Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved this place!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: It's great value.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It's off the beaten path, but easily accessible via taxi. Short ride to the market on Saturday and any of the tour agencies.
It's a great place to stay in San Ignacio - fairly priced and only a taxi ride away from the market (just 10 belize!). The staff was very friendly and helpful - our accommodation was always kept clean with fresh towels. I loved feeling like I was in the jungle with all the trees and plant life - highly recommend. It was exactly what we were looking for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice place in the jungle

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: They took great care of us the whole time, even during the hurricane!
Location: Visit the ruins, either in Guatemala (Yaxha ruins, Tikal ruins), or in Belize
This hotel is a great place in the jungle, and they are great at helping you set up tours to nearby attractions. The hotel is clean, the food is good, and the service is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cool location in forest highlands

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: food was delicious
Cons: nets on windows against bugs/mosquitos; a complimentary shuttle to the town or airport. non-alcohol policy should be advertised in advance.
wonderful staff; excellent food; the best breakfast burrito ever weird "happy hour" with no alcohol - tea instead - owned by religious people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Laudrrdale, FL

AC not cooling!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
We were give the toucan room where the air conditioner did not cool the room properly 84 degrees. The checked the unit several times and it did not improve the situation. They recommended we wait for it to cool the room but after may hours no change. They said they would make another room available but when we tried to change there wasn't a room available. We tried finding another hotel to stay at but no rooms available. Lots of excuses but no solution until our last night when we moved into a room with a working AC. The staff was friendly and courteous with a good breakfast. I think the owners need to take the comfort of their guest more seriously.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable lodge in the jungle-excellent service!!

Posted May 17, 2016
The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating! They are quick to fix anything and provide you with anything--whether its decaf coffee for your mom or suggestions on where to explore--this staff is amazing. The women in the kitchen even cut up our papaya for us and stored it in a tupperware in the fridge for us to enjoy after our long hike. Thank you for making our stay truly enjoyable, relaxed, and fun! Beautiful herb gardens and fresh tea everyday--we even loved their "happy hour" snacks they served in the evening! Thank you Maya Mountain Lodge!
5 out of 5
by Aziz from Castro Valley CA

Relax in jungle Eco hut

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing place, great customer care
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long beach, ca

Great resort hidden in the San Ignacio jungle!!

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Everything about our stay at Maya Mountain Lodge was fantastic!! We were greeted with fresh orange juice when we arrived and the resort staff, Elmer, Jose and Damian were all extremely friendly and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was wonderful! The rooms are above average and include the much appreciated air conditioning a private bathroom and plenty of linens. The atmosphere is a tropical jungle hideaway as there are individual thatched huts to stay in. They offer a pool with hammocks for relaxing, a herb garden and volleyball court. They also have two walking trails that begin at the resort. This resort is unique in that it offers special meals each night that correspond to the different ethnicities within Belize. Our favorite night was Mayan night were we had traditional Mayan food. We even met the owner of the resort who was very pleasant and made sure we were enjoying our stay. The only thing that would make this resort better would be if they served alcohol. Unfortunately it is a dry resort, although Jose makes a wonderful virgin pins colada! The staff does allow you to bring in your own alcohol and store it in the refrigerators, they just don't sell it. Lastly, the staff were very helpful in setting up tours and activities and they use the best guides in San Ignacio. Overall I would give this place a 4 star rating and I would definitely return!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Exceptional!

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: I felt like home surrounded with friends.
Location: The resort has a lot of exciting tours to offer.
Beautiful quiet place very close to town. Clean. Peaceful. Safe. The staff was friendly. Food was great.
4 out of 5
by Lori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

To far. 2hr drive from airport

Posted Apr 9, 2016
2hr drive from airport. The cost of the hotel shuttle was moe then the cost to stay at the hotel. Most of the excursion were to expensive. The facility itself was clean,staff good. Food good. I got a taxi into the near by town and had a good lunch. Place called Han-Nan's did some local attractions with my son. Much cheaper than what the lodge offered. We went to see the Iguanas exibit.