Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montana

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Great stay!!! Great tours. Great food at the restaurant. Great service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice hotel with good staff

Posted Nov 25, 2015
The place is great EXCEPT for the sand flies. Tiny insects which have a vicious bite. Great hotel with great staff and the pier is amazing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Experience Possible!

Posted May 19, 2015
From check in to check out we were dismayed at how poorly this beautiful hotel was managed! We cancelled the second night and got out of there. Short changed when exchanging money, overcharged, put in a terrible old room for an "upgrade" from a room so small we couldn't get our luggage in. As we moved on to an island to dive all the people we met who were locals confirmed that no one should go there. TERRIBLE!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service, facilities & management

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Disappointing. reserved "Balcony/patio with views of the beach and garden.Relax - In-room massage available Entertainment - WiFi and wired Internet access, flat-screen TV" does say depending on avail.No beach view . Received a bedroom not a suite . (They say it was a suite but two chairs next to your bed ?) No wifi in any rooms! Free wifi if you fight for a code in restaurant . $15 if you want in bar per day . Bedroom no wifi service! After 20 mins fight on phone from room as reception 10 mins away in another block in fact whole "hotel" in blocks. Paid another pile $ for a sea view. Room/view good. But going to bed at night discovered blood in bed and hairs. So at 22:00 hrs a member of staff and myself started to remake the bed . Everything is charged for apart from the air. Large double fridge in room with 1 bottle of water at $4 . Coffee machine but no coffee. Like other comments sea very smelly . Time of year? lots of sea weed. Breakfast - if you wanted a normal breakfast you could have a 5 star dinner in London for same price. Asked for pancakes and orange juice . 15 mins orange juice arrived after 30 mins no pancakes had to leave. Porter gone luggage on a sort of cement 4 wheel trolley so pulled it myself along a long path to transfer bus. The place is all strange and tacky and some areas getting tired(bathroom etc) I think that with staff training , customer service and facilities improved it coould be good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the high price

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The pool
Cons: This place is over priced
Location: Very isolated
For $385.00 Canadian, we were expecting a luxury hotel. What we got was a small two room bungalow on the beach with few amenities. The next day we moved down the beach to a much nicer resort for half the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from martha's vineyard ma

not worth the money

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Cons: they could improve their door cards. we were not the only ones having a problem with them
we stayed 3 nights. when we got there our room was on the back side with a window looking out under a staircase. it was a bit dark and gloomy. it was not worth the money. since we were there though we decided to upgrade. the next room was very nice overlooking the pool and ocean but was very expensive. we also had to have our door card scanned daily because it kept losing its memory. the hotel is not in placencia and is about a 1/2 hour drive to the village. also the beach and pool bar had little no see-ums that stung you. all and all after the upgrade it was very nice but not worth the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas City, Missouri

The best ever! I am ready to go back now

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, very pretty, felt like I was at home, relaxing and quite
Cons: I would have to say, not a thing, keep it as is.
Location: All the activities were all nice, the beaches, pools, bares, shopping, and all the staffs entertaining.
The staff was great, food is good, people all nice, place well kept up, and very safe..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location and pool

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Nice location and pool.
Cons: Service and communication of any issues or changes
The hotel facilities were fine. The hotel bumped us from the room we booked and not all of the facilities were available while we where there. None of this would have been a big deal, but the was no communication or advance warning from the hotel. Not even when we arrived. One of the nicest aspects of the hotel, the bar on the pier was closed for a private function the whole time we were there-something none of the staff or the concierge seemed to be aware of. Not sure I go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total disaster

Posted Apr 25, 2014
My girlfriend an I booked the Placencia hotel through Expedia and requested 2 beds. I spoke with an Expedia rep and she assured me we were confirmed for 2 beds (2 king beds) really unheard of… When we arrived at the hotel we were given a room with 1 king bed. We were moved to a room with a queen bed and a futon, next day we were moved again to a room with 2 queen beds. On our last night we were actually moved again! Ridiculous! Not once did the staff apologize or comp us for the room. We lived out of our suitcase and never even unpacked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J&L from Somerset, PA

Relaxing and beautiful

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The food was good and the staff was so accommodating and friendly.
Cons: Since there was not much nearby it would have been nice if they provided or at least suggested ways to get around.
Location: It is a little remote but the staff was helpful in recommending things to do.
We were looking for a place that was not too "touristy". It was very relaxing and beautiful.