Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

It is serene, beautiful and tropical.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Service, lovely grounds, food, proximity to sights and activities. The owners were accommodating and helpful.
Cons: No AC....but it is the tropics. The owners were acommadating and helpful.
Location: Visit ruins by car or boat. Lots of bird viewing. see local life,.. visit north Belize too..like Orange Walk.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enestående

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Personalet og beliggenheden tæt ved junglen og byen San Ignasio
Dejligt roligt og spændende sted, personalet vil gøre alt for at hjælpe og sørge for et godt ophold.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Great place for a real jungle experience.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Staff, Food, and Hotel grounds.
Cons: Air conditioners could be upgraded. Ours smelled.
Location: Convenient access to San Ignacio and lots of archeological sites. You could stay for weeks and not do everything.
Let me start by saying if you are looking for a posh, sterile, first world hotel experience, read no further, press the back button and choose another place to stay. You'll be miserable. If you're looking to stay in Belize and experience it, then this is the place. The rooms are fine for sleeping in. That's all you're going to do there. There is so much to do in the local area that you will only be in your room to sleep, shower, and change clothes. The rest of the time you're going to be out and about climbing Maya ruins, floating down a river, exploring the jungle, etc. Or, you're going to be in the lodge's restaurant eating some of the excellent food made with fresh, local ingredients and talking to other travelers. The grounds are like a miniature botanical garden with trails and things to explore. They make for a good morning walk. The staff is excellent, friendly, and very helpful. We only took one tour arranged by the lodge (we prefer to explore on our own) and the drivers and guide were friendly and knowledgeable. For people who like arranged tours you can't go wrong with one arranged by the lodge. We had originally planned to eat our meals while we were out, but the food is so good at the lodge we ate every breakfast and dinner there. So to wrap it up, no frills authentic jungle experience, great staff, great food. If this is what you want, look no further.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Active lifestyle adventure

Posted Aug 25, 2016
This lodge provides clean eating three meals a day (and comfort food). This is important to many people who want to feel energized all day. The lodge looks exactly like it was advertised, no bells and whistles, except a pool and workout "hut". We enjoyed the nature trails that the owner Bart takes you on to point out Medicinal medicine growing on the property. The staff will put you on any tour you want. San Ignacio is a 10 minute walk where you can shop or visit a local market.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
the staff was great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved this place!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: It's great value.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's off the beaten path, but easily accessible via taxi. Short ride to the market on Saturday and any of the tour agencies.
It's a great place to stay in San Ignacio - fairly priced and only a taxi ride away from the market (just 10 belize!). The staff was very friendly and helpful - our accommodation was always kept clean with fresh towels. I loved feeling like I was in the jungle with all the trees and plant life - highly recommend. It was exactly what we were looking for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice place in the jungle

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: They took great care of us the whole time, even during the hurricane!
Location: Visit the ruins, either in Guatemala (Yaxha ruins, Tikal ruins), or in Belize
This hotel is a great place in the jungle, and they are great at helping you set up tours to nearby attractions. The hotel is clean, the food is good, and the service is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cool location in forest highlands

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: food was delicious
Cons: nets on windows against bugs/mosquitos; a complimentary shuttle to the town or airport. non-alcohol policy should be advertised in advance.
wonderful staff; excellent food; the best breakfast burrito ever weird "happy hour" with no alcohol - tea instead - owned by religious people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Laudrrdale, FL

AC not cooling!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
We were give the toucan room where the air conditioner did not cool the room properly 84 degrees. The checked the unit several times and it did not improve the situation. They recommended we wait for it to cool the room but after may hours no change. They said they would make another room available but when we tried to change there wasn't a room available. We tried finding another hotel to stay at but no rooms available. Lots of excuses but no solution until our last night when we moved into a room with a working AC. The staff was friendly and courteous with a good breakfast. I think the owners need to take the comfort of their guest more seriously.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Great jungle getaway

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights then left to find our room in next town had no AC so we came back for 2 more nights. Everyone was very nice Damion was extremely nice and helpful, also had breakfast with owner and he was delightful