Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow, ID

If you can stay here, do it!!!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
We stayed for three days and it was magical! The whole staff is commited to making sure your stay is the perfect vacation experience. Elmer was so kind and wonderful to help us arrange it shuttle from Belize City to the resort. He also helped us to arrange our day trip to Tikal and it was seamless! The food was incredible! If you can stay here, do it!!! The jungle was peaceful and almost surreal!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely facility in natural setting, superb staff!

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
The facility itself was beautiful in its natural setting and the food was excellent, but by far the best feature is the wonderful staff. Every single person went out of their way to see to our comfort and needs, whether preparing food specially for our various diet requirements, assisting us with tour and travel arrangements, or any other request we had. When a member of our party sprained her ankle, they immediately moved her to a more accessible cottage. When another needed to change his transportation reservation to the airport, they arranged the new transfer and got the previous one cancelled without penalty. The lodge also has interesting demonstrations of local culture and cuisine. All in all, they made our stay a refreshing and relaxing vacation as well as an adventure.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oasis in the jungle

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay. A little out of the town (about 2km) it is the middle of the jungle with separate accommodation areas. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and appear to be great with kids. They run tours for those interested as well as cooking classes. Many of these are expensive. The rooms are spacious although can be a little noisy when kids are running around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

It is serene, beautiful and tropical.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Service, lovely grounds, food, proximity to sights and activities. The owners were accommodating and helpful.
Cons: No AC....but it is the tropics. The owners were acommadating and helpful.
Location: Visit ruins by car or boat. Lots of bird viewing. see local life,.. visit north Belize too..like Orange Walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Great place for a real jungle experience.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Staff, Food, and Hotel grounds.
Cons: Air conditioners could be upgraded. Ours smelled.
Location: Convenient access to San Ignacio and lots of archeological sites. You could stay for weeks and not do everything.
Let me start by saying if you are looking for a posh, sterile, first world hotel experience, read no further, press the back button and choose another place to stay. You'll be miserable. If you're looking to stay in Belize and experience it, then this is the place. The rooms are fine for sleeping in. That's all you're going to do there. There is so much to do in the local area that you will only be in your room to sleep, shower, and change clothes. The rest of the time you're going to be out and about climbing Maya ruins, floating down a river, exploring the jungle, etc. Or, you're going to be in the lodge's restaurant eating some of the excellent food made with fresh, local ingredients and talking to other travelers. The grounds are like a miniature botanical garden with trails and things to explore. They make for a good morning walk. The staff is excellent, friendly, and very helpful. We only took one tour arranged by the lodge (we prefer to explore on our own) and the drivers and guide were friendly and knowledgeable. For people who like arranged tours you can't go wrong with one arranged by the lodge. We had originally planned to eat our meals while we were out, but the food is so good at the lodge we ate every breakfast and dinner there. So to wrap it up, no frills authentic jungle experience, great staff, great food. If this is what you want, look no further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Active lifestyle adventure

Posted Aug 25, 2016
This lodge provides clean eating three meals a day (and comfort food). This is important to many people who want to feel energized all day. The lodge looks exactly like it was advertised, no bells and whistles, except a pool and workout "hut". We enjoyed the nature trails that the owner Bart takes you on to point out Medicinal medicine growing on the property. The staff will put you on any tour you want. San Ignacio is a 10 minute walk where you can shop or visit a local market.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
the staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved this place!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: It's great value.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's off the beaten path, but easily accessible via taxi. Short ride to the market on Saturday and any of the tour agencies.
It's a great place to stay in San Ignacio - fairly priced and only a taxi ride away from the market (just 10 belize!). The staff was very friendly and helpful - our accommodation was always kept clean with fresh towels. I loved feeling like I was in the jungle with all the trees and plant life - highly recommend. It was exactly what we were looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice place in the jungle

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: They took great care of us the whole time, even during the hurricane!
Location: Visit the ruins, either in Guatemala (Yaxha ruins, Tikal ruins), or in Belize
This hotel is a great place in the jungle, and they are great at helping you set up tours to nearby attractions. The hotel is clean, the food is good, and the service is great.