place. If you are looking for night life, not to much but if you are looking for good food, incredible staff, fun day expeditions ( they arrange everything) and relaxation this is the place to go. This was a short trip so we didn't get to do everything we wanted. Just another reason to go back. Our children surprised us with massages from the Spa. What can I say, they were heaven. Thank you Matachica for making our 40th anniversary something special.
4 out of 5
by Belal

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was good. It is good to note that all prices are in US and not Belize. The stay was expensive so be prepared for that. There are no nearby stores or restaurants. You will have to get everything for the Hotel, which has it's upsides and downsides.
5 out of 5
by pamela from Cleburne, Texas

Peaceful vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Matachica exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The food was AMAZING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tarpon Springs FL

Great hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Rooms are just steps from the beach. Staff was very eager to please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Remote, relaxed, beautiful, superior pool

Posted Aug 1, 2016
My young adult daughters and I enjoyed for splendid days. There's tons to do and see on and under the water. Although matachica is remote there are frequent Water Taxis or borrow bikes and write five miles to town. All staff were incredibly nice and helpful. Coffee and tea available all day. The Mambo restaurant is excellent!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Relaxing Romantic Resort

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Top notch service, from presenting us with welcome drinks after the free transfer from the airport to the resort dock to learning our names and using them throughout the stay. We were upgraded to a two bedroom two bath suite and it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Worked out well since I was traveling with a friend. Only downside of the resort is it's really geared towards couples and we felt a little out of place.