Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Not great

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: The staff is nice
Cons: Tear it down and start over.
Location: It's a 1/2 mile from downtown, 1 1/2 miles from Old Mill District, 1 1/2 from Pilot Butte.
My spouse says "It's a license to print money!" Lol. Bend has become a pretty swanky town and it's time this old hotel caught up with it. No investment is going back into the hotel itself. Everything's pretty cruddy and overused. The rooms are really dark even with the drapes open. The desk lady put us up on the 2nd floor above the check in office and the traffic is really loud on NE 3rd which is the business route for Hwy 97. The bed was pretty hard, the pillows pretty bad, and had to ask for extra bedding to stay warm at night. Plus, they use some sort of fabric spray to try to make the room smell better. Yick!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean room and kept up.

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The owners and staff are taking care of this hotel.
Cons: Pillows were too few and too soft. Bed could have used a new mattress.
Location: Great area for outdoor recreation.
Our family needed only one night's lodging and stayed here based on value. The owners and staff keep up the hotel and I could see they are putting money back into the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Barely worth the money

Posted Apr 24, 2016
You get what you pay for. The odor in the room--which was probably a cleaning agent--was so strong, it was unpleasant breathing, and it didn't dissipate quickly, at all. The building was of unattractive concrete block. The room wasn't very warm from an aesthetic point of view. It was clean, though, and quiet. Had it not been for the odor, it would have been worth the price, but probably just barely. I'd be hard-pressed to give them my business again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Not a bad stay up until the end.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The front dest staff was friendly and the price was low.
Cons: Don't throw people's left over things away immediately, those contacts and eye glass case cost more to replace than the room cost me for two nights...
The Econo Lodge in Bend, OR is your usual budget rate hotel/motel so there's not much that needs to be said there. You typically have the option of an upstairs room or downstairs, with the main difference (other than the obvious requirement of stairs/elevator and such) between the floors being that the first floor has wood flooring. I chose a room on the 1st floor thinking that I would enjoy the cooler temperatures on the ground floor plus the wood floors. Unfortunately this was a bad decision on my part as the wood floors transferred sound between the adjacent rooms quite easily (if they're up, you're up...). The proximity of the door/front of the room to the parking lot meant that at night/in the morning engines starting and headlights coming on would jolt you awake or at least provide a bit of discomfort. The front desk staff was very nice and welcoming, so that I would have to say is one of the saving graces of the facility. The only reason that I gave the staff a 2/5 was because I accidentally left my eye glass case, two pairs of new contacts (in the Rx bubble packs), my razor, and my toothbrush on the sink but when I called the hotel to see if they had been found I was told that there was nothing in the room. Sadly this most definitely was not the case as I can trace the last place I had all of those items (the only missing items) to the room, more specifically the bathroom sink. So likely they were thrown away by the cleaning staff or pocketed, so 2/5 stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Nice hotel close to many shops and things.

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Overall it was a great experience I did get a little frustrated when I called down to the front desk and it took them 3 hours to bring a pillow, and also at check-in it appeared that the front desk agents friend might have walked in and so she stopped what she was telling us about the hotel and started conversating with them a little bit more just wasn't very professional in my opinion being someone that works in a hotel. But overall I would definitely stay there again if I needed to
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and simple motel.

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Cleanliness and easy parking.
Location: Mt. Bachelor!
Very clean hotel, nothing fancy. Great value and decent location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

OK hotel, staff (manager) were rude

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Having stayed here before and coming in for a short quick trip we arrived late and were told no rooms were available on the bottom floor, but that we could switch in the morning when someone checked out. Came back in the morning and the lady refused to switch rooms for us. When asked to speak to a manager she told me she was the manager and that was it. She told me it was my fault for misunderstanding what they had said. Not their fault. (Calling me a liar). I asked to speak to a different staff member and her husband (who also worked there as maintenance) came out. Unprofessional and rude. definitely will not be staying again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ORYGUN

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Stayed here before. Decent clean room for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
This hotel is located very,very,very close to DOWNTOWN - 10 min slow walk. Safeway supermarket across the street. There are also many places to go out to eat without walking to downtown. If you travel on the budget and need the place to sleep - this is the Hotel for you.
5 out of 5
by Mike Leisure Traveler

Quality place to stay in Bend

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Orbitz
This hotel had prompt and courteous customer service at check-in. Upon entering the room, the furniture and fixtures appeared to be relatively new and well-maintained, with a nice hardwood floor. The room was well cleaned. The bed was comfortable, and the wifi access worked well. The hotel was in a nice location, as I could walk to a variety of parts of Bend, including the downtown area, with a variety of options for shopping, dining, and overall having an enjoyable relaxing trip. This hotel is definitely a place I would look at staying again and wish I could have stayed longer at for this trip.