Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Private Casita on the beach

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Restaurant and bar on site, friendly helpful staff, room on the beach.
Cons: Providing a water cooler to refill water bottles. Tap water is not drinkable.
Location: Shopping, water tours, snorkeling, water taxi to Caye Caulker. This is not a place to "go to the beach" .
The rooms are comfortable. Bed comfort is acceptable. The staff was helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, so they upgraded us to the room on the corner next to the beach and facing the pool and open-air restaurant and bar. It wasn't ready either, but we enjoyed our complimentary rum punch (they didn't skimp on the rum) while our room was prepared. Everything happens in island time. I was on vacation, so I chilled out and enjoyed the experience. The upgraded room on the corner was the best one in this resort. The restaurant was handy when I didn't want to pay $15 Belize ($7.50 US) for a taxi to travel the mile or so into town. The food was good and so was service. Food is pricey on the island. And you must buy bottled water. The staff arranged for taxis when needed and booked a snorkeling excursion for us. Laundry services are available as well. We walked along the beach to visit shops in town. This was an inexpensive way to check out the island for the first time. Next time, I may stay closer in to town. But I will always hire a taxi if I need to go long distances instead of renting a golf cart - the roads are very narrow and the driving is chaotic! Loved the experience and want to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, but nothing special.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Beach was not that nice - had a broken concrete wall further into the ocean. Not sure if there was sand there or not at some time. Hotel is somewhat far away from town, but taxis were reliable when scheduled. Also, renting a golf cart is a must if you want to go to town often. The bar/restaurant close to the hotel - not part of the hotel - had very slow service. Pool was okay, but older. Hotel was good at arranging activities when asked, like snorkling trips.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, MA

BEDBUGS

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Cons: Get rid of the bedbugs. They turned around and rented the bedbug room the same day.
The first room we were in had bedbugs. I have photos of some of the multiple sets of bites in rows of 3-5 bites that blister. There's no mistaking these with mosquito bites. I reported this to the resort and they refused to acknowledge that they have a problem. I want a refund for the room, plus damages for an M.D. visit and subsequent medication because of infection.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent location and good price.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Great location and very nice room for the price. Front desk stuff helpful and attentive. Bar stuff super friendly and helpful. The only reason why I don't give the hotel a 4 is because the cleaning stuff did not clean the restroom the second night I stay there and also because there were tons of mosquitoes all over the facility. I understand there was a hurricane not too long ago and that is why there are mosquitoes, but they have to do something about it, you couldn't stept out of the ro without getting bit like 20 times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right by the water

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The hotel is about 2 miles away from the main "downtown" area of San Pedro. I appreciated this since it was quiet and peaceful. However, we needed a golf cart or taxi to go into town. It was right by the water and has a great restaurant/bar and dive/snorkel shop on site. There was also an incredible little restaurant right down the road called La Divina Providencia with great smoothies and breakfasts. The hotel room had a few cockroaches. It is a tropical island so this was understandable but still unpleasant. The hotel staff was courteous. However, we rented a golf cart from the hotel. The staff member did not inspect the vehicle at all or tell us anything about it. She just handed us the keys. We ended up running out of gas after going only a few miles. This would have been fine since someone drove us back to the hotel. However, the manager then gave us a hard time for not filling up the tank of gas and tried charging us multiple times for gas even though we told him it was never inspected nor were we told anything about it. His customer service was a bit lacking in this regard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calif

Posted Jun 30, 2016
I liked the individual cottages. Mini kitchen was nice. Maid was great very friendly. The food at the outside bar was delicious two for one margaritas on Tuesday was great. Dive shop on sight did a great and safe job for us. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee Wi.

It was great the stuff was really helpful and kind

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Belize I can call it my favorite vacation place is quite, is very rural with the beauty of having an ocean. Even there is no ocean experience by the hotel there is a place that calls secret beach and is hiding and an hour or maybe a little more from San Pedro, where there is an amazing place where you can enjoy the day on the beach, threre is bathrooms and food. Food at this place was delicious and the owner Aurora a very kind person, the place calls Aurora's food truck. So you don't have to worry about a thing when you go to this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2016
The only bad things we encountered were little tiny bugs from the cute flower arrangements they placed on the bed and shower area. And the water pressure in the shower sucked!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from algonquin illinois

very pleasant hotel great staff at the bar

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: it was clean comfortable and quiet
Cons: i did miss the beach experience but thats how all the beaches are
Location: location was great very close to town loved the fact we had to rent a golf cart the kids had a blast
loved it away from everyone but still very close to town loved the quietness of place the place was a great place to stay very clean great excursions offered
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Small cabins near the water

Posted Mar 20, 2016
We spent 2 nights here. Small cabins with kitchen and everything you need. Good location, on the water, pool and good restaurant/bar. Staff friendly, helpful, efficient. Would stay here again.