Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff. Nice Beach

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Location: Hotel is a fair distance from town and mainland. Several restaurants nearby with complementary transportation. Tours available on site.
One of the best resort beaches that we saw during our stay. Resort staff was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, TX

Great room about 30 ft from the water.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The staff was accomodating and we enjoyed the small size of the resort. You have an opportunity to meet most of the guests on the property. It gives a bit of a neighborhood feel where everyone knows everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful, secluded resort

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and would go out of their way to make your stay a great one. The beach and water are beautiful!
Cons: The restaurant needs more options, don't precisely measure shots at the bar.
Location: Rent a cart from somewhere in town-much cheaper! Drive to Secret Beach, Chicken Drop, Marbucks, Feliz Bar-best drinks, Portofino-dinner.
We booked this stay using Expedia and the stay was well worth the price. We let the hotel book our flight from Belize City to San Pedro and the transfers from the flight to the taxi and boat were seamless. Like others said, it is quite a bit up north from town but the grounds are beautiful and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. Kayaking was fun and we booked a snorkel trip with Doughey (Tuff e Nuff) that was some of the best snorkeling we have done. The guides were great! The restaurant is pretty good, but food and drinks are pricey. Get the shrimp sandwich and grilled cheese, stay away from the fried conch. When landing at the airport, get a bottle of duty free alcohol, it will save you tons. Shout out to Elbin (sp?) at the bar, Jeffrey, Warren, everyone. The rooms are large, the water is smelly but they give you plenty of bottled water to use. Overall, great experience for the price of accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Photos not changed after hurricane

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The rooms right on the beach are great.
Cons: The food could use lots of improvement. The salsa was canned Pace, disgusting! When on an island just miles from Mexico fresh salsa is expected!
Location: Quite remote. Must take water taxi or rent golf cart (which hotel did not recommend) to get to town.
ALL of the people we met at the hotel had booked thru Expedia, primarily from the incredible photos of the bar. HOWEVER, we learned that it had blown away months ago (months before we booked our trip), yet they left the photos up. They had just put in a small bar on the beach only a week prior to our arrival. My complaint = Have photos up that show what really is available at the hotel. False advertising is not appreciated!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Well maintained beach; beyond the resort's beach garbage every where. Restaurant good not great. Most of the staff was Very nice. however some staff discouraged us from trying different places to eat or spend the day in what appeared to be an effort to keep us spending money there. Comfortable rooms. Family friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

A great experience!

Posted Feb 4, 2017
We had a fantastic time at X'tan Ha! The staff were very friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Our transfer to and from the resort from the airport was made simple, and we were greeted and given a personal tour of the resort on arrival. The resort is on the small side, which gave it a perfectly quiet and relaxing vibe, which was enhanced by the beautiful surroundings and well kept grounds. We would definitely stay at this resort again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family. We were also impressed by Tuff E Nuff Tours, the company that works with the hotel to offer different activities and excursions. We were taken on a nearly 2 hour personal guided snorkeling tour that far surpassed our expectations (it was very reasonably priced as well!). Our guide, Clifford aka Pepper, was a pleasure. He was very courteous and knowledgeable, which made for a really fulfilling experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great resort for fun and R&R

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Rooms, grounds, beach, location, staff
Cons: Include a small "general store" for guest to purchase the basics (milk, juice, snacks, etc).
Location: A little far from San Pedro, but very easy to get into town via a golf cart and/or water taxi
From the moment your arrive in San Pedro, this resort and its staff do everything they can to make you feel welcomed and relaxed. The resort sits far enough away from the town to feel secluded and disconnected, but close enough to have fun and explore what San Pedro has to offer. The grounds and villas are in perfect shape and the beach is one of the best I saw on a resort. Strongly suggest you stay here if you want to experience everything Ambergris Caye has to offer. We will be back very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lynnwood, WA USA

Beautiful Balcony View

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The environment is just what I was looking for, rest and relaxation and to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.
X' Tan Ha resort is about a 20 minute boat ride away from San Pedro, Belize. Upon arrival we were greeted by staff members and offered a punch fruit drink and then shown around the resort. There are two swimming pools, a water trampoline, water volleyball and kayaks available to use. The coral sand beach is well groomed several times a day and is lined with colorful chaise lounges and umbrellas. X' Tan Ha is kid friendly. There are many activities available, such as snorkeling, scuba diving, fishing, and the resort does the scheduling so you don't have to. Golf carts are available for rent if you want to venture out. There is a restaurant on site and another a short walk away down the beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Never Book This Hotel. Find Another Place to Stay.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: This so-called resort was located directly on the beach.
Cons: train staff to address guest concerns; (2) address the lack of water; (3) correct the website to remove non-existent amenities
Location: The location is remote. All excursions are by boat/airplane.
We have traveled around the world, and this so-called resort was the worst experience we have ever had. We booked 3 villas and requested adjoining rooms on our reservation. When we arrived, we had been placed in 3 separate buildings. When we asked that the "resort" reconsider, they made a minimal effort and then cited the Expedia no-guarantee policy. After that, things went down hill. We had several days when there was no water in our rooms, hot water was limited, water pressure was minimal. As a party of 6, we were consistently denied the pleasure of dining together in the restaurant, as we were told it was impossible, even if there were only 2 other diners in the whole restaurant. The bar and dive shop were washed away by the hurricane so you have to go elsewhere for these amenities. While we were there, multiple other guests attempted to leave the "resort" because of these issues. Based upon the "resort" and Expedia website-posted amenties and guest reviews, we booked this so-called resort. We were extremely disappointed by the lack of amenities, the staff response to our basic requests, and the lack of basic needs such as daily access to water. We would never recommend this so-called resort to anyone. There are far nicer resorts with far nicer amenities that we ended up spending our time at since our so-called resort didn't have any.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by DirGuestSer , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are truly sorry that your expectations were not met. We state clearly that all bookings made through a third party with special requests (Adjoining rooms in this instance) will be evaluated at check-in and we are not able to guarantee these requests. Beyond that, we have made special note of your complaints as we regularly make improvements based on the feedback that we receive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort is Outstanding

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Everything, I like the remoteness.
Location: We loved getting in the golf cart and bar hopping, our favorites were El Norte, The Bar over the water, can't remember the name, and Pirate's Treasure
My friends and I, who I travelled with are experienced and regular travelers, so when I say this was an exceptional experience it means a lot. The staff was incredible, from the front desk to the wait, bar and grounds staff, were off the wall great, the rooms were perfect, the food was great, and service exceptional. We will definitely return. A lot of our staff was from X'tan Ha, so that may be a consideration also, but we can't go wrong with Costa Blu.