Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Shiny outsside, cheap inside

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Don’t charge extra for a fridge and make sure room wifi is available at all times. Also modernise the minimal old wooden room furniture
Location: Near centre of Benalmadena so easy to move around, but on a steep hill for older clients
If you like paper thin walls, almost non-existent room Wi-fi, unrequested early morning calls, insipid breakfasts and minimal old wooden room furniture then San Fermin hotel is for you. Biggest negative was the need to hire a fridge ! Even when I told reception I had 2 medications I needed to keep cold, they were totally unsympathetic as ‘it’s only a 3 star hotel” ! Really ? Wanted me to come down to reception during the night to retrieve meds from them, maybe more than once, as an alternative to them supplying the fridge. Declined on principle and made other arrangements as I also didn’t check small print to see if I would be charged for hot water, electricity or towels either ! Shocking customer service in my opinion. Gets 1 star for being reasonably clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel food good

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Hotel was good food good too pool bar good price but it’s 2 Euro for sun loungers hotel up a steep hill maids work hard room towels changed daily clean rooms not that big but never in it only to sleep and shower
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Good value hotel, friendly staff close to beach.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Our stay at the San Fermin was very pleasant. Staff were friendly and rooms, although basic, were very clean. The hotel is well placed to enjoy all that Benalmadena has to offer. Just a short distance from the beach and Paloma Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location going........downhill

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The staff, food and the location at the San Fermin(going downhill) we're great. The on site entertainment was a bonus and we had a great sun facing room overlooking the pool. All in all, I would gladly return to this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Nice but basic hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Staff.....friendly and helpful. Breakfast.....very nice and good choice. TV in room....BBC and ITV a rarity. Facilities....especially around the pool
Cons: Cleaning under bed but that's about all.
Location: Right in the centre of it all. Bars and restuarants a plenty but just be warned about the steep hill up from the beach.
Everything about this hotel, bearing in mind that it is 3 star I would want to say I liked. However, the balcony doors did not lock although this was reported to management and not fixed. Underneath the bed appeared not to be cleaned and produced a succession of long blonde hairs that were not ours. That's about all I didn't like. I did like: Staff.....friendly and helpful. Breakfast.....very nice and good choice. TV in room....BBC and ITV a rarity. Facilities....especially around the pool area. Great pool...massive and very clean. Reasonable bar prices.....bar right next to the pool area where it was easy and comfortable to find a nice table. Conclusion: For what we paid we were very pleased. Bedroom cleaned every day (except under the bed) and clean towels everyday if required. Would recommend to friends as value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good Hotel would recommend it to others

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Value for money
Cons: More draw space for clothes
Location: There is a very good restaurant directly behind the hotel that serves very good food and NOT cheesy chips.
We stayed on a B&B basis as we like to find typical Spanish foods. The grounds of the hotel were kept tidy and there was enough sunbeds for everyone and they cost 2 Euros for the full day. A nice big swimming pool and children's pool with life guard. The hotel itself was kept exceptionally clean as were the bedrooms. Linen was changed on a regular basis. The reception staff were always pleasant as were the staff in the restaurant. The hotel is situated half between the village of Benalmadena and the beach at the top of a steep hill. If you have a heart or walking problems this may be a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Our second visit to this lovely hotel.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, food was superb and delicious, staff are super and really friendly. Enjoyed the entertainment.
Location: Lots of information available at the reception about excursions, but excellent transport links for visiting nearby attractions.
This was our second visit to this lovely hotel and our stay was just as fantastic as the first time. The hotel is kept absolutely spotless and the staff are so friendly and helpful, they really make your stay special. My husband is disabled and cannot walk too far, so we were given a room that was very close to the lifts and at mealtimes the wonderful Maitre'D made sure we were seated close to the buffet area. Thoughtful gestures like are remembered. We will definitely be returning and look forward to it.
4 out of 5
by Katharine

Great spot!

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Really convenient area for getting around to shops, beach and bus stops. Also some attractions are walking distance. Staff were always helpful and friendly. Entertainment was planned for every night. Breakfast and dinner was very good, loads of choice. Dinner options were different every night! Only negative thing I would say would be that I didn't know what some of the food was as there were no labels. The room was basic but clean and comfortable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Nice hotel close to the beach via quite steep hill

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: pool and bar area
Cons: More English dishes in restaurant Better entertainment including singers
Location: Fair location to beach and night life although return journey up cardiac hill sometimes tiring Marina about ten minute walk lots to do here.
The hotel grounds and pool area are great, rooms adequate though not luxurious. Cleanliness excellent bar staff very friendly (particularly the 2 ladies at the pool bar during the day) with reasonable prices for food and snacks. Food is a bit hit and miss for the English...mostly able to find something but hotel mainly cater for Spanish with lots of fish dishes and meats in sauces. Plain food limited. Breakfast ok - bacon and sausages typically Spanish but plenty of fruit and pastries .Entertainment is what lets this hotel down - no actual singers the entire week we were there, 2 magic shows, a pop quiz which lasted about half an hour and bingo which is not everyone's cup of tea. We have stayed in other hotels where entertainment is superb. Sun beds cost 2 euro per day each which we knew before the holiday and this is actually a good system and ensures that you are able to get a bed at any time of day. The beach is only a few minutes walk down cardiac hill and there are several bars en route including La Fiesta which is superb!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Very hilly and access road in poor condition.

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Very clean hotel with a fast check in. Overall fantastic food with good staff service (albeit often slow). Drinks very very reasonably priced and entertainment was good, especially for children. The rooms are very small though, but who goes on holiday to stay in the room! The hill going up to the hotel is a killer, especially in high season heat!