Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jungle stay turned sad and grey

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Good and the bad Cons- old, dank cottages with atrocious lighting. Food was ehh. Some good some bad. Car got hit in parking lot, owner refused responsibility on his own property. Owner pulled up with SUV w/ trailer hitch last day that matched my damaged perfectly. Tried to get employees' husband to repair and he split costs. What a shister. Pros- staff was nice, grounds were nice except too close to town to see any good wildlife. Next to San Ignacio town. I would stay elsewhere. Better places down the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff but not a good value for the money

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The staff is great and the food pretty good. The beds are terrible, A/C weak, nothing to do on the grounds, the dining area hot, and was double the price paid at the other two (supremely nicer) places we stayed in BZ. Also, I didn't like the way the arrogant owner talked to his staff. Bathrooms had no space to set anything. Would be good for maybe one night. Otherwise, be ready for a backache and a huge bill!
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Reasonable accommodations

Posted Jul 5, 2015
It was OK, staff were very good chef Gloria does great dishes. There are lots of insects but this what you expect in the jungle life. Mike' place is a great adventure. Don't try the small waterfall pools waste of time and money.
4 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Tommy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Decent and fun staff but overreaching

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Quiet location, lots of birds and nature, lovely trees and gardens. Helpful staff.
Cons: Prices were high and really expensive for the tours that they pushed on you.
Location: 20 minutes from the city by walk or 5 by cab. Nice to go downtown and explore. The lodge is quiet and lots of birds for bird watching.
The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was not large and had no air conditioning. Somewhat cool at night (in late May/June) but be prepared. Nice pool and grounds overall. Property is a 20 minute walk into town. One thing to note is that it seems the hotel was really having some financial issues as every opportunity was pushing a sale, whether it was eating or doing a tour. Activity prices seemed quite high in comparison to other places.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staging Point for Adventure Tourism

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The meals were gourmet quality and prepared fresh everyday.
Location: Eco toursim, sightseeing ancient Mayan temples, water activities such as rafting, inner tubing and kayaking.
This hotel offers an excellent staging area for Eco tourism in the Cayo region of western Belize. The accommodations are clean and comfortable and the meals on site are excellent. The on site meal plan offers breakfast and dinner prepared fresh by the on site chefs. Most guest tend to spend there days offsite outdoors hiking or engaged in adventure tourism.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

nice quiet hotel

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: It was clean and quiet and not far from downtown
Cons: TV,hairdryers and an on site lounge with affordable drinks and a little entertainment
Location: Go to the downtown reastaurants and enjoy a few drinks at some of the sidewalk seating and watch the people go by.
Overall we were pleased with our stay.We go and do therefore we don't sit in the rooms much.Given that,we wished there was a Television to catch up on the local news.The lesser "hotels" downtown even had TV.There are no hairdryers for the ladies.Not one to trifle on small matters,the rooms are comfortable and very clean and the on site restaurant has excellent food although pricey at 20.00$ US per person for the evening meal.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia, USA

Nice "jungle" setting.

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: The tropical setting.
Cons: Put in a bar, or at least, sell beer. People on vacation expect this amenity. An inconvenience without it.
Location: Good location, easy to get to town. Plenty of tours, things to see and do.
Found it a very pleasant vacation. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good, easy to get to town and easy to arrange rides and tours. Room small but adequate.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Patricia from san francisco


Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful place! Gorgeous grounds! Staff were phenomenal! Food was top notch! And booking tours and transportation was a breeze. Thanks to all who created such a fantastic experience for us!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Great place!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Close walk/taxi ride to San Ignacio, food, grounds...loved it all!
Location: Tours to all the major attractions can be booked here and close to town/shopping
I just spent 8 days at Maya Mountain and it was exactly what I was looking for. Beautiful well maintained grounds and the whole staff was awesome. I booked several tours through them and couldn't have asked for a better experience and all the meals are freshly prepared and delicious. My economy room was small but a nice clean place to hang your hat. Would stay here again!