Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elmendorf Texas

Don't expect big hotel amenities

Posted Mar 16, 2015
You are in a country that is extremely laid back, what makes this establishment sing are the propriators , Lewis and Julia. It is wonderful when you can visit a country and have people like these two in your pack pocket. Sometimes what we want is different than what we need, they get the job done no matter what! Meals, suggestions, directions, etc. they know what to do for the guest. Should I go back to Belize again you can certainly bet I will stay at the wonderful Red Hut Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Stayed two nights but not what we expected

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: nothing. Very far from everything.
Cons: have someone com in and rearange the furniture so it isn't so tacky. Tiny pictures haphazardly placed on very large walls.
Location: Terrible. Near nothing. Dont waste your time here.
Definitely a very tacky experience. With minimal money ($100) this could be a cute room. Instead of shabby furniture. The hoteliers do not seem real honest. Way overcharged for trip to airport. Claimed it would be $50 belize if we took a cab. Untrue. They seemed annoyed when we came a couple of times to ask questions. They advertise food to be cooked by them but NOT available when we visited. A couple of nice restaurants nearby though. The best western has a bar and is within walking distance. Tried to rent there and forfeit our last night but they were full.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In residential area out of the way

Posted Feb 20, 2015
The owners are very accommodating for rides and meals. They do charge for all of it. Room was comfortable but reeked of urinal block hanging from toilet. We kept door to bathroom closed and covered it up. Smell was a little over wellming . Good for a quick stop over. belize is a dirty city
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland, US

If you have to stay in Belize City, stay here

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: B&B feel is great and comfortable - you can meet people there in a hostel type setting with the comfort of home, not a dormitory; Lewis's cooking!
Cons: Prices were steep - I know they don't run a restaurant but food in a B&B should not cost as much as a night out, even if the host is a trained chef
Location: Nothing to do near by - ask for a ride and talk to Lewis (he's cool). It's a residential area so safe - you can walk to the supermarket or get Chinese
I want to briefly explain my travel circumstances to help you figure out if this hotel is good for you. I was only in town for a couple days to do snorkeling and leave the country from Belize City. I was successful and loved how this hotel worked for me. If you have more time and want to do snorkeling and beach activities, skip this hotel and head straight for the cayes. Otherwise you are limited by the water taxi schedule (basically 9-5). Lewis and Julia are fantastic hosts. From the moment my fiancée and I checked in, I felt like I was in a second home. They are very friendly and can help you with information about what to do, and can give you rides to the bus terminal or water taxi for less than a cab costs. Julia was a bit short at times, which is why I knocked off a point for Hotel Staff. I think Lewis did some chef training at some point, because he cooks and is proud of it. Depending on what's on the menu (take it or leave it), I would give it a try. First night we were there he said buffalo wings (really?) so we passed, but the next day we had both his breakfast and pizza and they were delicious. The only other food in the area is a Chinese restaurant (okay), so your food options are limited. Normally when we travel we tend to get up early and be out all night, but you can't in Belize City. Thankfully, this hotel has great big rooms with a homey feel. Hundreds of TV channels and at least I thought the bed was super comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel very nice, like staying in a home!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: A short walk gets you to the water. The food cooked by owner/chef was delicious!! Attitude of owners was very personable and caring.
Cons: Maps for sale.
Location: Walk to the water with a place to sit. Walk through a friendly neighborhood Eat delicious food
Owner's were welcoming and accommodating to our needs. Neighborhood setting felt safe and friendly.
3 out of 5
by Fassot from Honduras

It's not a hotel, is a hostale.

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: The service of the owners.
Cons: oldand boring hotel.
Location: nothing to do nearby. Bored neightborhood.
Excelente service, Everything looks old and in general the hotel is boring and in a quiet zone.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Great B&B value in Belize City

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness, and price.
Cons: Out of the owner's control are the dogs in everyone's yard.
B&B owners Julia and Lewis are excellent hosts. Though located in a neighborhood with typical Belize City sounds, Julia and Lewis do everything possible in their power to make your stay enjoyable. A highlight is chef-trained Lewis' evening meal and breakfast - do NOT miss this opportunity to experience his skills. As divers we look for local B&Bs that are clean, reasonably prices, and have good food. Red Hut does that and more - with GREAT FOOD!
4 out of 5
by Bill&Shiela from Calgary, AB, Canada

Welcome to Belize

Posted Mar 13, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness Staff friendliness-Meals were great
Location: This is a 10 room inn staffed by very friendly owners and housekeeping staff. We felt very well taken care of
We had a great stay and rented a vehicle from Lewis and Julia. They gave us loads of information to go out into the country and enjoy our time going from one end of Belize to the other. I don't think we would have gotten such good information in one of the other hotels. We particularly enjoyed our time spent with one of their permanent residents Tricia who armed us with many bits of valuable information for our trip as well as the day we spent in down-town Belize. She gave us a down to earth view of life in Belize and then sent us on our way to enjoy. Thanks again Bill and Shiela
5 out of 5
by Sunnie from OKC

Would visit again!

Posted Apr 1, 2012
Pros: This place is like being right at home.
Cons: No beaches in Belize:( We ended up going to Caye Caulker since my husband wanted to scuba dive.
Location: It is nestled in a nice neighborhood and walking distance to restaurants and a market. Louis will take you anywhere you want to go though.
This is a great place! Louis is wonderful and even though we ended up not staying because we had a change of plans he was still very helpful in getting us to our destination.
5 out of 5
by Gerald from Washington DC

Gerald

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: Excellent food and service.
Cons: Room is basic but has all facilities, e.g. TV, refrigerator, aircondition.
Location: !0 Taxi Minutes from Center, good neighborhood, close to sea.
The owners and staff are lovely people. Also arranged for meals, trips and car hirings. We felt "at home".