Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great resort style hotel.

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Very relaxing quiet environment set amongst the coconut trees right on the waters edge. Loved the easy access to the reef from the hotel.
Cons: Mosquitoes but I am sure they are hard to control.
Location: Great access to the reef for diving and snorkeling. A little bit far from San Pedro but still very accessible if you want to go to town to shop/dine
Great room, we had the king bed suite which was very comfortable and cleaned everyday. The staff were great and very helpful in organizing day tours to the reef or to the mainland. The dive crew were exceptional and went above and beyond to ensure we had a good trip every time we went out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix


Posted Aug 17, 2016
Very nice resort, simple yet nice even after the hurricane the staff manage to create a relaxing atmosphere. Restaurant is unfortunately average but expensive. Simple dinner for two with a bottle of wine is easy $150. I think they need to up the quality and lower their prices and more guest would stay for dinner. Overall a good experience. We could live without the arrogance of the general manager who actually never did anything but stand around. Staff demeanor changed every time he showed up and not for the better.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio, tx

Just what we wanted!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Our cabana was steps from the water, surrounded by palm trees. A hammock on the porch provided comfort and a gorgeous view. The staff was exceptional, Risa at reception, Raul & Rafael in the bar/restaurant. Isadora provided an amazing massage on the beach. The room was beautiful. The AC was a little weak in our room, but it was still comfortable. My husband and I highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Joakim from Oslo

A little paradise

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay at a beautiful resort. A quick boatride away from San Pedro where you have restaurants, activities and shops. The staff at Portofino were very helpful and service minded for all our different needs and questions
5 out of 5
by patricia from Chicago

Best Vacation Ever!!!!!

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Everyone was extremely helpful. Place was tranquil and just stunning. Going back next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WP

Wonderful location reached by speedboat

Posted May 24, 2016
Top notch service, beautifully maintained property. Aimed at couples. First class service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

The facility was very intimate and sweet.

Posted Mar 2, 2016
From the time their staff pick you up in their boat, greet you with eucalyptus soaked hand towels and Rum Punch to the fresh flower petals on your bed relaxation sets in. We loved it. Nice pool, beach, hammocks. The best staff ever. Very clean and pretty. We will return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort da rinnovare e privo di spiaggia.

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Per noi che abbiamo alloggiato nelle cabate fronte mare è davvero bello sveglarsi con il mare ai pieni del letto, davvero bellissimo!
Cons: Maggiore cura nei dettagli e una rinfrescata generale. Decisamente da aumentare la qualità del cibo al ristorante e abbassare i prezzi!
Location: l'hotel è molto distante dal centro, e la strada da percorrere per arrivarci è per alcuni tratti prima di pavimentazione, un po' complicato.
Mi aspettavo di trovare una struttura recente e con la spiaggia, putroppo invece il resort è vecchiotto e la spiaggia è una lingua di sabbia, di fronte il mare non è bello come in altre zone. La camera è carina ma c'è in generale poca attenzione ai particolari: l'aria condizionata è decisamente vecchia e spara diretta sul letto, all'interno dell'armadio c'è cattivo odore e manca la porta del bagno (nelle zona wc!) La poca attenzione si nota in tutto il villaggio: la piscina è scrostata e non ci sono dei lettini prendi sole comodi a bordo vasca nonostante sia l'unica zona in cui prendere il sole delle 4 del pomeriggio, visto che la struttura del bar ristorante mette in ombra tutta la piccola spiaggia nel pomeriggio! Inoltre la zona all'esterno dell'area principale del resort è davvero deprimente, sporca e mal tenuta!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: It was clean and the staff could not do enough for you
Location: It is 6.5 miles from San Pedro. They have fishing, snorkeling, diving and zoo trips.
Portofino resort was a great place to stay for the quiet and personal service they give. It offered many excursions and the food was great. We will be going back again.