Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

OK for a basic, affordable room

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the beach and downtown, the relaxed atmosphere
Cons: Cleanliness, mosquito control
Location: Belmar has a cute downtown area that you can walk to in 15 minutes. Check out Beach Haus Brewery and Klein's Seafood.
If you just want a very basic room that is convenient to the beach and downtown, this place is okay if you don't have high standards for cleanliness. I don't think they have dusted or vacuumed for months. However, the staff was quite friendly and accommodating. There's a nice wrap-around porch to sit on and a roomy lobby. It is an old building, though, and only window-unit air is offered. Do not expect lots of modern facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Would have preferred to sleep on the beach. Rundown and dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mosquito infested bathroom

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Did not stay and went to a real hotel. Actually the real H Inn was only slightly more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Stay away!! Totally disgusting. We ck in and found the room was not clean at all ,small refuse had gross spilled and hair inside and was not cold the bathroom was not clean there was crap in the bowl and on the seat, air conditioner did not work -way to small for room size bed looked like it was remade after someone slept in it. Stayed two hrs and cked out
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Inexpensive Hotel in Good Location

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: 12th Ave. right off Ocean.
Cons: Updated rooms. Cleaner facility
Decided to stay last minute and booked room without knowing the property. We got a third floor walk-up room. Unit AC. Sofa was full of sand-no way would I ever sit on it. No telephone in room. Vending machines dispensed warm drinks. Old property. Bathroom was clean and so was the linens but the hallways needed vacuuming. Some strange characters hanging about. Just a place to take a shower and sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Quick and easy stay. Room was big and clean. Perfect location. Staff was friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
by Dave, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the feedback, See you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Glens Fall, NY

It was close to the beach BUT...

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: It definitely needs a good cleaning and some repairs (sink, shower door). People should be told there is no elevator because the stairs are old.
Location: Six Flags Great Adventure in the am and Point Pleasant Beach and Jenkinsons Boardwalk in the p.m (both about 20 mins away). The beach was beautiful.
This hotel was close to the beach (maybe a half block) and did not "smell" like a typical beach hotel. The room and comforter were dirty. The narrow stairs and hallway were filthy and rickety. There is NOT an elevator in this hotel. So if you have trouble with steep stairs make sure to request a ground floor room. The air conditioner (a window unit) was disgusting. It had not been cleaned in a long time and had visible dirt and dust a good inch thick in the vents. Other reviews indicated it was noisy. We found the noise level acceptable. The porch was nice to sit on and relax. The shower door was broken and bathroom sink was propped up on tension rods. The tv did not work and the stations jumped around (thankfully we only used it at night as we were busy exploring!) There were no curtains in the room but there was blinds.
1 out of 5
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't think of staying here

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: It's the NJ shore. Great beach.
Place is dirty. Board of health should shut it down. Do not stay here....