Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livonia, United States of America

Beautiful, well designed jungle resort.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Beautiful buildings, rooms and property
Cons: Would have liked real jungle trails to wander in
Location: Great location, not too far from San Ignacio to run in to eat better and affordable meals, also quite close to mountain pine ridge and it's things.
We really enjoyed our stay at Mystic River Resort. The rooms are excellent, plenty of space, high ceilings and fans really help keep off the heat. The paths between buildings are beautifully landscaped, and I'm sure more to come as time passes. The staff is friendly and helpful, aside from a couple issues. One, the cleaning staff left one of our cabin's door open when they were done making our friend uncomfortable. Now, they're remote enough, I really don't think it was an issue, but still. The Other issue was somewhat larger, the gentleman at the front desk said he would make reservations for us for our next and last night at the Belize Zoo. He said we were all set, when we got there the zoo wasn't even open because of a holiday. A little honesty "oops I forgot, I'll do it now" would have saved us a bit of trouble, but we managed. The food is ok, though like most jungle lodges it is quite overpriced, in fairness, they do need to staff and supply an entire kitchen for a few guests, it can't be easy! Being offseason, and also so soon after the hurricane, they were still cleaning up (looked beautiful!), but their walking trails currently consist of a road and a trail in disrepair, the trails could use some more work in my personal opinion, but maybe few people really want to walk off on trails in the jungle. Overall our experience was good, and the resort is only a half dozen years old, I'm sure it will just get better and better too.
5 out of 5
by Roy from Brighton

Great Jungle Getaway

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
A great little get-away in the middle of a rain forest. The staff are friendly and helpful, and there is abundant wildlife all around. Just don't expect air-con of superfast wi-fi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Remote jungle resort

Posted Sep 1, 2015
This would be an amazing place if it had airconditioning.However without air it was miserable.Also there was no wifi in the rooms.The only place to get wifi was in the outdoor dining area where you were eaten by insects.the wifi was poor to absent.The resort was only accessible via miles of rough dirt road.The was no way to make phone calls except via the owners permission.We were then charged 15 dollars American for her to call Expedia.we left after three days.Heat and bugs too much.Food amazing.Enviroment so beautiful.Staff first class.Needs to be advertised as remote jungle with limited access to outside world.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aus

Beautiful resort

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Staff are lovely. Food is great
Cons: Decrease costs of room and tours.
Location: Confined to resort but a lot to do for a price.
Lovely resort, on the expensive side but worth it. Animals are cute, very farm like. Went tubing down the river, so fun.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel and Great Service

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is amazing and the service is great! The hotel is a bit far from everything so going out for dinner in town is out of the question unless if you have your own car. The food at the hotel is amazing but everything including the excursions and food is pricey. Everything is totally worth it for the peace of mind and convenience. The food is amazing and the owner makes a lot of things fresh (example: yogurt and goat cheese). If you stay here expect to spend a lot of money, but it's worth it to get unconnected from life.
5 out of 5
by Kristina from Virginia

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
We had a wonderful, adventurous family vacation at Mystic River! The staff, guides and tours were outstanding, the accomodations and grounds were lovely and the food was delicious! I would definitely come back to stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Service

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels
I can't be more effusive in my praise of the Mystic River Resort. The place is clean and very comfortable. The food is fresh and creative. The guides are very knowledgeable and will tailor the tours to your interest. I couldn't recommend it any more highly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
by Arlene & Fred

Adventure and Relaxation

Posted May 27, 2012 on Hotels
We cannot say enough about the owners(Nadege & Tom) and staff at Mystic River Resort. All tours were with professional guides, food was fantastic, accommodations 1st class. Great way to spend a vacation in Belize.
5 out of 5
by Julie-Jason D

Jungle Paradise

Posted Apr 29, 2012 on Hotels
Within a day of booking our stay here, we knew this was going to be different than any other place we’ve stayed. By the following morning we’d already received an email from the owner Nadege opening up the lines of communication to help make planning our time there easy and effortless. Upon arriving, the attentiveness and friendliness continued and didn’t end even after we’d left. The pictures on the website easily sold us, but they don’t compare to actually being there – the grounds are absolutely gorgeous and you can tell that a lot of thought and effort went into creating this jungle paradise, while also maintaining its natural beauty. Our cabana was very comfortable and modern and had its own balcony overlooking the Macal River. We spent our day time doing some of the adventure excursions – cave tubing, ATM (a must!) and horseback riding – and Nadege arranged everything for us so that we could maximize our time in the area and have the best guides around (Ben was an amazing guide for anything cave related – he’s clearly passionate about this topic and has a lot of knowledge to share). Nadege and Tom clearly enjoy sharing their piece of the jungle with visitors and welcome you as they would family. We have never experienced hospitality like this and imagine we won’t again until our next visit to Mystic River.