Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Authentic inn close to Stratton mountain

Posted Mar 12, 2017
You MUST stay here if you're visiting Vermont!! The service was excellent- very friendly staff who gave us dinner recommendations around the area. The hotel was beautiful and authentic, and very well kept! We stayed in Rebecca's retreat, which also had an electric fireplace inside. Huge, very clean bathroom. The highlight of this stay was definitely the breakfast (as you can see in the pictures), it was all included in the stay! All freshly made and the waitresses were very pleasant. The breakfast kept us full through a whole day of skiing. We also were able to check out late when we requested, which was nice. Elizabeth is a wonderful and welcoming hostess, and so is Marlee, the dog!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Perfect Getaway

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location Cozy Room
Cons: nothing
Location: Close to Manchester (shopping restaurants)
Great location only 10 minutes from Manchester where you have access to many restaurants. The Arlington inn serves dinner however we did not eat there. The country breakfast was fantastic. Plenty to choose from. We stayed in Marshalls Library very charming with its king bed and fireplace. Will definitely stay again. One thing to remember (as the website warns) make sure you go the speed limit coming into Arlington. Unfortunately for the car behind us, they we not staying at the Arlington Inn
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay here! The only thing is they didn't shovel the driveway well and I was pregnant and tripped on the ice. Simple ice melt would've solved that problem. Breakfast was delicious and staff was friendly. Beautiful hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vermont

The Arlington Inn ... Arlington, VT

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The inn is the former residence of a wealthy VT family, VERY inviting in its appearance.
Cons: If you aspire to this type of experience, very little.
Location: Hildene, the Summer residence of President Abraham Lincoln's son Robert Todd Lincoln is a magnificent 400 acre estate with a mile long driveway.
Handsome, charming and historic country inn. The owner and his wife are attentive hosts, and he is the inn's chef as well. Friends who live nearby joined us for dinner, and explained that the the property is a food destination in the area. Everything we ordered was exceptionally and creatively delicious, and we enjoyed it in front of a fire! Each room is quite large, with antiques and furnishing in keeping with the inn's historic ambiance. Ours had two wing chairs, a comfortable couch, assorted tables and a fireplace in addition to a larger than king size bed. A separate room had a Jacuzzi tub for two and another fireplace. The morning's breakfast was a full and complete offering, that is included in the room charge!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Arlington Inn Weekend

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Its our annual Thanksgiving weekend getaway, we have stayed here at least 3 times. We go to shop Manchester and relax.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Outstanding breakfast menu and quality included in the price of the room. Bathroom was extremely small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed!

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
This stay was a disappointment. The most expensive stay of our trip and the least enjoyable. We were put in a house next door to the inn. This property looks like it is a stepchild and not valued. The front desk woman was less than friendly. She had very little to say to us and gave us no information when she left us off in the room. Here is your room key was pretty much what we got. The house had a radiator system that was not turned on. So on an evening of frost we had no heat in the room. The mattress and pillow was old. The upholstered chair had water stains all over it. Gross! On a good note, the breakfast was wonderful and the service delightful. But when we checked out that same woman never even said thank you or come again when I handed her the key. And there is no other place to have dinner in the town unless you drive 8 miles down the road to Manchester. We were very disappointed. My rating is mostly for the auxillary home and the front desk service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very much like home.

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful yard located between Bennington and Manchester.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashua,NH

Very nice inn

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Not much in Arlington. Lots more to do about 12 miles up the road in Manchester area. Lots of restaurants up there. Do eat in the inn's rest. however.
The inn is an old home updated for today. They do maintain the Victorian style with traditional Victorian furnishings. The outside gardens are gorgeous & a grand place for weddings(which are held there often)The food was topnotch. The only inn where the food has been this good(smaller type inns)would be the Sugar Hill Inn. You got a full great country breakfast in the morning. Many places give you a smallish breakfast. Not here. The Omelet was excellent & good sized. Nice sides such as Home made hash come with the order. If I were to make a few suggestions.. these would be to "whitewash" the exterior. There are water streaks running down the front & it detracts a bit from the exterior appearance. The other suggestion would be to have "dark" pull down shades. When it gets light outside, it becomes light inside. I like to sleep in a bit. Other than that, this is a topnotch inn. Always kept really clean. Cleaning was done constantly. You kind of have to in these older type inns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Orbitz
The area is beutiful. The building is very old but the room had a very strong musty smell even with all windows open the entire stay. Breakfast included was very good. Pleasant Staff.