Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Right on the beach, nice swimming area in the sea, and the pool is steps away.
Location: The location is great. Easy walking, around a mile or so, from the center of town. Plenty of restaurants and groceries nearby.
Very nice experience at Banyan Bay. Our room was a bit dated, but was very spacious, and was very well decorated. Everything you might need was available in the kitchen. The staff was very nice throughout our stay. There is an onsite diving business to book excursions. They are very helpful, and the guides are great. We tried a variety of local food at the restaurants. It was great. We did not rent a golf cart, and walked to town numerous times during our stay. It is an easy walk, and you can always take a taxi back tom the hotel if needed. Really, no complaints. The stay was very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ks

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: After experiencing the recent hurrican they were up and running. Repairs were being done during our stay but did not interfer with our stay.
Location: the dive swhop was on site. All tours could be done at the office and San Pedro was only a short golf cart ride.
Our stay was as advertised. We were but a few steps from the restaurant and dive shop. The staff was very helpful and the maid service excelant. From the airport cab ,ferry service and cab to the Villas nothing could have been easier...Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant service and food was more than we thought it would be. The only thing that would have been better was a longer stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from omaha, ne

The view was fabulous from our room

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Fumigate for bugs often
Location: Scuba diving, snorkeling, many restaurants to choose from. The hotel will also arrange trips to the ruins, zoo, zip line and tubing in the rainforest
The staff was awesome. Dive shop and trips right at the hotel. I also went to the spa twice. Best massage ever. Snorkeling trips were great and conveniently located from the hotel. Only complaint were the amount of bugs in the kitchen area. Even when cleaned, still a lot of little bugs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane,wa

Great resort.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The pool and the well kept grounds.
Location: It is a ways to town, but we rented a golf cart. A grocery store, bakery, coffee shop and bagel shop are all within walking distance.
Banyan Bay was awesome. The rooms are more traditional and the furnishings older, but we spent so little time in our bungalow that it did not matter. We had 4 adults and we were very comfortable in our separate suites. We each had a bathroom which gave us ample room. The kitchen was well appointed with all of the necessities you will need including coffee pot, blender, dishes, etc. The pool is large and great for young and old. The continental breakfast was a different menu selection every day. For example one day it was oatmeal, french toast or fruit plate. The next it was french toast or oatmeal, etc. The breakfasts come with coffee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phila

Great location and more

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: 2 bedroom suite over looking the ocean. Nice pool with drinks and food available
Cons: AC unit struggled to keep up with heat
Location: On site restaurant is good with many more within walking distance. Dive shop (Belize Pro Dive) is the best on the island and anywhere else.
Exceeded expectations with good location, friendly staff and more. Nice island feel and very nice people. Walked and drove golf carts all over the island and in some very poor neighborhoods, felt very safe with everyone saying hello. Went diving to Blue Hole and more areas. Great diving and snorkeling area with so much marine life including cool national park. When your boat approaches the park area, many nurse sharks (over 20) come to boat looking to get fed, you jump in with them and have fun watching them get fed. Awesome experience...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, ON Canada

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Priceless moments with my family... It's my second time there and I will be returning
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for families

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We stayed in a two-bedroom "villa." The rooms were nice and comfortable and it was really nice to have a kitchen: it saved us some money on dinners out when my kids just wanted pasta. The on-site restaurant, Ricos, was satisfactory. The pool was nice, though nothing special. Overall, we felt this was a good value and we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Lovely hotel, right on the beach.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Dive master Giovanni, he made each and every dive fantastic. The dive shop and all who work there are really professional.
Cons: The mattresses, that would be the only thing.
Location: You travel the island by golf cart or bike, everything is close by. We bought our breakfast food to cook in the room, which is close by.
From beginning to end the staff was wonderful. Went down to dive and get to know Belize, everyone we meet was kind, helpfully and considerate. We had wonderful meals every where we went but fell in love with a place called The Truck Stop, a must go to for anyone visiting the island.
4 out of 5
by Jon from League City

Nice Place for Family Fun in the Sun!

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was pleasant and helpful. Food was tasty and reasonably priced for a "resort." Met other families with kids of similar age as our kids... The kids occasionally entertained one another at the pool enabling some adult relaxation time.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Vancouver, BC, Canada

A great fit for families/retirees

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
If you are looking for a family vacation spot in south San Pedro, Banyan Bay might be the perfect location for you. The two bedroom, two bathroom condos are spacious and easily fit a family of 4 or 5. The resort's pool was a hub of activity for families and retirees (sunset was around 6 pm, so the pool is quiet in the evenings), there is a restaurant on site if you don't want to cook in your condo kitchen or travel for food, and there is an excellent dive shop on the wharf. Banyan Bay's staff is professional and friendly, and if the resort doesn't offer a service, they will work with a partner vendor (i.e., canoe rentals) to help you. The resort is a three minute walk to other services like grocery stores, pharmacies, laundry, and a bakery/cafe. You will pay resort prices at Banyan Bay for food, drinks and services so having the option of self-service is excellent. The resort also has resident iguanas, which are a big hit with children and adults. There is a beach for swimming although most people use the pool. Banyan Bay does not have a shuttle from the airport but does pay for guests taxis to and from the airport (you just provide a tip). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Banyan Bay for families, retirees or couples who like to socialize, and who like there independence at resorts but also like easy access to services.