Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario

Located in the middle of an urban setting.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Very large, clean and comfortable room.
Cons: Better restaurant.
Location: It is in wine country with some good wineries nearby. Plenty of local artists a fairly good restaurants.
The room was great. There are no amenities such as a pool. There is no elevator. The breakfast was included but was very poor quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Nice option for staying in PEC

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast, big rooms with private balconies, close to downtown Picton
Cons: Bed is too soft with the feather pillow top, room cleanliness should be reviewed by hotel manager from time to time to ensure everything is spot on
Location: About 7 minute drive to downtown Picton. Close to Barley Days brewery and some wineries. About 20 minutes to Sandbanks park
We had a good stay at the Waring House, we stayed in a premium room and it was quite large with a standing shower, 2 person bath tub, private balcony, 2 large chairs to sit in and gas fireplace (although we did not use that :)). Unfortunately, room cleanliness was not 100%, some door frames were sticky, provided glasses (wine and water glasses) were not changed but merely wiped and put back (with obvious lip smudges left on them) and the bed cover had some obvious (albeit smallish) stains on it and never got changed during our stay. Not what we expect for a 200$+ room :(. All in all though, these are small things which should be very easy to correct to make the next guests' stay a perfect one. One last thing to note, the bed had feather pillow top which made it way too soft for our taste.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Pleasantly Surprised!

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Cons: Nada. Everything was great.
My wife and I had been visiting family in Toronto and more or less randomly decided to overnight in Prince Edward County on our way back to Ottawa. We have talked for years about going to PEC but have never visited. I used TripAdvisor several days in advance to find The Waring House. What a great choice! We were totally pleased with every aspect of our overnight stay and would return in a heartbeat. We ate at a great place in nearby Bloomfield and had intended to check out the pub at The Waring House but were too tired when we got back. We did check out the pub the next morning as we headed to breakfast...looked great and they offer live music! It looked like they also offer a decent selection of single malts. On a future visit we would definitely sip a pint or two at the pub while taking in some great celtic music! The facility is also located ~15mins from Sandbanks (awesome!) and there's lots of other stuff to see and do in the area...particularly if you're interested in visiting vineyards and sampling quality Ontario wines! We highly recommend The Waring House! Who knew?? :-P
4 out of 5
by Gerard from Hamilton

Good Experience

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
The town of Picton is very appealing, with its proximity to Lake Ontario and the original country inn - with its 4 guest rooms and attractive pub/restaurant- is overflowing with character and atmosphere. If you're staying in one of the detached lodges, which are mainly of 21st century construction, they're still nice - but they're more like staying at a good Best Western.
4 out of 5
by Donald C from Ottawa

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
The room was fabulous! The dinner for one of us was great but very, very marginal for the other. When the server was made aware of this she promised to tell the kitchen - no adjustment was made despite eating less than half of it. Not a great memory of what was supposed to be a great evening away!
3 out of 5
by Peter from Ottawa

Off season just ok

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Decent accommodations, but no elevator to second floor if you need it. We had a wonderful dinner their in June (peak season) but found food and service just OK in the off season.
4 out of 5
by Gary from Oakville

The Great Escape!

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable 2 night stay. Although the building we stayed in was only recently added it contained all the charm of the older buildings on the site, good size room, with a very nice balcony. Breakfasts, which were included in the nightly rate, were first rate. Will definitely be back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa,ON

Summer getaway

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The breakfast and the large room.
Cons: We had trouble keeping the a/c on and we never figured out how the satellite television worked.
Location: Great location to visit wineries.
My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Waring House. Our room was lovely and spacious and the breakfasts were excellent - great waffles and pancakes with fruit. This hotel is very nice and very quiet. We visited several wineries in the area. We certainly got excellent value with this stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

Beautiful winter getaway.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Spacious room, very clean with beautiful antique-like Gibbard furniture. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location: It is close to the beach in summer, over thirty wineries and the cidery year round, and great restaurants to choose from.
Spent Valentine's Day evening in a premium queen room sitting by the fireplace watching snowmobilers driving on the trail outside of our patio doors.
4 out of 5
by Ben from TO

Nice Getaway from TO

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
Great staff, lovely area, good value. Nice getaway from TO.