Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Fun woodsy retreat for the kids.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We got the feel of being out in the woods, with the convenience of a pool and facilities. I didn't want to camp alone with my two young children, so this was a great option. Much more fun than staying in a regular hotel. The cabins are old, but clean. It's a rustic cabin, not a 5 star resort. Set you expectations accordingly. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. It's in a perfect location for exploring Santa cruz and the Bay Area. Close proximity to roaring camp railroad and Henry Cowell made day trip easy. Still had time to go in the pool in the evening. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

Nice small cabin with full kitchen!

Posted May 31, 2017
Good place to stay. The staff for the rental was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central CA

Magical Mountain Retreat

Posted May 16, 2017
The Timberline Resort is a step back in time...and away from the hurly-burly. Our hosts eager to please. Our quaint cottage was peacefully nested in the trees. While absolutely not fancy, therein lies its charm. Cooked breakfasts; also enjoyed fine meal at nearby Casa Nostra. Great hiking at Cowell Redwoods Park. For those who enjoy coffee on your own woodland terrace listening to the birds and the breeze, this is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Felton California

Cabin in the woods

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: no
Location: Plenty of trees it was Excellent
The cabin was adequate and satisfied my needs. There was light that shown in from the yards lights tha made it difficult to drop off to sleep. Which only cause amplified the fact thatthere was a plastic mattress cover right under the sheet on my bed. The kitchen was clean and had some of the things would use to prepare and eat a meal. There were no bowls, but there were plates. The kitchen was comfortable to be in. The appliances were new or almost new. The bathroom was clean and fresh with plenty of towels, hot water. The living room was OK. There was nothing fancy about the place. Which is exacly what I wanted. I will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not near beach

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Not near beach. Do not know where this came from. Which cabin you get makes a difference!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Well located and with promise, but run down.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Great location and funky-cool cabins with a full kitchen.
Cons: Lots. Site needs cleaning up and cabins need remodeling.
Location: Don Quixote's for live music, Cowboy Cafe and many other restaurants, good breakfast places (Spanky's is one) and local coffee places as well.
We came to see Eric Johnson at Don Quixote's and this is perfectly located near it and the must try, Cowboy Cafe. Unfortunately, the deferred maintenance is apparent at every turn. Blue tarps on many of the roofs, water staining on the ceiling of our room, low quality, run down finishes and junk cars and building materials littering the property. It is a great location set back among the trees however, so I hope it is soon to see a make over. There are cabins facing the main common area with a pool and four units up above on a small bluff. Lot's of promise. Better mattresses would make the time during the transformation more bearable!
5 out of 5
by Craig

Private and Spacious

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
The cabins at Jaye's were very private and its a beautiful location. Staff was very friendly and informative about the area. The cabins are individual, so no neighbors on the other side of the wall. Very spacious, included a full kitchen. I highly recommend this place and I will return. Thanks
5 out of 5
by Zachary

Great Cabin in the Woods

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
The cabins in the Redwoods are great. Fairly priced as well. I wish we could have stayed longer to explore the area a bit more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Quaint

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
We really just needed one night in a family setting, close enough to the SF Bay Area, Santa Cruz redwoods and Santa Cruz, and this fit the bill. The cottages were cozy and the staff/owner? was friendly and accommodating. All good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great "Old Highway" type of motel with cabins.

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Fun "Old Highway" type of property. Cabins, trees, small patio, quiet but a little old. Frankly I like that it's not modern and high tech. It's like revisiting the 40's or 50's. Great fun.