Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the mayan ruins.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Beautiful hotel, friendly/ helpful staff and great food/wine. Great place to stay to tour the ruins!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good home base for excursions

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 6 days and used the hotel as a home base for day trips to Tikal, Caracol, Xunantunich, a visit to the zoo, cave tubing and zip lining. It was a great location, within walking distance of the most popular restaurants so we could have an easy dinner after an exhausting day out. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. I wish the hotel had a lounge area that was air conditioned, as the only place we could go to cool off was the room itself - not ideal. But that's a small nit in an otherwise very good hotel. If you go, do the iguana project tour, and do the first tour of the day; when we went it was just my the two of us and the tour guide, so we got a lot of personal attention from all the iguanas and the guide.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa maria, california

Luxurious hotel with good amenities & quiet.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Truly a place that has everything you need when on vacation. All the people who work there are friendly & courteous.
Cons: No comment
Location: The hotel is accessible to downtown San Ignacio to shops & restaurants.
We liked our room, accessible to the pool & restaurant. The hotel is truly a place to relax after excursions to the jungle with warm shower & clean beds.
5 out of 5
by Vaughn from South Jordan

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Everyone was extremely helpful. We only ate breakfast there and it was good. Especially the flap jacks. Even though the restaurant was billed to be high end we didn't eat here due to the cost. Location good for seeing the ruins. The concierge very helpful in helping us arrange the tours. Would recommend it to others
4 out of 5
by Pascal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Best place to stay in San Ignacio

Posted Mar 4, 2016
The location of this hotel is fabulous. Up on a hill above the fray, but a quick, easy, 4 minute downhill walk to the center of town. Returning its a steep trek, but grab a cab and it is only $5 BZE ($2.50 US) for the ride back up! Lovely setting. You feel you are in the jungle. Restaurant overlooks the pool and is in the trees where you'll see iguanas and toucans. Great and very friendly service with very good food. Excellent service at the front desk and pleasant seating areas in the lobby and outside. The housekeepers were also very willing and accommodating in every way. Pool is lovely with comfortable chaise and towels provided. Never crowded. Spotless. I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in San Ignacio. The casino next door is good entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Trinity, Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay Susan and I couldn't of explained our property any better. That's why we are called the only jungle in town. Have an unBELIZEable day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago,Il

Keep their promises

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Staff making you feel special
From the moment I contacted Hotel San Ignacio with questions they were able to help me out. I set up all my tours thru them and the concierge Rubin was on the spot reminding us of the times and what to expect from the tours. We went to Tikal with Ted, then given a tour of the actual site by an outstanding tour guide Josh. The following day we did the Cave tubing led by Edgar. Both of these tours were private, just my husband and I. I had no idea that these were private tours. One of the reviewers stated that you can get cheaper tours in town but there is no way that they would live up to the stature of the tours we received. The service by all personnel was wonderful, from the housekeepers to the front desk and waiters. We felt safe and happy there. The pool and location is lovely. Unfortunately we did not have time to tour the Iguana project. Maybe next time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Trinity, Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Julie for the response and appreciating and recognizing the level of service we provide here at the hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and activities planned with us. Hope you visit again soon
5 out of 5
by Gary from Montana

Great Hotel in a Beautiful Location

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff were great and location was very convenient to town. The hotel is elegant for this part of Central America but does need some updating (paint peeling in our room) but still overall a great stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Had a great stay this hotel. Food from restaurant was good, Reuben the concierge arranged a great ATM tour for us and took care of everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Trinity, Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks JB for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Have an unBELIZEable day
4 out of 5
by Angel from Atlanta, GA

Honeymoon Stay

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel for our honeymoon for 6 nights. The staff are very friendly. The rooms were comfortable, however they are a little old and need remodeling. There was a leak on one of the floors which cause the hallway to have a mildew smell for a few days. A few small lizards and spiders but that's to be expected being so close to the rain forest. Overall, we had a good stay.