Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

leisure

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: The view
Location: University town. Restaurants. Walk by the water
good location. Lovely view. Room clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Our Getaway Stay

Posted May 2, 2017
We have stayed at the hotel before and have always enjoyed our stay. it is nice to go for walks in the area rain or shine. We were in room 122 this time and prefer this location and its balcony. (1)The one negative is the height of the bed. Oh My God!! I could hardly get up on it...it is too high for any normal, in shape, active person. If there had been a step stool(2) it would be okay but as it exist, it is not good...FIX THIS before someone injures themselves. (2)There is only one cushioned chair to sit on. I assume that most people who stay at the hotel are a couple, therefore, two comfy chairs are a must in order to sit at and enjoy the ambiance of the fireplace. FIX this one also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bellingham

Love it

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Great location. Real swanky so to speak. It was a real treat for us to stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with views of the harbor and marina.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Location, looks & room comfort.
Cons: Response of maintenance staff and front desk knowledge of what to do in minor emergencies.
Location: Close to the harbor and several near-by restaurants. Walking paths in the marina area are very nice. Close to downtown Bellingham.
Everything was just fine until the toilet wouldn't quit flushing and flooded the bathroom until I could shut off the water to it. A further negative was that "Maintenance" couldn't come until the next morning. What if I was someone who didn't know how to shut off the water??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views and walking

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Beautiful hotel on the harbor. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return.
5 out of 5
by Trevor

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel, great staff. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Trains were noisy during the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bellevue, wa

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Our trip was to visit family in the area. We were surprised by how beautiful the hotel was and the setting. The walk around the marina was nice and restaurants in the hotel were good. Convenient to restaurants and shopping in the old town area. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Jodie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Martha

Classy, welcoming waterfront hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
The Bellwether is a tremendous value - luxurious, wonderful staff, great amenities, at a very reasonable rate. This is now our #1 go-to spot when we need to stay in the area. A bit off the beaten path, as it's not walkable to Bellingham retail core or Fairhaven district, but it's on the water, with a nice walking path, and a number of restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and Romantic hotel!

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
We loved it!! Nice room, quite and the beds are so comfortable. slept like a baby!