Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Somwtiibg was off this time

Posted Dec 28, 2016
I've always gone back to Taj properties because of their well trained employees and service levels.This was the first time I visited during Christmas -the heavy outpour of customers and the lack of enough staff may have been the cause of my getting frustrated a few times.The food, amazing desserts Mr. D.S.Rawat puts out in Li Bai, the property as pretty as ever - all the big pieces were fine but hey isn't that why one chooses these premium properties over the rest - I take these as a given, it's the smaller stuff that wasn't up to scratch.It took me 7 calls and asking for a manager to book my airport pickup when I asked the lady who was picking my call each time what her name was she said she wasn't authorised to give me her name, which I know to be untrue.Id reserved a triple bed, where they'd said they'd place the third bed when we'd call for it. When I finally did call for it I was told all beds are taken and they can send across a mattress. I wasn't expecting my guests to sleep on a mattress!I was also told that this would be escalated to a supervisor who would call me up the next day. I waited till mid day next day , no call, so I called and was told the bed would be sent across and I wouldn't be charged for it, which was done at the time of checkout. While the charges for the third bed were nominal versus the overall,the experience was unfun.The.room was a little cramped with the third bed in.The wait at restaurants was longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Grand hotel a little too far from sights of Goa!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Privacy and restful holiday
Cons: Its perfect
Location: We had to drive a distance to see sights and what we saw was not worth seeing.
Arrived in mid day. Our rooom was ready! Greeted with a refreshing cold towel and drink. Staff went out of their way to make our stay great. As a service oriented hotel my husband was asked if he need ed anything and he joked and said a red Ferrari! We returned tour room later that day and the chef made him a chocolate red Ferrari and left it in our room. A rare treat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

November at Taj Exotica goa

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
I think Taj Exotica is one of the top hotels in Goa. Its location is in south goa and located on a stretch of a very long beach. The hotel security is very tight. Even though there is construction going on in the hotel area, the workers are managed well and you don't see many of them. The food is expensive, especially the Italian restaurant and the Eugane which offers 24 hr service. I think the food is not good value for the money. Definetly try their east indian specialty foods: masala, currey, seafoods.yamiii... have a nice time on the white sands of the Benaulim beach. Also crowd was mostly over 50 year olds. A few couples with kids. Not many singles. The wheather is hot in the mornings and cool at nights. Expect mosquito bites. Great pool area. Great staff specially security team. Expect to pay tips alotttt.. bugey service is fast. The hotel grounds are huge for goa. Didn't like the guys at the reception but the ladies are very polite. Overall you expect to recieve this kind of service when paying 500 usd + for a room/ suite per night. Cheers
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice goa hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay at a lovely property. Large grounds great pool and a number of restaurants to choose from. Right by a lovely beach in a quiet part of goa. Very enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thousand oaks, United States of America

Breakfast quality is not that great for the price

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Service can be better for the price, breakfast and service is up to Taj level
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Overpriced for location

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were very cordial and made great efforts to make my stay comfortable. Spa services were excellent.
Cons: Hotel is old. I was lucky to get into a newly renovated room because of upgrades made because of the BRICS conference. I however was charged an upgrade fee. There isnt much to do in terms of activities such as bar or music. Most things were either shut down or closed early. The pool was dirty. The beach had a bunch of stray dogs that defecated the beach. Overall I expected more for the price I paid. The only meal that was included was breakfast. This location is out of the way and not close to anything and doesnt offer much for a single traveller.
Location: Not much that was close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent service

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Apart from the beach everything else is a taxi journey away.
Excellent service but sometimes overly so (I think because they did not always listen/understand the guest) . The grounds were meticulously laid out. Breakfast choice was fine but all to often the few 'nicer' choices were finished. The breakfast buffet was poorly laid out - too cramped too little of what was on offer was put out so it was quickly gone and the quality of items was only 'average' for a 5 star. All the advertised prices do NOT include the taxes - the only reason I could think that a top of the range hotel would do this is to convince the guests into thinking things were cheaper than they actually were?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restful weekend; luxurious, great beach, gardens

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Private: We had three concerns, two small and the final one big. Need two bed lamps; there was smoking just off the dining area and smoke drifted over us through our breakfast. We were told to leave the hotel 2 hrs before our flight (we double checked since we were worried). It was much too short and we cam within one minute of missing our flight. Had we not separated--1 in bag line and one to get a place in the check-in line, we would have missed our flight. Security was terrible--need to leave full two hours to get through three huge chaotic lines of pushing people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BRICS

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Took taxi's on two occasions to local restaurants.
Probably didn't see the best of this hotel due to the BRICS conference. I think we naively thought that it wouldn't impact too much on our holiday. We were to stay here for 7 nights then go on to Fort Aguada for our last 2 nights however the noise, painting, security and closure of restaurants and bars made leaving here earlier a no brainer. Taj hotels did us proud by upgrading our rooms at Fort Aguada. The staff did a great job under very difficult circumstances. They didn't know from day to day what was going to happen. I'm glad we made the decision to leave early. We were B&B and had booked garden view rooms. The rooms were very comfortable and there was always a good choice for breakfast. We enjoyed our time here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Taj Exotica GM , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for rating our resort. We are happy that you were happy with the hotel and the services provided. I am sorry we had to move you during your stay however as you rightly mentioned this was an event involving Heads of State of various countries and the arrangements needed to be made accordingly so as not to inconvenience our guests. Having said this, we are glad we managed to accommodate you at our resort in North Goa and you had an overall great stay. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the resort. Warm Regards Ranjit Phillipose Area Director Goa & General Manager Taj Exotica.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property:)

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the property and service. But there is nothing to do in the evenings in the hotel or around so that was a disappointment but overall it was a great hotel :)