Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha, ne

The view was fabulous from our room

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Fumigate for bugs often
Location: Scuba diving, snorkeling, many restaurants to choose from. The hotel will also arrange trips to the ruins, zoo, zip line and tubing in the rainforest
The staff was awesome. Dive shop and trips right at the hotel. I also went to the spa twice. Best massage ever. Snorkeling trips were great and conveniently located from the hotel. Only complaint were the amount of bugs in the kitchen area. Even when cleaned, still a lot of little bugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane,wa

Great resort.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The pool and the well kept grounds.
Location: It is a ways to town, but we rented a golf cart. A grocery store, bakery, coffee shop and bagel shop are all within walking distance.
Banyan Bay was awesome. The rooms are more traditional and the furnishings older, but we spent so little time in our bungalow that it did not matter. We had 4 adults and we were very comfortable in our separate suites. We each had a bathroom which gave us ample room. The kitchen was well appointed with all of the necessities you will need including coffee pot, blender, dishes, etc. The pool is large and great for young and old. The continental breakfast was a different menu selection every day. For example one day it was oatmeal, french toast or fruit plate. The next it was french toast or oatmeal, etc. The breakfasts come with coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila

Great location and more

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: 2 bedroom suite over looking the ocean. Nice pool with drinks and food available
Cons: AC unit struggled to keep up with heat
Location: On site restaurant is good with many more within walking distance. Dive shop (Belize Pro Dive) is the best on the island and anywhere else.
Exceeded expectations with good location, friendly staff and more. Nice island feel and very nice people. Walked and drove golf carts all over the island and in some very poor neighborhoods, felt very safe with everyone saying hello. Went diving to Blue Hole and more areas. Great diving and snorkeling area with so much marine life including cool national park. When your boat approaches the park area, many nurse sharks (over 20) come to boat looking to get fed, you jump in with them and have fun watching them get fed. Awesome experience...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, ON Canada

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Priceless moments with my family... It's my second time there and I will be returning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for families

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We stayed in a two-bedroom "villa." The rooms were nice and comfortable and it was really nice to have a kitchen: it saved us some money on dinners out when my kids just wanted pasta. The on-site restaurant, Ricos, was satisfactory. The pool was nice, though nothing special. Overall, we felt this was a good value and we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Lovely hotel, right on the beach.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Dive master Giovanni, he made each and every dive fantastic. The dive shop and all who work there are really professional.
Cons: The mattresses, that would be the only thing.
Location: You travel the island by golf cart or bike, everything is close by. We bought our breakfast food to cook in the room, which is close by.
From beginning to end the staff was wonderful. Went down to dive and get to know Belize, everyone we meet was kind, helpfully and considerate. We had wonderful meals every where we went but fell in love with a place called The Truck Stop, a must go to for anyone visiting the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Beautiful setting on the beach

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Well maintained grounds, beautiful setting, on the beach, lovely pool, convenient to everything and knowledgeable and friendly staff.
Cons: I can't think of anything!
Location: Banyan Bay is located walking distance to grocery and light meals, and a golf cart ride through the streets of San Pedro for delicious restaurants!
The Villas at Banyan Bay was an excellent choice for our family of 2 adults and 2 young adult boys. It is convenient to restaurants, walking distance to grocery stores and light food shops, and convenient to the Belize Pro Dive Shop. The staff was wonderful, from the housekeeping staff to the manager. There are security personnel around at all times which made us feel secure with our belongings and throughout our stay. We arranged our daily adventures with them prior to our arrival via email, and everything worked out wonderfully with each of them. Every aspect of our time there was wonderful! The grounds are beautifully kept! The pool was clean and well maintained! And every question was well received and answered with a smile! I'd go back tomorrow if I could!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful beachfront room with lots of space

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: location, staff, rooms, food, drinks, resident iguanas,
Annual girl's trip - could not have selected a better location! The rooms were fabulous and the staff (especially Merriam) was SO friendly and helpful. Booked a Snorkel Trip and a Mayan Ruins/Cave Tubing Trip, both through hotel with Javier, and everything was so smooth and easy. Pool was beautiful and the swim up bar made/served fantastic drinks. We felt very secure with the presence of on-site security staff. RIco's served fantastic food. We couldn't be happier!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco ca

Horrible hotel, good location but HORRIBLE

Posted Nov 30, 2015
The staff was extremely rude they tried to charge me for multiple things such as having a friend come by the room just to hang out , charged me $100, the toilets overflowed for no reason the first night we were there took 6 hours for someone to come clean it up, there were cockroaches in our room, the shower water ALWAYS went cold, the list goes on I will never stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation 2015

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: N/A
Cons: Screen door on the patio door
Location: The Baker
We enjoyed our stay Villas at Banyan Bay. We had the suite that was right in front of the pool. We wrote the suites number down so we when come back we will ask for the same suite. We are already looking foreward to coming back in 2016 or 2017. Again is was a great stay for us. Very Happy with everything.