Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean and helpful staff

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We loved our stay in the Venus hotel in St Ignacio. It was clean and comfortable. If you stay here, I recommend chatting with the staff! They are very friendly and helpful and full of cool suggestions for activities to do that you may otherwise miss in St Ignacio. I would recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bc

Close to main activities

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Good experience. Hotel staff were great, helpful, courteous .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally sufficient.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
We stayed for three nights. We were gone all day long so basically only slept there. But it was a good clean budget friendly place to stay. Right in the middle of town, we felt safe leaving our packs in the room when we went exploring. And was close to everything. Only thing was the shower water poured out everywhere due to poor design, but when I asked they provided plenty of towels to mop things up. Great deal for the price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for a cheap price

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Perfect location, right on the tourist street and next to the bus stop. Room was clean but always damp (no AC), so our wet clothes didn't dry out. To keep it fresh (not musty), we kept the window open, so I could hear the busses arriving early in the morning and people outside our room at all hours. Internet was not great in the lounge, and barely worked in our room at all. It was functional enough to do what we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied. Being that Belize is a tropical country with alot of humidity there is always alot of moisture especially when it is raining. All rooms have AC an option for guests to pay the extra fee. Unless the guest paid for the AC already. We have upgraded our internet and recently installed routers all over the building. Sometimes theres issues with the internet provider with their services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Avon Colorado

A 2 Star hotel with a 5 Star Customer Service!!!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location, Staff
Cons: Double windows, soundproof
Location: Everything is outside the hotel. Bus stop in the back street, great restaurant next door and the BEST tour company Maya Adventures right next door.
Budget hotel located in the heart of San Ignacio. You cant beat the location. Tour agencies, restaurants and bus stops are just outside the hotel. My background is in hospitality industry and while this is a 2 star hotel I have to highlight their top Customer Service. We were in touch long before my trip. From them i learn what to pack, what to see and even arranged my transfer from the airport. They were constantly checking on us and making sure we were comfortable. After we left San Ignacio to Caye Caulker my 7 years old realized he has left his favorite stuffed animal between the sheets. I contacted the hotel and in few days the package with his toy arrived to our new location. Yes, I would not hesitate to recommend them to any traveler interested in exploring San Ignacio. Note: the hotel rooms can feel loud and if you are staying on the plaza side you are definitely hear the music if they have any event outside (never later than 9:30pm) . So if you are looking for peace and quite and enjoy more "hotel time" you better stay in the lodges outside town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and great value

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
For the price, we couldn't have asked for more. A super clean, central hotel in the middle of San Ignacio. The breakfast is basic but perfect for something before the tours, there's full cable with plenty of English channels, hot water in the showers. We've paid much more for less. True value for money and a lot nicer than othe reviews lead you to believe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Good Value Hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Very helpful staff; central location; good price; decent wifi
Cons: Room would benefit from further maintenance and some additional fixtures
Location: Central location near a few restaurants, tour operators and grocery stores; also close to the main bus stop for travelling to other cities.
I chose this hotel for the central location and the lower price compared to other hotels in San Ignacio. The hotel room was basic, there was a comfortable bed, a chair and table, TV with lots of channels, and bathroom. The bathroom was lacking a few fixtures like a soap dish in the shower and a towel rack, but it was functional. The room could have benefited from additional maintenance, as half of the light bulbs were burnt out. My room was close to the lobby, so I got ok wifi reception. The big plus with this hotel was the staff, as one of the desk clerks on morning duty was willing to send text messages to the tour operators to confirm pickup times and locations as well as lend me his cell phone when the operators called. Room did not have A/C but the ceiling fan and standing fan were sufficient for me. The area can be a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, but otherwise it was a very comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Great time in the Cayo district Venus hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, and staff friendly young lady at front the desk was the best person I met in Belize.
Cons: I think it is always one or two things that could change, but nothing I would consider a barrier.
Location: Lots of shops, tours and bars nearby everything you need.
It was the best place for the price, great staff, close to the heart of the town, I enjoyed my stay and will return as soon as I can.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Venus Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Safe travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Close

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Centrally located howl close to the Main Street. Whilst mod cons were absent the place was clean and well maintained. The hotel staff were very friendly and happy to help. Well located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Centrally located hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The staff - friendly and willing to go the extra mile to offer help and advice
The Venus Hotel was the perfect hotel for our trip, centrally located and equip with all the necessary amenities. The staff were really lovely and willing to help with any questions about the hotel or San Ignacio in general. We are a young couple, backpacking through Central America and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in San Ignacio.