Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort is Outstanding

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Everything, I like the remoteness.
Location: We loved getting in the golf cart and bar hopping, our favorites were El Norte, The Bar over the water, can't remember the name, and Pirate's Treasure
My friends and I, who I travelled with are experienced and regular travelers, so when I say this was an exceptional experience it means a lot. The staff was incredible, from the front desk to the wait, bar and grounds staff, were off the wall great, the rooms were perfect, the food was great, and service exceptional. We will definitely return. A lot of our staff was from X'tan Ha, so that may be a consideration also, but we can't go wrong with Costa Blu.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 14, 2016
First of all, this review is for Belizian Shore, not X'tan Ha due to The damage by Hurricane. The hotel was just OK. It did not look like what I expected from the pictures on the web. Food was supper expensive for the quality. Pool was very small. Staff was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Dir. Guest Services , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Due to the destruction from Hurricane Earl it was necessary to move our guests from X'tan Ha to our sister resort, Belizean Shores Resort. We do apologize for this, however as you know, the storm and it's aftermath were completely out of our control. We understand that Belizean Shores is different from what you were expecting at X'tan Ha. We hope, in turn, hope that you understand that of course, our resorts will look different immediately following a hurricane. We suffered damage to our docks and landscaping which thankfully have all been restored now. Our crew worked tirelessly to ensure the safety of our guests and comfort. It is truly disappointing that this resulted in such a negative experience for you. Meal prices at our restaurant are comparable to other establishments in our part of the island, due to high transportation costs. We are glad that our helpful staff were able to bring something positive to your stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Beautiful beach. Water taxis to San Pedro are convenient if you don't want to rent a golf cart.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Awesome Vacation plus Hurricane Earl!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Loved Loved Loved the white sand up to your door. Who needs concrete sidewalks? Soft white sand as the walkways. Fun getting to know other guests!
Cons: Secret Beach needs to stay a secret. Believe me~road there is not a road. Beach is not a beach. Really laughable how NOTHING IS THERE. Mosquitoes!!
Location: Take your golf cart into town for dinner sometimes. 40 Minutes. Fine after dark. Awesome places, fun hanging with locals. Everyone SO NICE.
We loved the resort. Super relaxing and secluded. Best beach on Ambergris Caye; white sands and turquoise clear water. Such sweet staff! Unbelievably comfortable beds. Perfect air conditioners. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We left the day Hurricane Earl hit. The staff worked so hard prepping the resort for a natural disaster. They comforted guests, had positive attitudes and worked really really hard to protect lives as well as the resort. Take Care X'tan Ha, you are a wonderful place and we will be back. So, if you are planning to stay at X'tan Ha here are some pointers. Although the Boat Shuttle is fine, the little plane flight will make you happier. To and from the Municipal Airport in Belize City makes the flight cheaper. (I gotta admit, worth it, or maybe the Hurricane made me happier to be off the ocean.) X'tan Ha is far from town. 7 miles in a US city is no big deal, on Amburgris Caye itsa lot different. Do-able just plan ahead. Buy some grocery essentials in Belize before going to Amburgris, or get some groceries in little San Pedro. Since the rooms are like condos with kitchens, you can easily make breakfast or lunch or snacks etc. That way you don't have to eat in a restaurant every meal. X'tan Ha restaurant makes lovely food. The stores in San Pedro carry some absolutely amazing bread. San Pedro restaurants are delish too. Rent a golf cart for a few days. Roadrunner rentals gives you a deal 4 day deal and bring it to you. X'tan Ha can make the call
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Dir. Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at X'tan Ha Resort! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your vacation. Our team indeed worked tirelessly before, during and after the hurricane to ensure that all of our guests were safe and comfortable and to prevent, as much as possible, damage to our property. We are proud to say that there were no injuries and that the majority of our guests were understanding of the circumstances that were beyond our control. We are bouncing back quickly and hope to host you again in the future so that you can see firsthand the many improvements and updates that we have in the works.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outside is well maintained

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The activities and Tuff e Nuff crew
Cons: Housekeeping and in room maintenance
Location: outside of San Pedro if you don't want to deal with in town stuff this is a good location but if you want to go into town it will get pricey
The Hotel looks great on the outside. The villas are comfortable however the maintenance is poor water pressure off and on. Faucet handle came off and was not repaired and toilet was leaking at the base. The activities were great, you can swim in the Sea in front of the hotel, paddle board and kayak
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Great staff!! The inside of the resort rooms could use some updating but where that needs improving, the hotel staff makes up for it!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great Beach Family Friendly

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Perfect beach, fun staff, great views, wonderful tour operators.
Cons: Restaurant is lacking in selection, service was slow, and prices were a little steep.
Location: The view from our ocean front room was amazing! Nearby Costa Blu restaurant is fantastic setting and food.
Great beach north of San Pedro. Facilities were immaculate, grounds people really do a fantastic job. Front desk folks are lively and fun, with great recommendations and accommodating personalities. Pools and calm waters are perfect for families. Rooms are suited for extended stay with full size refrigerator and small stove. You'll need a golf cart to get to town, unless you haul everything back via golf cart (not cheap, $500/week). The tour operators, Tuff E Nuff are great, and highly recommended. Ask for Pepper or Candy Man, they'll give you a great experience and entertain you along the way. Restaurant is adequate, but the nearby Costa Blu (10 minute walk south on the beach) was far superior.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Cute hotel, great beach

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: beach, staff
Cons: the food is OK
The staff here was so nice, the beach and views are gorgeous, it was a wonderful home away from home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Very Relaxing vacation on nice beach.

Posted May 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Remote location, beach & pools.
Cons: House keeping was not well trained, but ok.
Location: Not much nearby but rent a golf cart & that all changes. Excursions are expensive, so we went on our own. Did not snorkel but heard it was very good
Only 4 nights, but nice experience. Too Hot this time of year & mosquitos very bad at night, but otherwise it was lovely. Cabana was perfect & pools were small but very nice. The location is remote, but renting the golf cart made it fun to explore the city & rest of the area. The beach was gorgeous & the grounds as well. So quite & relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we are 30-minute golf-cart ride from San Pedro Town, we find that the distance allows us to be away from the hustle and bustle and provide an authentic relaxing atmosphere. We do provide complimentary bicycles, kayaks and SUP boards for our guests' enjoyment, as well as on-site activities such as a giant outside chessboard, ping pong table and over-the-water trampoline.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved this resort!

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: The amenities and food.
Cons: The sheets in our room were a little too worn for me. But that bed is amazing! And the catamaran tour could be faster boat and more time on caulker.
Location: Very far from town. Enjoy the resort or if you do want to leave bike to playa rojo or other hotel bars if you get bored staying in. Golf cart to town.
The resort has the best complimentary amenities. We used all of them, kayak, sup, snorkel (not comp), hobie cat, bikes, and the golf cart (that wasn't complimentary). We loved how beautiful and colorful the resort was and enjoyed hanging around the hotel, playing in the water, and biking to other bars. We especially loved the food here. Best food ever, even breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by DirGuestSrv, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We do take the comments that we receive from our guests seriously and regularly make improvements based on your feedback. We will aim to improve the areas that you identified and are happy to know that our on-site amenities and activities were a highlight of your time at X'tan Ha Resort.