Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Out of town but close enough

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Staff was very friendly. Unfortunately the concierge service I saw boasted in a review was terrible. Difficulty scheduling trips and when I asked about down town restaurant he said they were closed.... they never close... this hotel catered a few dinners making me a lone diner in a loud space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern calif

Nicest people

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Hotel staff are incredibly nice. Facilities are clean. It's like being in an oasis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The room, the staff, the service, the location
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: 5 minutes walk into town, surrounded in forrest- great location!
We spoiled ourselves and stayed in the Honeynoon suite, which is an incredible room with amazing views, a private hottub on the deck (which overlooks the pool) and a large bathroom. The Queen of England stayed here and we could see why. The staff were very friendly and accommodating the entire stay. They knew our names and always offered to help with anything we needed. Walking distance to the little town. Go to the restaurant Crave- you will love it! The chef is amazing and prepares every meal himself with a lot of care. We loved every meal and our friends we travel with also absolutely loved it. The will walk you through the Iguana sanctuary and you'll love seeing them around the trees, along with the birds (even parrots) flying around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel just on the outskirts of town

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Train the wait staff to check in but not hover over guests
Location: Close to Cahal Pech Mayan Ruins and an easy walk to town for activities.
We spent New Year's Eve in San Ignacio and stayed at the SI Hotel & Resort. This is nice hotel with a friendly staff and good location. Reuben, the concierge, is so helpful and friendly. He made our trip extra special by recommending great restaurants and arranging tours and transportation for us with a smile. Bring bug spray if you plan to sit out on the beautiful balcony at dusk since you are right above the Macal River and jungle. The only reason we didn't give this a 5 star was that twice our waitstaff seemed less than excited to be at work and sometimes left us for long periods of time either waiting for a beverage or chasing them down for our check while other times they hovered over us and wouldn't let us have any discussion, like menu options or checking the receipt, without standing on top of us. Just a little more training and they will get it right. Close enough to walk to town but definitely bring comfortable shoes as the hike back is ALL uphill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the mayan ruins.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Beautiful hotel, friendly/ helpful staff and great food/wine. Great place to stay to tour the ruins!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa maria, california

Luxurious hotel with good amenities & quiet.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Truly a place that has everything you need when on vacation. All the people who work there are friendly & courteous.
Cons: No comment
Location: The hotel is accessible to downtown San Ignacio to shops & restaurants.
We liked our room, accessible to the pool & restaurant. The hotel is truly a place to relax after excursions to the jungle with warm shower & clean beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Best place to stay in San Ignacio

Posted Mar 4, 2016
The location of this hotel is fabulous. Up on a hill above the fray, but a quick, easy, 4 minute downhill walk to the center of town. Returning its a steep trek, but grab a cab and it is only $5 BZE ($2.50 US) for the ride back up! Lovely setting. You feel you are in the jungle. Restaurant overlooks the pool and is in the trees where you'll see iguanas and toucans. Great and very friendly service with very good food. Excellent service at the front desk and pleasant seating areas in the lobby and outside. The housekeepers were also very willing and accommodating in every way. Pool is lovely with comfortable chaise and towels provided. Never crowded. Spotless. I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in San Ignacio. The casino next door is good entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Trinity, Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed your stay Susan and I couldn't of explained our property any better. That's why we are called the only jungle in town. Have an unBELIZEable day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,Il

Keep their promises

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Staff making you feel special
From the moment I contacted Hotel San Ignacio with questions they were able to help me out. I set up all my tours thru them and the concierge Rubin was on the spot reminding us of the times and what to expect from the tours. We went to Tikal with Ted, then given a tour of the actual site by an outstanding tour guide Josh. The following day we did the Cave tubing led by Edgar. Both of these tours were private, just my husband and I. I had no idea that these were private tours. One of the reviewers stated that you can get cheaper tours in town but there is no way that they would live up to the stature of the tours we received. The service by all personnel was wonderful, from the housekeepers to the front desk and waiters. We felt safe and happy there. The pool and location is lovely. Unfortunately we did not have time to tour the Iguana project. Maybe next time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Trinity, Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Julie for the response and appreciating and recognizing the level of service we provide here at the hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and activities planned with us. Hope you visit again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Had a great stay this hotel. Food from restaurant was good, Reuben the concierge arranged a great ATM tour for us and took care of everything we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2016 by Trinity, Marketing Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks JB for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Have an unBELIZEable day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great hotel with only minor drawbacks

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Don't book any tours from the concierge. They will quote you a price 2x more than what it generally will cost if you went directly to a tour company. We had trouble with the toilet in our room twice. The staff were very responsive in trying to fix it but it turned out to be excessive air in the water pipes that cause water from the toilet to spit everywhere when flushed. The staff were all very helpful and nice. Definitely check out the iguana project onsite - it's worth it.