Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Royal Oak, Michigan

A Fantastic Place To Stay!!!

Posted Jul 5, 2016
We stayed here over the Fourth Of July weekend. Everything here was wonderful from the moment we pulled into the property!!! With the beautiful lush grounds, the very nice looking hotel, the warm, competent, friendly staff and a room that was like a very appointed apartment...how could you go wrong here. Anyone that has something bad to say about this place most likely is a difficult person that has some crazy expectations not just from the hotel, grounds and staff but, life in general!! If this is you...do us all a favor and go somewhere else because, this is a GREAT place that has nothing short of a really nice experience to share with all!!! Also, I would have shared pictures but, in reviewing them they looked just like the ones that are online.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Cesar from Detroit Michigan

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
El agua de los grifos es color café o amarilla por el óxido! Yo no bebería esa agua
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

loved it-excuse the rude front desk guy

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
the only reason that I rated "hotel service" a bit lower, was the gentleman who checked us in was not pleasant at all!!!!! and he was EXTREMELY RUDE TO THE YOUNG LADY HE WAS WORKING WITH.----other than that this was a wonderful place,,,i will return, just hope the guy behind the desk is not there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Great Hotel with Lovely Surroundings

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Beautiful room, good restaurant, lovely surroundings and wonderfully nice, helpful staff.
Cons: Being that it is considered a "condo" I would have liked a cooktop instead of just a microwave. The rooms should have plates and utensils too.
Location: Beautiful Northern Michigan surroundings with a nice looking golf course.
I was looking for a nice hotel within a reasonable distance of Traverse City and Shanty Creek was a good fit. It was more of a condo than a hotel room (though the rooms do not have a cooktop, just a microwave) which was what I was specifically looking for. A cooktop would have been a plus, but I made do with the microwave. I did have to go get plates and utensils from their restaurant (normally a condo has these things in the room) but they were accommodating and meals worked out fine. The room was very nice and a reasonable value (considering that it was a busy, sold out weekend in Traverse City and rooms that were available there were twice as expensive). I am not sure that I would pay as much per night the next time, but it was very nice considering the very full bookings closer to TC. I don't play golf, but it looks like it would be a fantastic place for a golf vacation. The people at the front desk were absolutely fantastic. I would easily rate this as a 4.5 or above place to stay.
5 out of 5
by paulette from Southfield, MI

Beautiful property!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
What a beautiful place. We only stayed because Traverse City was out of power when were there visiting my father in the hospital. I will be back sometime for a vacation. It is a gorgeous property.
4 out of 5
by Joshua from Indiana

Great stay

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great views! Spacious room, fireplace, with a private deck made for a wonderful couple getaway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average room for above average location

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Nice, quiet location except for paper thin walls! Room was spacious but a few construction issues like shower door wouldn't shut same with bathroom door.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The Spa bath in room didn't work. The tub was filling up with tepid water. They couldn't change out room nor were they willing to give us a refund of some kind. They also charged us twice for the hold they put on your card as you check in. Not willing to cooperate any way to rectify this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southwest Mich

Quiet and Clean

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The room size was great, the hotel staff was very receptive and helpful, and the location is scenic.
Cons: Didn't care for the shower head, seemed like a cheap version of the rainshower type, but not very strong. No room to put shampoo and conditioner out.
Cedar Village is tucked away in the woods, but still very accessible. I heard from a local that this is the newer of the three resorts. We were very happy with the room. It was larger than most and had a terrific balcony. It was equipped with an iron, a blow dryer, and a little refrigerator. It was quiet for a weekend, but the first weekend of May should be a lull between ski season and the top of summer. Since it doesn't give me enough to room below to say what wasn't right, I'll do that here. The A/C ran so loud on the roof that it made it hard to fall asleep. Pick the first floor, if you can.