Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Decent hotel on Ocean front

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: the finish level, better casino,
Location: Old Belize is walking distance to the water taxis, nothing else to do in way of night life etc
Sea view restaurant breakfast was good, Calypso restaurant had good food, great servers and a view of the water about 25 ft away. Casino is sub par and overly intrusive in needing personal info etc. - no beaches worth mentioning in the Belize that we saw ie Caulker Caye and San Pedro. Caulker Caye was our favorite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Princess hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The customer service was horrible. We had the same breakfast everyday. The ATM in the lobby was the only one in hotel and it was out of service. My first three days movie theater and bowling alley was closed. We had to beg for towels and wash clothes. My sink was linking and no one came to fix it. We saw a rat by the pool. Overall will never stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
I had a great experience overall. One thing I would change is the same exact breakfast menu daily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta,ga

Had to leave next day.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Better food at on-site restaurant and better internet reseption. TV's that clear pictures.
Location: Nothing good. You could not walk to anything.
I was not informed that they had been hit with a hurricane. I checked in Thursday and checked out Friday. The pool was closed, the restaraunt Calypso was closed because it was half gone. The food at lunch in hotel was terrible and cold. I had and paid a taxi $30.00 to take me to an area that was closed until Wednesday.( I was suppose to leave Sunday). Only for the taxi to bring me back to the hotel. I paid that money and got nothing. I had to have hotel IT manager let me use his cell phone to call Delta airlines to change my flight. Because I could not use my cell phone or IPAD. tHE tv WAS SNOWY AT BEST. I was told I needed to contact you because reservation was through you. However, your web-site was not user friendly and I could not use my phone, nor was I going to pay international fees. The hotel personal were friendly and nice and said I could check out early without penalty. I had to again pay a taxi $30.00 to take me somewhere for dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

No beach, musty smell

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pool was being repaired, same boring menu at restaurant every day, musty/cigarette smell in lobby, we had to remind them 3 times in 6 days for a 3rd towel: we were 3 adults.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Pretty sub-par hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: didn't like much about this hotel.
Cons: well, practically everything: service, cleanliness, smell, small amenities like A/C.
Location: nothing to do nearby. walked around neighborhood and found a creole food place about 1.0 mile away.
If possible, avoid staying in Belize City. Not much to explore, not much to see, and this hotel is just not great. Felt like the room rate was far more than what was received. Not worth the money but evidently, not many other choices. And we mostly stay in hostels and cheaper hotels. Terrible sulfuric smell in lobby. Air conditioning didn't work in room. Front desk was extremely rude to us upon arrival. BUT breakfast is decent in morning (decent meaning there is food, there is coffee and tea, and you can eat as much of it as you'd like).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel, right on the water. Casino inside.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: A tad bit old
Cons: room was clean and nice but not inviting. Needed a blanket
Location: not much in Belize city but not far from the water taxi than can take you to other destinations. I wouldnt suggest walking alone or at night
I enjoyed the hotel and the casino was nice to play around it, most machines were quarter machines and you played 50 cents at the most at one time. Its right on the water, there are restuarants all around and inside. When we checked out there was a guard with a rifle standing by I assume for protection since there were lots of people checking in for a tournament. I was very apprehensive about staying in Belize city but this hotel made me feel good about it and kind of safe.
2 out of 5
by Leusi

I give this hotel a 2 star rate

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
I waited 4 hours to get my room, the room was dirty, the furniture was cracked, couch had a hole, and the walls were dirty. The door had multiple cracks that you can see when the sun was out; not safe at all. The hotel is suppose to be a decent hotel but I felt I was in a motel due to the circumstances of the room.
2 out of 5
by David from Arctic Bay Canada

2 star out of 10.

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
If you forget the stench of raw sewage as you stand in the lobby, you forget about the mold in the bathroom the place was ok. the owners of this hotel should take advantage of the cheap labor in this country and hire some maintenance staff. I would rate this hotel at a 2 star.The casino onsite was great, also the movie theater.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weird hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Hotel has a strange smell in lobby, off putting but whatever. There is also a casino with an armed guard if you're looking for entertainment. The hotel is next to an interesting park area that does not come alive until the sun goes down. Staff is friendly but timeliness is not of the essence. If you need a quiet place to stay this is not the hotel for you. The room is clean, bed is comfortable but the hotel had a night club that played music as loud as possible outside until 5:30 and in the club until 4:30am, all which can be heard from all of the rooms, was the worst when the music was being played outside. I needed a place to stay before heading to the airport. I would not stay here again for that purpose.