Ratings based on 1,724 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
I just popped in for one night. Very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The front desk clerk was friendly but eating while on the job. The office across from Check In was in such disarray that it appeared to have been vandalized. The Check In was very untidy. The room appeared clean but when checking for bedbugs I saw stains on sheets and hairs on both pillowcases and sheets. We didn't stay the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene

Borderline grungy

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The carpet was dirty, bathroom linoleum stained, room decor at about a Motel 6 level. Arrived at 11pm and it took about 10 minutes to even find someone to check me in. Office was messy. Just overall not a professional level quality of service. Once I found him the desk person was pleasant. The breakfast is decent and was the saving grace for this motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bassett, VA

Close Access To Lava Beds

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Loved the rooms, hotel and location. Perfect for a couple days of our vacation.
Cons: See note above about Breakfast Serving Dishes and use caution (and napkins) to protect from burns when lifting lids..
Location: We spent our time visiting nearby National Monuments, Recreation areas and Trails.
Spent a lovely 2 day visit with Sugarloaf Mountain. Far exceeded my expectations. It was a good price for a comfortable hotel. Staff at check in were very friendly and helpful with local information. Breakfast was good with sausage and gravy, eggs, and the traditional waffles, fruit, yogurt, etc. Very Clean...just watch the steam on the food warmer. I wish they would put an empty service dish instead of leaving open water to steam and cause minor burns. I and two others started to lift the lid and were burned from heat on handle and rising steam, even dropping the lid in surprise. Another guest complained to the breakfast service worker. So....use caution and napkins when lifting lids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Only drawback being the gas station located in close proximity to the front side of the facility which seemed to be a frequent haunt for loud and obnoxious locals and vagrants at late hours of the night and early hours of the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Easy, convenient, clean, quiet, comfortable and reasonable. Always stay here when going thru Bend - about once a year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap motel, loud, not worth the $

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Originally reserved this hotel for the price but not worth it in the end. Located right next to a gas station. Rooms were loud and patrons were loud outside rooms. Not worth the $.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Good Location

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Travel day and we needed a room to rest. The wildfires created a smokey atmosphere, too bad for us. This seems like a great town and hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle OK

Good, low cost motel,

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Pricing for room, free breakfast offerings, ice machine, near a quick stop store, off a main street, free local newspaper.
Cons: Make word SugarLoaf larger, hard to spot. Get a better smelling soap, ghastly stuff. Provide more room in this box if you really want to know suggesti
Location: Obsidian mountain, Tumalo Falls and East Lake (I think that is name) are less than hour away. Beautiful. Bend River Walk very lovely too.
I have stayed at Sugar Loaf 2 other times, several years ago. I was worried it might not be as good as before, but it was fine. We just wanted a clean place to stay without paying a fortune. This motel fits the bill. I like that there is a microwave and frig. to enable storing leftover food (when staying several days). The breakfast was not bad althøugh all I need are hot tea, toast and fruit. I did buy my own bread as I like grainy bread that motels never offer. I do wish they offered peanut butter along with the jam. I bought a small jar of p.butter to have on my toast. The employees all were friendly. It is off a main street so that was convenient too. They do need a more obvious sign. I had to watch for the nearby quick stop store to spot the motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

access right off highway.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: location continues below, key for access to eating area. If these people are motel guests you should raise your standards for cleanliness and dress
Cons: It would appear that a number of homeless people frequent the breakfast area, this should be monitored thoroughly, simple ie: show your room key for
Location: reasonable
The front desk women was a poor example of a greeter, no personality at all. She provided us with our room key to room 150. When we opened toe door to the room we were hit with a horrible smell like that of a dirty dog. The room was terrible, the carpet was covered in urine stains and obviously no pride was taken by the cleaning staff towards cleanliness, dirty towels hanging from the bathroom door and on the sink counter. (we paid $242.00 for 2 nights plus $15.00 per night for our little dog that remained in its kennel. I went back to the office and was greeted by a gentleman who I explained our displeasure of the room. He checked for available rooms and gave us room 156, we were advised that the room had 2 beds but we would only be charged for 1, gee thanks a lot. This room did not have the foul odor and no stains on the carpet, if that is what the flooring is called. Still very expensive for the quality; Slight improvement after room was changed.