Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, Ca

Beautiful and relaxing spot on Ambergris Caye

Posted Feb 19, 2017
My girlfriend and I just spent an amazing week at Sapphire Beach Resort. We had a great time! The rooms are very clean and the service is top notch. Highly recommend for a quiet and romantic get away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Sapphire Beach Belize, Hotel Management
Dear Mile and Elisa; Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sapphire Beach. We are so glad you had a good time with us! We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon! The Sapphire Beach Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from smithers BC Canada

our stay was delightful. Staff was generous.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Accommodating and generous. Sapphire staff were wonderful. The road in is ridiculously bumpy and adds to time to arrival unnecessarily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Sapphire Beach Belize, Hotel Management
Dear Glenn; Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sapphire Beach. We are so glad you had a good time with us! We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon! The Sapphire Beach Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great week away in paradise.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week and we had the best time. Everyone at the resort is extremely friendly. The food was amazing. Tony at the bar is the best!!! Rooms were clean and comfortable. And we loved the private beach we had practically all to ourselves. Also if you want to do any tours they book them right there for you! We give this place 5/5!!! Can't wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Humberto, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley;   Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sapphire Beach. We are so glad you had a good time with us!   We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!   The Sapphire Beach Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Bring bug spray

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Grounds and structures are nice. Pools nice and clean, rooms are neatly designed. The bugs are bad, so make sure you have bug spray at all times. Showers are lukewarm in temperature. Staff are friendly. Everything is expensive on the island.
4 out of 5
by Jay from BC Canada

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
The negatives: Poor furniture choices by the owners of our unit made the room crowded & less than comfortable. Issues with the breaker for the hot water heater became irritating after a few days. The resort restaunt has a limited menu & they were out of some items, but what we did eat was delicious & well presented. We were not ver impressed with the arrangements made for our transportation to the resort & felt the front desk staff was indifferent to us throughout our stay. The positives: all of the other staff, housekeeping, restaurant & bar were great! The pool was clean. Grounds were very well maintained including the beach, which they remove the seagrass from every morning. Having No Worries Tours on site was a nice bonus. Prices here for food/drink are comparable or better than other simmilar resorts on Ambergris Caye, but the quality & friendliness is better here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Secluded tropical paradise

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: Privacy; cleanliness; friendly staff; beautiful facility
Cons: As with all Belize beaches, the sea grass is unpleasant, but the sea grass supports the lobster, conch, and fishing industry.
Location: Nothing is nearby. That is what we were looking for!
My wife and I were looking for a quiet, secluded and uncrowded place on the beach to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, and we got it! We were very pleased with the clean, spacious rooms (sea front condo), balcony overlooking the water, and the accomodating staff. This is not the place to come if you're looking for a party, or must be close to town, but if you want to watch the moon come up over the Caribbean from your bedroom, and just spend time together reconnecting you will love this place. Transportation is an issue. We rented a golf cart in San Pedro and used it the entire week so didn't use the water taxi. We enjoyed the ride back and forth, but again, this will not be for everyone. The last half mile is not really a road yet (the road is under construction). If you must have transportation on your own schedule, the golf carts are great. Allow approx. 40 minutes for the trip to town. If you do rent a golf cart, be sure not to miss the cutoff at La Beliza resort (there is a small sign for Sapphire Beach Resort there, but we missed it the first evening). When the road is complete, the golf cart option will be greatly enhanced.
3 out of 5
by Dylan

Sapphire 1 bedroom.

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Nice little (very little) 1 bed unit. No bathtub, terrible water pressure on the shower, and a sofa bed that is too small for anyone over 10 years old. Location is beautiful and very remote. Pools are nice, but small. Coastal Xpress golden ticket is needed for daily trips into San Pedro for restaurants or groceries. Overall a nice stay, but for price, not a great level of finish to the unit.
3 out of 5
by Beau B.

New Years Getaway

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Orbitz
This hotel is waaaay too far away from anything in Ambergris Caye Belize. OK, if you simply wish to stay on this island, but it's a half hour boat ride (which wasn't always available) to go anywhere else. We could not even celebrate NY Eve away since they did not supply a boat to from the main town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mr. HighStandards

Great destination

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Orbitz
Great place to go to the Caribbean and to go by myself or in couple. This was a great place to visit and spend time and be close to tne Blue Hole
3 out of 5
by George from Fort Pierce-FL

Not as advertised

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Was at odds staying here, number of negatives on reviews. Unit was 2-bed 2-bath, very uncomfortable for 3 persons. Was right on water, great view, water no go in. Unit had 1 futon for seating, 4 bar stools, small table 3-chairs. For the price it was a joke! Taking a shower depended on water being on and maybe hot. Staff was super. Shuttle boat at San Pedro no cushions, not resort style. All together no value here.