Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Hotel was good, evening meal and breakfast very as expected. Hotel staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

close to the park

Posted Feb 26, 2017
was not a pleasureful stay due to being there for a funeral but the hotel was nice, would recommend. only let down was black pudding and watery orange juice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff and hitel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Very happy with the staff and facilities. Excellent breakfast. I will be back
5 out of 5
by Terry

Great Customer Service!

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
My Husband and I stayed at the Alona for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year, whilst visiting family. Our room was ground floor, quiet, spacious and well presented, with clean quality linen and towels, the bathroom was immaculate. 'Customer Service' from Housekeeping, Reception and Restaurant staff was excellent, everyone was very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Although we did not use the Restaurant for Dinner, we enjoyed a great Scottish Breakfast each morning, which was hot, had good choice and was plentiful. The Hotel is situated just within Strathclyde Park with good road links for onward travel. I would not hesitate to recommend the Alona to families, couples or business travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Short Break

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Hotel was lovely and staff were superb! Only down side was that the bed wasn't the comfiest, and there was a contact clicking/water running sound for 5 minutes every hour or so, not sure if just people upstairs or if it was part of the heating system got quite annoying after a while however I would put it down to the room itself. Would definitely go back, great value for money none the less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Hotel was lovely breakfast was terrible would stay again but would not include breakfast in stay again .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

An ok hotel with nice breakfast

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The room, breakfast and location.
Cons: The check in staff which is the first impression of the hotel. Maybe a customer service course would not go a miss.
Check in staff was very unwelcoming and bordering on rude, but the breakfast staff and room maids very friendly. The room maids where quite noisy every morning at 0700 which woke us up. Breakfast is very nice, but they should also offer square sausage. The rooms don't have any AC only a radiator and the room was very hot even with the radiator totally turned off.
5 out of 5
by eric

Super!

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for visiting family in Hamilton for Xmas. Very pleasant staff and welcoming. Huge room that was spotless. Lovely touch of caramel wafers left every day (my favourite). Breakfast was fab, lots of hot choice and continental if you wanted it. Had a lunch booked for Xmas eve and it was fantastic value and very tasty and well presented. Loved this hotel and will certainly come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from o

Nice last minute stay here before xmas

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Staff were nice,a complimentary drink on arrival for me and the wife,room was a bit cold thats the only hang up,but everything else was good and the breakfast in the morning was really filling and nice to eat
5 out of 5
by Martine

Fabulous food

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel restaurant was fantastic - small/low key but food was fabulous - will definitely come again (recommended to family/friends already)