Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

We were downgraded

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The location and the pleasant dining room (opened on the beach)
Cons: Maintenance and service
Location: This hotel is on the beach at a long distance from anything (shops, etc)
We arrived a little earlier than the check in time and we had to wait. We had lunch in their lovely dining room on the beach and very good food we had. The service was also good. However, we had booked a room with sofa bed (not a standard one as we wanted a bigger room) but we got a small room, no sofa beds, things needed maintenance, specially in the bathroom. The hotel is nice, the location great, the staff tries to be nice (unless you object to something) but they need to be up to their commitments, giving the promised level of room, and in general maintaining their premises. So Expedia check with them before you send more people there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff!

Posted Dec 28, 2016
We stayed over the Christmas holidays and were surprised at how attentive and friendly the staff were. They provide excellent service and go above and beyond. I highly recommend this resort for a relaxing and carefree time. The rooms are nice and the beach - beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Beautiful hotel, not extravagant and posh, just lovely, feels local but very high end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Beach front getaway

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, food, location
Cons: More comfortable seating the the living room
Location: The location is a little far from town, but we took a shuttle and rented a car. That gave us the freedoms to travel about and explore on our own time
This hotel has very friendly staff and is right on the water. The rooms are spacious and have a huge lanai to enjoy the beach even when it is raining. The food at the restaurants is good and the continental breakfast far surpasses its counterpart in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Placencia Area Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Rooms are very spacious and right on the beach.
Cons: Shuttle service is not reliable.
Nice hotel. It's not walking distance to town. There are two restaurants. Many activities offered for daily activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We enjoyed the hotel a lot, The staff was great, the beach was clean, and the overall time was well enjoyed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Staff are excellent, friendly, helpful. They go out of their way to ensure you are happy, be it in restaurant or about things to do in area.
Cons: Breakfasts were better than expected, plentiful and good variety. Lunch & dinner were disappointing & expensive, even the specialty organic restaurant
Location: Relatively remote, 15 min drive from Placencia with restaurants, bars, shopping, excursions. One resort right next door has excellent restaurant.
Robert's Grove is a lovely, rustic resort, right on the ocean. It has about 72 rooms spread among 8 or 9 two storey buildings scattered around lush, landscaped grounds, set well back from the road. The rooms are spacious and airy, with king, queen or twin beds, plenty of furniture such as couch, easy chair, tables with chairs, etc. Bathroom is also a good size with two sinks, toilet and shower. All the furniture and fixtures are at least 20 years old, they are well used but clean and in decent condition. Most, if not all rooms have a porch or balcony with ocean view. The beach is quite narrow and lined with palm trees. The sand has been eroding for many years and previous unsuccessful attempts to slow the process such as sandbags and plastic netting are breaking down, are unsightly and may be a hazard. The staff keep the buildings and grounds immaculate. Every morning the entire beach and the gardens are raked clean. However, once you wonder off the property, the beach is littered with garbage. Long walks on the beach are not what you would expect of a Caribbean holiday. The staff are truly excellent. On and off the resort, they are the most happy, friendly people I have found anywhere in the Caribbean. I even felt comfortable walking around Placencia village late at night, despite the extreme poverty that was visible all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort right on the beach

Posted Nov 28, 2016
From the time of our arrival, every effort was made to make us feel welcome. The food was great. The service was friendly, capable and attentive. The room was large and comfortable. All of the staff was awesome, but special thanks to Anna (front desk) and Wilson (server extraordinaire) .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Roberts Grove was a very nice place. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks were awesome to use. overall great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Good overall stay bar didn't have dome liquors and run out of others