Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach great restaurant

Posted Dec 1, 2016
great location away from hustle of San Pedro but close enough to walk for grocery, quick food. The grounds are beautiful and clean. Beach was very nice, perfect for paddleboarding. Great restaurant too. The beds weren't the comfiest, but the a.c., and cable tv made up for it. The staff were very nice. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel on the beach close to town

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Villas at banyan bay have great suites on the beach. We had a spacious 2 bedroom 2 bath with a kitchenette right next to the pool - only feet from the beach. We were able to use bikes daily and the kayaks and paddle boards from their sister resort next door. On site dive shop with a great staff. However I only gave a 4 star as thw daily continental breakfast was at their on site restaurant located on the pier. The service there was extremely poor. Also it would be nice if they had a hot tub. We got caught in downpours twice and would have liked to warm up in a hot tub. Also no volleyball like it said on their website. Otherwide I would have given this hotel a 5 star but overall a great place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: La vista al mar sus lindas instalaciones y el amable trato del personal
Cons: Tal vez que su restaurante tenga mas variedad en el menu
Location: paseos en los carritos del golf por la isla,bañarse en el hermoso mar y disfrutar sus deliciosos platillos
Es un hotel que cubrió todas nuestras expectativas, dias inolvidables
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Beautiful Banyan Bay

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Beautiful resort right on the beach with friendly and knowledgeable staff. It was nice to have a restaurant (Rico's) and diving company right on the resort. The complementary bikes and canoe were a great surprise. We found a great church to attend with Service service is both English and Spanish. Tried several local places to eat and they were all great, you must try the fried red snapper at Billy's Kitchen and the jerk chicken at ABA Azua Kitchen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Beautiful Banyan Bay

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Beautiful resort right on the beach with friendly and knowledgeable staff. It was nice to have a restaurant (Rico's) and diving company right on the resort. The complementary bikes and canoe were a great surprise. We found a great church to attend with Service service is both English and Spanish. Tried several local places to eat and they were all great, you must try the fried red snapper at Billy's Kitchen and the jerk chicken at ANA Azua Kitchen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Meh

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Good, not great location.
Great service and good (and expensive) food. The rooms are in need of remodeling. Not quite the value I had in mind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Right on the beach, nice swimming area in the sea, and the pool is steps away.
Location: The location is great. Easy walking, around a mile or so, from the center of town. Plenty of restaurants and groceries nearby.
Very nice experience at Banyan Bay. Our room was a bit dated, but was very spacious, and was very well decorated. Everything you might need was available in the kitchen. The staff was very nice throughout our stay. There is an onsite diving business to book excursions. They are very helpful, and the guides are great. We tried a variety of local food at the restaurants. It was great. We did not rent a golf cart, and walked to town numerous times during our stay. It is an easy walk, and you can always take a taxi back tom the hotel if needed. Really, no complaints. The stay was very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ks

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: After experiencing the recent hurrican they were up and running. Repairs were being done during our stay but did not interfer with our stay.
Location: the dive swhop was on site. All tours could be done at the office and San Pedro was only a short golf cart ride.
Our stay was as advertised. We were but a few steps from the restaurant and dive shop. The staff was very helpful and the maid service excelant. From the airport cab ,ferry service and cab to the Villas nothing could have been easier...Everyone was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant service and food was more than we thought it would be. The only thing that would have been better was a longer stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from omaha, ne

The view was fabulous from our room

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Fumigate for bugs often
Location: Scuba diving, snorkeling, many restaurants to choose from. The hotel will also arrange trips to the ruins, zoo, zip line and tubing in the rainforest
The staff was awesome. Dive shop and trips right at the hotel. I also went to the spa twice. Best massage ever. Snorkeling trips were great and conveniently located from the hotel. Only complaint were the amount of bugs in the kitchen area. Even when cleaned, still a lot of little bugs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane,wa

Great resort.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The pool and the well kept grounds.
Location: It is a ways to town, but we rented a golf cart. A grocery store, bakery, coffee shop and bagel shop are all within walking distance.
Banyan Bay was awesome. The rooms are more traditional and the furnishings older, but we spent so little time in our bungalow that it did not matter. We had 4 adults and we were very comfortable in our separate suites. We each had a bathroom which gave us ample room. The kitchen was well appointed with all of the necessities you will need including coffee pot, blender, dishes, etc. The pool is large and great for young and old. The continental breakfast was a different menu selection every day. For example one day it was oatmeal, french toast or fruit plate. The next it was french toast or oatmeal, etc. The breakfasts come with coffee.