Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Disappointment

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel accommodates those who want pure relaxation ! There are no activities on the hotel premise, there is only one restaurant, the menu is the same everyday. It is on the beach, but the water is so murky that no one attempts to try bathing in it. THe MOSQUITOES were atrocious...I was bitten all over and lived on Benadryl to stop the itch---great way to enjoy a vacation...NOT !!! Would not go back to this hotel again !!!! The employees were not friendly, hardly smiled. The bed was uncomfortable. The room temperature was difficult to control. No ventilation in the bathroom---not even a window, and when you have a small room the stink penetrates and lingers. Overall, DISASTER !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montana

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Great stay!!! Great tours. Great food at the restaurant. Great service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing service; a little nickled and dimed

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
This place is incredibly beautiful, but just a bit over-manicured perhaps. Felt like were were in South Florida, not Central America. The staff were SO service-oriented (especially Michael at the front desk), but having paid $400+ / night for our room, the $5 Paddle Boarding and Kayaking, the $20 shuttle ride into Placencia Village, the $15 deposit for pool towels, etc. kind of cheapened the magic. Other than that, the property is incredibly well-maintained (really uncomfortable bed, though) and the food in the restaurants was top shelf. Peddle bikes were free, so we peddled to the Maya Beach Bistro everyday for Happy Hour on the beach -- super fun!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very nice hotel with good staff

Posted Nov 25, 2015
The place is great EXCEPT for the sand flies. Tiny insects which have a vicious bite. Great hotel with great staff and the pier is amazing.
5 out of 5
by Denis

It's a nice 4 star hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 26, 2015 on Orbitz
It's a bit far away form Placencia village, but hotel provides free shuttle. A bit of a pain to wait for the driver to bet back, as they are not always on time. Rooms are clean and restaurant is great. One issue - we couldn't use the pictured pier with a gazebo and bar much (if ever) because there was a convention there and they kept other tourists off that pier, while kids from convention occupied the pier of breakfast, lunch, dinner and all activities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Experience Possible!

Posted May 19, 2015
From check in to check out we were dismayed at how poorly this beautiful hotel was managed! We cancelled the second night and got out of there. Short changed when exchanging money, overcharged, put in a terrible old room for an "upgrade" from a room so small we couldn't get our luggage in. As we moved on to an island to dive all the people we met who were locals confirmed that no one should go there. TERRIBLE!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service, facilities & management

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Disappointing. reserved "Balcony/patio with views of the beach and garden.Relax - In-room massage available Entertainment - WiFi and wired Internet access, flat-screen TV" does say depending on avail.No beach view . Received a bedroom not a suite . (They say it was a suite but two chairs next to your bed ?) No wifi in any rooms! Free wifi if you fight for a code in restaurant . $15 if you want in bar per day . Bedroom no wifi service! After 20 mins fight on phone from room as reception 10 mins away in another block in fact whole "hotel" in blocks. Paid another pile $ for a sea view. Room/view good. But going to bed at night discovered blood in bed and hairs. So at 22:00 hrs a member of staff and myself started to remake the bed . Everything is charged for apart from the air. Large double fridge in room with 1 bottle of water at $4 . Coffee machine but no coffee. Like other comments sea very smelly . Time of year? lots of sea weed. Breakfast - if you wanted a normal breakfast you could have a 5 star dinner in London for same price. Asked for pancakes and orange juice . 15 mins orange juice arrived after 30 mins no pancakes had to leave. Porter gone luggage on a sort of cement 4 wheel trolley so pulled it myself along a long path to transfer bus. The place is all strange and tacky and some areas getting tired(bathroom etc) I think that with staff training , customer service and facilities improved it coould be good.
4 out of 5
by Josh from Chin Hills

Great getaway from the crowds

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
Large bedroom and kitchen area, huge walk in closet and a spactacular view of the ocean. The pool was amazing. Would definitely stay at the placentia again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the high price

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The pool
Cons: This place is over priced
Location: Very isolated
For $385.00 Canadian, we were expecting a luxury hotel. What we got was a small two room bungalow on the beach with few amenities. The next day we moved down the beach to a much nicer resort for half the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from martha's vineyard ma

not worth the money

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Cons: they could improve their door cards. we were not the only ones having a problem with them
we stayed 3 nights. when we got there our room was on the back side with a window looking out under a staircase. it was a bit dark and gloomy. it was not worth the money. since we were there though we decided to upgrade. the next room was very nice overlooking the pool and ocean but was very expensive. we also had to have our door card scanned daily because it kept losing its memory. the hotel is not in placencia and is about a 1/2 hour drive to the village. also the beach and pool bar had little no see-ums that stung you. all and all after the upgrade it was very nice but not worth the money